KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Hill+Knowlton Strategies

Engaged Employer

Hill+Knowlton Strategies

Add a Review

Hill+Knowlton Strategies Employee Reviews about "h k"

Updated Jan 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 56 of over 537 reviews

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Hill+Knowlton Strategies CEO AnnaMaria DeSalva
AnnaMaria DeSalva
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "H&K hosts some of the smartest, most brilliant minds I have ever met(in 39 reviews)

  • "Great people and the company takes care of you(in 20 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-life balance almost non-existent(in 43 reviews)

  • "Long hours (8 -7am/8pm) is the norm(in 40 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Advertising

    Join the conversation on

    Advertising

    3y

    a 

    Consultant

    What career advice would you give your 30-year-old self? 😇

    2,915

    248 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "h k"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Intern

      You get out what you put into it

      Sep 4, 2019 - Fellow 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've learned more at H+K than anywhere else. The clients and people are top-notch. Upper management really supports the fellows and wants you to succeed as long as you do your work and are respectful. The Austin office is home to an incredibly talented and diverse workforce. I really couldn't have asked for a better experience.

      Cons

      None - as long as you do your work thoroughly and get along with others , you will succeed

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Miami Office Is The Worst Place On Earth - President Is The devil

      Jun 27, 2019 - Senior Account Executive in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is not a single thing that is worth working here.

      Cons

      The H+K Miami office was originally an agency named SAMCOR, this agency was acquired by H+K but contains none of the company's ethical values. The HR department is basically non-existent, the "president" of the Miami office is extremely disrespectful and unprofessional. She is consistently degrading her employees, has no concept of modern day communication tools, and shows up to the office at 3 pm, making everyone stay until she leaves at 8/9/10 pm. If you notice they are consistently looking for a "senior account executive" that is because not a single new hire stays. Working at this office may present you with the opportunity to work with influential hospitality/tourism industry clients, but in doing so you will forsake mental stability, physical well-being and happiness.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      STAY AWAY from H+K Miami!

      Jun 11, 2019 - Account Supervisor in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great network of H+K agencies worldwide, renowned clients, amazing benefits.

      Cons

      Where do I even begin. Initially, when I was hired at H+K two years ago, I was working for two smart, knowledgeable PR professionals in the LATAM division. After many changes and downsizing in LATAM, I was tasked with working at the Miami office. Before even starting the transition, I was warned that the Miami office had high churn and the management was a joke. What can I say... I wish I would’ve listened to what others warned me about. My first two weeks, two people put in their resignation, one of them was told to not even conclude her two weeks notice and was told to hand in her keys three days shy of her exit interview. This left one fellow, one account executive, myself and a VP as the only full-time employees in an agency managing several multi-million dollar accounts. We were severely understaffed. The root of the problem? the President. Though she’s had many years in the industry, she has zero respect for employee work hours. She comes in at 11:00am daily, goes to the gym mid-day and insists that employees come in at 8:30am, forcing them to stay past 6, including Fridays, to compensate for the time she’s not physically in the office. (There were times I was there until 8:30 pm on a Friday while she corrected and dictated word-for-word a report until it was completed). She would interrupt time off and sick days with constant calls, texts and emails with the expectation that they get answered promptly. Constant yelling and shouting at employees instead of providing constructive feedback on work that took hours to complete. She is zero receptive to new, innovative ideas, because of her antiquated ways. She has a forward-thinking VP (Holly) supporting our team, and to help the office obtain new business and project work, and yet overrules her every chance she gets. She has belittled not only myself, but several employees in the office, questioning their career choice. The work culture is a joke. Lourdes and Laura (finance/office management) are the only one’s that try to implement some sort of excitement in the workplace and that lasts from 8:30-11am, while the President is not around. The mood changes completely once she’s in the office. She uses the H+K name to justify her actions/demands, giving those that are more junior a false impression of what it’s like to work for this company. Lastly, during my two week notice, I was told by her I could not reach out to HR in NY to conduct my exit interview. Wonder why... Overall, the accounts and client work is fun, manageable and exciting . It’s a shame that many won’t speak up to change the many flaws this office has as a result of one person.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Think Twice

      Feb 19, 2019 - Vice President in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Think carefully before accepting a role at H+K. It's an agency in decline and one that is heavily scrutinized within the WPP system due to its poor leadership and difficulty to attract and grow business. This contributes to a toxic culture and a maniacally political environment (particularly at the senior levels) that permeates the entire agency. In short, it's a dumpster fire - but still has yet to hit rock bottom.

      Cons

      Toxic environment. Political quagmire. Unclear future as an agency.

      9 people found this review helpful

      Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

      Global Communications + Culture Director

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Our people are our greatest asset, and we’re always looking for ways to enhance the employee experience at H+K. We’re sorry your experience hasn’t been all that it could, and we would like to hear more from you to help us improve. If you’re comfortable sharing additional feedback, please send it to feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Principal

      Dec 4, 2018 - Principal in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Although I've recently just joined H+K in their Houston office, I already feel at home. The people are absolutely fantastic - from my recruiting experience with Angela Anderson - to being brought on full-time to the energy and industrial team - I absolutely love it. The work/life balance is fantastic. The benefits rival even the most competitive corporations I've been with in the past. This was undoubtedly a good move for me both personally and professionally.

      Cons

      I do not love the We Work office space as there's very little privacy.

      5 people found this review helpful

      Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

      Global Communications + Culture Director

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We value your input and are thrilled to hear you’re having a great experience so far! If you have any further feedback you’d like to share, please email us at feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      DO NOT WORK AT MIAMI OFFICE

      Sep 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -You get the name of a major firm on your business card. H+K seems like an excellent company to work for outside of the Miami office as well. -Job security in the Miami office is good because so many employees leave that they really can't afford to fire people.

      Cons

      -Hours are extremely rigid and incredibly long. You're kept late into the night regularly with no warning at the whim of the President of the office. -You feel constantly under attack. Stress levels are incredibly high and the office environment is toxic. Management of the office is constantly hunting for reasons to find fault in employees and shows zero trust. -Hard work is demanded and not appreciated. Employees are constantly told that their efforts are not enough. Major wins may receive a day of a respite from this at most and will be immediately forgotten following even a perceived minor mistake. -Corporate H+K offers a number of excellent work/life balance benefits but most are completely disregarded. Taking advantage of corporate's generous vacation policy is like pulling teeth and employees are essentially punished with extra work and admonishment upon returning. -Pretty much everyone who current works or has worked there is unhappy. Morale is low and turnover is high. -When it comes to the work, aside from traditional media relations, the office is set in the past and miles behind the capabilities of what you would expect from a Hill+Knowlton office. It is very frustrating as an employee to know that your office is not serving its clients well--and sometimes actively deceiving them. -You will be outright lied to over and over again during your interview process and sold a bill of goods about the office environment and work expectations.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great experience and oppurtunity

      Apr 8, 2016 - Fellow in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of knowledgable co-workers and opportunity to grow. I feel like I was able to learn and develop a-ton during my time in this position.

      Cons

      Could not list any cons about my experience. Overall it was all very positive. I was able to meet and work with H+K employees from all over the world.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to gain experience; promotion and pay did not match work quality or quantity

      Nov 10, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      One of the best PR agencies to learn about oil and gas industry communications; you truly learn by doing at H+K; and can develop new skills at a rapid pace with smart, high-quality mentors. The agency and it's oil and gas leadership is well-respected in the industry. It has one of the best maternity leaves among PR agencies.

      Cons

      Promotions and salary were always at least one step (if not more) behind the quality and quantity of work - across the board. A couple of problems that may be true across many PR agencies: 1) There was too much focus on utilization when numbers are low, but not the same level of communication when numbers are high. 2) H+K has a big global network, but the Houston office often felt forgotten about... especially when it came to salary bumps, promotions, bonuses, etc. 3) Decent amount of turnover. People in mid-levels often feel the need to leave in order to be properly compensated.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Intern

      FEllow

      Aug 29, 2015 - Anonymous Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are few pros to working at H+K as a fellow. You do get to work and network with top companies.

      Cons

      There is a rigid culture. All you do is google things for other people. Few people take the time to explain how your contributions fit into the bigger picture, or if they do at all. It seems as if most work is simply busy work. I did not learn anything at all.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Baited, Calling all Valley Girls and White Men

      Jun 24, 2015 - Account Supervisor in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, great location, good reputation derived from other H+K offices

      Cons

      For clients, H+K baits you by sending in senior people to pitch and junior people who couldn't care less about your goals, to do the actual work. This place is a sweat shop. No one is happy. There has been a mass exodus. Reach out to old employees from Linked In, and do your homework. No one cares about your career goals here. No one has any international experience, no language skills, no cultural diversity. However, if you are a valley girl from the Northeast and/or a "has-been" sorority girl, or an old white man, you'll fit right in. Most people at H+K are white, in case diversity is important to you. And, the people claiming to be diverse or open-minded say things like, I live in a black neighborhood, or I have a black friend.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 56 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hill+Knowlton Strategies Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hill+Knowlton Strategies? Share Your Experiences

    or