KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Hill+Knowlton Strategies

Engaged Employer

Hill+Knowlton Strategies

Add a Review

Hill+Knowlton Strategies Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jan 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 of over 537 reviews

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Hill+Knowlton Strategies CEO AnnaMaria DeSalva
AnnaMaria DeSalva
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "H&K hosts some of the smartest, most brilliant minds I have ever met(in 39 reviews)

  • "Great people and the company takes care of you(in 20 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-life balance almost non-existent(in 43 reviews)

  • "Long hours (8 -7am/8pm) is the norm(in 40 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Miami Office: Great and Professional

      Jun 28, 2019 - Account Executive in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      World class clients, great environment, collaborative. Love the boss.

      Cons

      PR requires long hours. It’s 24/7 client service. Not for the lazy.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Fun place, long hours

      May 25, 2019 - Intern in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They try to make work enjoyable with lots of employee get togethers.

      Cons

      It seemed like people were stretched thin and frequently worked long hours.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

      Global Communications + Culture Director

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’re so glad you enjoyed your experience at H+K. We love our employee get togethers, too! It’s true that we sometimes have to work long hours – PR is not for the faint-hearted in that regard. Thanks for being a part of the H+K family; we wish you all the best in your future endeavors. Don’t hesitate to submit additional feedback to feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    3. 4.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Lovely modern buzzing office space

      Jan 9, 2019 - Anonymous Intern in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun place to work and friendly colleagues

      Cons

      Very busy and typical long working hours

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Going through growing pains, but emphasis on innovation and culture will pull them through

      Sep 13, 2012 - Account Supervisor in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Extremely smart and highly approachable senior management - Values top performers, provides new career opportunities (i.e. transfers, new client work, new biz) - Good clients - Creative and innovative thinking

      Cons

      - Tough transition period with merger and new management - Creative ideas abound but execution is shaky - There are a few senior leaders that have coasted without contribution; that's changing - Tends to invest at the top, which is evident in mid-level pay - High turnover; people are antsy with the transition and long hours

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Pros

      It’s cliché to say, but one of the best things about working at H+K is the people. Having been at both a small boutique agency and another large agency prior to joining H+K. The pain-points of agency life are the same, regardless of where you go. That is a fact of being in such an intense, stressful client service industry. I have consistently found it to be the people on your team, in the trenches with you day-to-day, who make a company a place you want to call home. I have been with the firm nearly five years and across the board, regardless of the client or my role on an account, I love the people I work with. It is a very supportive environment, highly collaborative and fun. We have so many smart, creative, entrepreneurial people on our staff and it makes all the difference in daily agency life. Work/life balance is also one of the most important things to me personally and I find that H+K offers the best balance of any agency I’ve been with in my career. The reality of our business is that the work will never fit into a perfect nine-to-five schedule. However at H+K I’ve never had an issue meeting my personal commitments, taking vacation, making doctor’s appointments or working out any schedule flexibility I need. This is something that continues to improve under our current leadership and some exciting new benefits effective in 2015. I also really enjoy the global scale of H+K. Boutique agency life was not for me. I love the depth of resources available to us both in terms of overall benefits and agency stability and the expertise and opportunity that comes with working for a global company. I have grown leaps and bounds professionally and have always been encouraged to raise my hand and take advantage of trainings and opportunities to contribute to different teams. It’s just not something you can get at a smaller firm.

      Cons

      As I mentioned above, having worked at a few different firms with different structures I think all agencies have similar struggles: long hours, demanding work, high stress. I don’t find that unique to H+K and attribute that not to the agency you’re with at all but rather to the industry we are in. During my tenure I’ve seen H+K grow and consistently adapt policy and attitude in order to protect and retain people. In particular over the past year/ year-and-a-half the firm has really expanded benefits and training programs. The leadership is very open to feedback and more importantly, acts on that feedback to improve. In my experience, the benefits, people/teams and global scale resources far outweigh any pain-points. I feel my voice is valued at H+K and if we speak up about issues, our leadership responds with positive solutions.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great PR agency on the upswing

      Feb 13, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, interesting high-profile accounts, top-tier crisis team, great learning environment for anyone interested in public relations or marketing

      Cons

      Mostly typical agency angst--long hours, office politics, bureaucratic structure. Low pay relative to long hours and high pressure environment.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good place to learn

      Nov 29, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great multinational team; amazing and really diverse list of clients; internal trainings; corporate culture. Generally speaking, a great place for ppl who are passionate about PR and want to learn a lot in short-time frame.

      Cons

      Long hours and high levels of stress make it hard to maintain a work-life balance, but the job still feels rewarding when the hard work you're doing is appreciated by the management / clients.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Low pay but rewarding professionally

      Oct 25, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great clients, brilliant colleagues, fellows/interns receive massive amounts of experience

      Cons

      Long hours, high stress, low pay

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Good opportunities, Poor culture

      Feb 3, 2015 - Account Executive in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      H+K leadership is very willing to invest in the professional development of its employees, even at the most junior level. High profile clients Leadership with impressive resumes

      Cons

      Toxic culture Teams often work long hours Promotion cycle is unclear

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Good until the merger with Public Strategies

      Apr 4, 2015 -  in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great clients, great people, fantastic opportunities to learn as much about public relations and client service as you could.

      Cons

      Long hours, turnover at the highest levels, not the same place after merging with Public Strategies. Became an old boys club.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 40 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hill+Knowlton Strategies Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hill+Knowlton Strategies? Share Your Experiences

    Hill+Knowlton Strategies logo
    or