Hillarys Blinds Reviews | Glassdoor

Hillarys Blinds Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 100 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
John Risman
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "You may be self employed but your never alone(in 15 reviews)

  • "(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Unrealistic recruitment policy with no regard for self employed work force(in 18 reviews)

  • "Once they have your money you will have no support, either from your manager or from the head office teams(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Kirkland, WA
    Recommends

    I worked at Hillarys Blinds full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Nothing to complain about. Good company to work for.

    Advice to Management

    NO-one

    Hillarys Blinds2017-03-09
  2. "Core Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Core Advisor in Swanage, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hillarys Blinds part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Very ethical Company, and a good employer.

    Cons

    Getting help in the field sometimes takes a little while .

    Hillarys Blinds2019-02-10
  3. "In Home Sales Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Ilkeston, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hillarys Blinds full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I have been with the company in a self employed role for over 4 years. Everyone has always been really helpful to grow my business. The working hours are flexible and you can change them to suit your family life. They recognise hard work, and reward accordingly. The more you put in, the more money you can make.

    Cons

    For me I've never had anything to complain about.

    Hillarys Blinds2019-02-05
  4. "Overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Installation & Services Engineer in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hillarys Blinds full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Didn't have to work weekends officially (but sometimes would have to, to catch up on admin work)

    Cons

    Hours too long (80-90 Hours a week Poor orgnistion of meetings by senior management (often changed at short notice with no room booked at her office Friday meetings planned at short notice in Nottingh finishing at 4pm earliest then faced with 4 hour drive home in rush hour traffic Poor head office support No support or praise from senior management Unrealistic recruitment policy with no regard for self employed...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be truthful to you installation management team because without them you will not have a business as they are the hardest working management team in the company, vastly underpaid & not a happy team Please stop feeding them rubbish & lying go them in order to get them to do their jobs Unrealistic workload, totally overworked

    Hillarys Blinds2019-02-18
  5. "Believe in their culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hillarys Blinds full-time

    Pros

    As a member of staff in head office, I find that my colleagues do try and live their company values. Mistakes aren't an offence your boss will scream at you for, but will attempt to work through. Their values of honesty, integrity, and open communication tend to be something they believe in, and they do their best to improve and fix issues when they arise.

    Cons

    Sometimes things on the grapevine are passed over as fact by team leaders, so you'll work to that before finding out you need to put the brakes on Reliance on personality trait test should not feel like another metric

    Advice to Management

    Read the room before making announcements or asking colleagues to participate in organised fun

    Hillarys Blinds2018-12-24
  6. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colwick, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hillarys Blinds full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    The people are the best asset that Hillary's have. We are one big family who support each other through thick and thin! The development journeys are amazing - we do not stand still.

    Cons

    I genuinely cannot think of anything bad to say about this place!

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you are doing - especially the cake days...GULP!!

    Hillarys Blinds2018-09-11
  7. "Customer Leads Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Generation Associate in Colwick, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hillarys Blinds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hillarys want you to be the best you can, they have great career opportunity's and are always willing to give training when needed! It is a great working environment, Staff are all friendly and always having a laugh, Always help around if needed with plenty of support from other associates.

    Cons

    Not found any yet, Very happy.

    Hillarys Blinds2018-09-11
  8. "customer leads associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Lead in Colwick, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hillarys Blinds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hillary's are a very supportive company to work for and there is chance for career progression. There is excellent training before you start and when you have to learn something new. its a lovely place to work with a good working atmosphere.

    Cons

    when working your weekend in you have to work 7 days in a row.

    Hillarys Blinds2018-09-11
  9. "Quotes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quotation Specialist in Colwich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hillarys Blinds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Support from everyone! Good pay, good hours

    Cons

    can beDifficult to get holidays

    Hillarys Blinds2018-09-12
  10. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inbound Sales Representative in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hillarys Blinds full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues Easy hiring process Good training and company induction process Great support network Good benefits for employees Lots of really fun incentives and days for call centre staff Fair working hours for shift work Good support network for both work related and non work related issues A lot of cake/pizza/free food days

    Cons

    Could be anti social working hours if you're expecting a normal working office time for the entry level jobs in the Sales Centre (although this can change if you move departments so it's a very minor Con)

    Hillarys Blinds2018-09-11
Found 100 reviews