Hill-Rom "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Hill-Rom Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Oct 18, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Hill-Rom CEO John P. Groetelaars
John P. Groetelaars
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits with opportunities for advancement if you are seeking a career in management(in 22 reviews)

  • "Great benefits such as healthcare, dental, vision and 401K match(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management spends a great deal of time in meetings which tickle down to grandiose ideas to improve service(in 12 reviews)

  • "Training should be in Batesville Indiana but apparently they haven’t sent any employees for the past 2-3 years(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Environmental Technician  in Batesville, IN
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hill-Rom

    Pros

    Benefits are good, people treated fairly

    Cons

    They are at a point where they need an upper management change.

    Advice to Management

    Try to keep your operations here in the United States. Good workers at the Batesville Site.

    Hill-Rom2009-11-23
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Be aware do your homework (Proceed with caution, Only if you need a Job)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hill-Rom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people (Individual Contributors), friendly in most cases, Great product, everyone seems self motivated to do a great job. The pay is good.

    Cons

    Health benefits compared to other companies I've worked for are poor; No open door policy to upper management in my department; In my department manager has no integrity; No under standing of innovation; Almost every reply is negative; There is a toxic sub-culture and disconnect from company values. HR backs management with no representation to the employees on the front line. My department has a 50% turnover rate,... but no one cares. No leadership, just bad managers. It could be my imagination, but there seems to be some gender bias and same sex relationship bias. I'm challenged to manage my manager.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wake up! If you talk the talk, than it's time to walk the walk. Listen to your people. See pass the BS and settling for what you want to hear vs., what is reality. I have heard people don't leave companies, they leave managers "Bad Managers".

    Hill-Rom2017-10-06
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Poor Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill-Rom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Products and people are good.

    Cons

    Upper Management is very poor. Using threats and work environment is very poor with the fear of losing job.

    Advice to Management

    Create a more positive culture.

    Hill-Rom2017-03-23
  4. "director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Hill-Rom

    Pros

    great company to work for

    Cons

    Upper management was not the best

    Hill-Rom2016-10-04
  5. "Operations manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hill-Rom

    Pros

    competitive pay and benefits, ability to interact with customers and make an impact.

    Cons

    work/life balance, disconnect from upper management with reality of day to day operational challenges.

    Hill-Rom2016-06-08
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Service Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hill-Rom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Health Benefits are up to par

    Cons

    Very unorganized company with no accountability for upper management. It's the "Good ole boy" system at its finest.

    Advice to Management

    Become like other other major corporations with more diversity and rewarding worthy employees

    Hill-Rom2015-12-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Corporate needs to investigate more of its locations and stop the discrimination in the work place."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Anonymous in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill-Rom for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and job security. Some company training. Gain experience in the medical supply industry. I do not see any other pros verses cons.

    Cons

    No room for promotion. Favoritism from upper management. Legal form loop hole for discrimination. Upper management does not take employer suggestions into consideration.

    Advice to Management

    Give credit where credit is due. Promote by seniority not by favoritism. Hire more employees so employees do not have to work so many hours.

    Hill-Rom2015-05-05
  8. "Going down the hill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Hill-Rom

    Pros

    Good brand name, nice cafeteria and starbucks on campus

    Cons

    Stress Upper management Employee retention not good

    Advice to Management

    Care about employees

    Hill-Rom2014-10-28
  9. "Summation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professional in Batesville, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hill-Rom full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Relationship/Team environment of work force.

    Cons

    Autonomous upper management. Top-heavy management structure.

    Hill-Rom2014-10-15
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Troubled company focused on the wrong priorities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Mechanical Engineer in Batesville, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hill-Rom full-time

    Pros

    Working in the medical field.

    Cons

    Lack of leadership. The future of R&D is uncertain in Batesville. Seems like there is a layoff every 6months in different groups within the company. Upper management wants to attract new startup like thinkers to staff the new R&D facility in Acton, Mass yet cut heads in Batesville to make that happen.

    Advice to Management

    Hill-Rom is a strongly rooted small town company. The community takes pride in that fact. Ideas like a new corporate office in Chicago and new R&D facility in Acton, Mass has driven a wedge in the organization that likely cannot be removed anytime in the near future. Focus on attracting the new talent in Batesville and keeping all aspects of the company in Batesville. Also work on improving the negative image of... Hill-Rom within the community to make it a more attractive place to work.

    Show More
    Hill-Rom2014-02-23
Found 12 reviews