KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Hill+Knowlton Strategies

Engaged Employer

Hill+Knowlton Strategies

Add a Review

Hill+Knowlton Strategies Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 of over 537 reviews

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Hill+Knowlton Strategies CEO AnnaMaria DeSalva
AnnaMaria DeSalva
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "H&K hosts some of the smartest, most brilliant minds I have ever met(in 39 reviews)

  • "Great people and the company takes care of you(in 20 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-life balance almost non-existent(in 43 reviews)

  • "Long hours (8 -7am/8pm) is the norm(in 40 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Advertising

    Join the conversation on

    Advertising

    3y

    a 

    Consultant

    What career advice would you give your 30-year-old self? 😇

    2,915

    248 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A people-focused organization

      Sep 26, 2019 - Talent Manager in Doral, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'm truly enjoying this season in my work life. I get to work with very smart, knowledgeable people across the globe who are committed to making our employees' lives better. I am empowered to make decisions, properly equipped to do my job, but most importantly, treated with respect and trust. As I work to take my career to the next level, I’m building meaningful, trust-based relationships that motivate me to give my best and add value in every aspect of my work. I've been given opportunities to work on global projects and initiatives that truly demonstrate the company's commitment to help our employees grow and thrive with us. On top of that, and more importantly from a personal perspective, I have found the work-life balance I so much needed and thought unattainable.

      Cons

      Managing time zone differences and people's schedules can be a challenge when you do global work, but is that challenge what at the same time makes the work exciting.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great people, leadership lacking

      Feb 16, 2020 - Vice President Public Relations in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great coworkers, solid work/life balance.

      Cons

      Leadership keeps changing and this may be the worst set yet. They talk a good game, and the Brits certainly think highly of themselves, but there is incredibly poor communication. Talent retention is non-existant. There are no cost of living increases and they basically make you wait as long as they think you will without leaving before giving a subpar raise. It leaves all of us feeling truly unappreciated, no matter what they say about the process being merit-based. We went over a year without an employee evaluation program in place. Clearly it wasn't a priority.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

      People + Culture

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, it is very much valued. First off, we want to thank you for your eight years of service to H+K and we completely hear all of your concerns. We’d like to continue this conversation with you to listen to you and help address your feedback. Please do reach out to us at feedback@hkstrategies.com, so that we can collaborate with you.

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Major positive impact on my career growth

      Feb 6, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started at H+K as an intern 7 years ago and have been granted opportunities to work on various projects within various departments, giving me the greatest learning, development and promotion experiences. One of the biggest day to day impacts is working with a great team, who cares about the work we do and contributes to a positive, collaborative, supportive, and goal oriented work environment. Management is always open to and encourages new ideas, improvements and ways to make projects more creative. Also, H+K has put significant time and effort into delivering new industry leading benefits for 2015, including a fitness subsidy, paid time off, training, awards, flexible work schedules and a global mentoring program. The work-life balance has been a major plus for me, and something that would be more difficult to find elsewhere.

      Cons

      Since H+K is part of WPP Group, it can occasionally take more time than expected for certain approvals. However, H+K Management does everything they can to relay information quickly and as it comes from our parent company.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great clients, Poor Working Environment

      Feb 19, 2019 - Junior Account Executive in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great clients and great benefits

      Cons

      Poor working environment, poor salary, poor upper management; no work/life balance; unrealistic expectations

      7 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Senior Vice President

      Apr 10, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The companies reputation and smart, well connected leadership helps ensure opportunities to work on impressive brands, companies, issues, etc. I sometimes can't believe all I've had a chance to do and have been exposed to! If you are smart, motivated and willing to roll up your sleeves and work you will do well here. If not, you may get by for a while but eventually you will be weeded out.

      Cons

      Whenever you are in a client relations/consulting business, the hours are dictated by them, your clients. A good agency recognizes this. H+K has made great strides to improve work life balance but it eventually comes down to your clients needs and deadlines. Any agency who tells you otherwise, is lying to you or not keeping clients long if they aren't willing to respond to them when needed outside of the "regular" business hours.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Started good, got bad, stayed ugly

      Feb 24, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great place to start your career - Good internship program that actually lets you work and not run for coffee - Well renowned crisis practice - Great work/life balance and benefits

      Cons

      - The longer you stay, the quicker you get forgotten and skipped over for promotions/raises - Speaking of raises and promotions, they were few and far between, stunting staff growth - Staff treated interchangeably since there are no specialists, leading to high turnover and more than 10 people quitting without being replaced - The office had no expertise and picked up random clients, making it hard to enjoy work each day - Lack of clear and direct communication from managers and executives

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Amazing Experience for Hard Workers

      Feb 28, 2015 - Vice President 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      H+K offers incredible experience with great brands and really smart people. The hourly billing rates are high, so most can be assured that any clients paying that billing rate understand what PR is and value it in some way, so while you always have to prove your value, you typically don't have to explain basic PR tactics to clients. For a global agency, there's actually some unexpected work-life balance perks in some of the offices.

      Cons

      Every large organization has its challenges, and agencies are no different. But unless hard work just isn't for you, the pros greatly outweigh the cons.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Principal

      Dec 4, 2018 - Principal in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Although I've recently just joined H+K in their Houston office, I already feel at home. The people are absolutely fantastic - from my recruiting experience with Angela Anderson - to being brought on full-time to the energy and industrial team - I absolutely love it. The work/life balance is fantastic. The benefits rival even the most competitive corporations I've been with in the past. This was undoubtedly a good move for me both personally and professionally.

      Cons

      I do not love the We Work office space as there's very little privacy.

      5 people found this review helpful

      Hill+Knowlton Strategies Response

      Global Communications + Culture Director

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We value your input and are thrilled to hear you’re having a great experience so far! If you have any further feedback you’d like to share, please email us at feedback@hkstrategies.com.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Pros

      It’s cliché to say, but one of the best things about working at H+K is the people. Having been at both a small boutique agency and another large agency prior to joining H+K. The pain-points of agency life are the same, regardless of where you go. That is a fact of being in such an intense, stressful client service industry. I have consistently found it to be the people on your team, in the trenches with you day-to-day, who make a company a place you want to call home. I have been with the firm nearly five years and across the board, regardless of the client or my role on an account, I love the people I work with. It is a very supportive environment, highly collaborative and fun. We have so many smart, creative, entrepreneurial people on our staff and it makes all the difference in daily agency life. Work/life balance is also one of the most important things to me personally and I find that H+K offers the best balance of any agency I’ve been with in my career. The reality of our business is that the work will never fit into a perfect nine-to-five schedule. However at H+K I’ve never had an issue meeting my personal commitments, taking vacation, making doctor’s appointments or working out any schedule flexibility I need. This is something that continues to improve under our current leadership and some exciting new benefits effective in 2015. I also really enjoy the global scale of H+K. Boutique agency life was not for me. I love the depth of resources available to us both in terms of overall benefits and agency stability and the expertise and opportunity that comes with working for a global company. I have grown leaps and bounds professionally and have always been encouraged to raise my hand and take advantage of trainings and opportunities to contribute to different teams. It’s just not something you can get at a smaller firm.

      Cons

      As I mentioned above, having worked at a few different firms with different structures I think all agencies have similar struggles: long hours, demanding work, high stress. I don’t find that unique to H+K and attribute that not to the agency you’re with at all but rather to the industry we are in. During my tenure I’ve seen H+K grow and consistently adapt policy and attitude in order to protect and retain people. In particular over the past year/ year-and-a-half the firm has really expanded benefits and training programs. The leadership is very open to feedback and more importantly, acts on that feedback to improve. In my experience, the benefits, people/teams and global scale resources far outweigh any pain-points. I feel my voice is valued at H+K and if we speak up about issues, our leadership responds with positive solutions.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great company with smart talented staff

      Mar 20, 2015 -  in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      H+K has very smart, capable and ambitious people working at the firm. There is a great work/life balance and very generous benefits and perks that everyone can take advantage of. Additionally, there are excellent training programs and the ability to build relationships across the network.

      Cons

      There can be a challenge when it comes to promotions and salary increases as they are governed by WPP's process and timing which do not always align with employees' career path

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 59 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hill+Knowlton Strategies Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hill+Knowlton Strategies? Share Your Experiences

    or