Hilti North America "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Hilti North America Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Aug 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Hilti North America President and CEO North America  Avi Kahn
Avi Kahn
243 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some of the account managers in the field do not treat the Hilti Center representatives as equals even though they have some challanages as well(in 28 reviews)

  • "Sometimes upper management is out of touch(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hilti North America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you have a good manager he lets you run your territory as if it was your own business, good benefits, great products, always adding new products

    Cons

    Impossible to meet sales goals year in and year out. Sometimes upper management is out of touch. No growth opportunities unless you are willing to move all over, all or nothing bonus structure. You can get demoted if you have a few bad years.

    Continue reading
    Hilti North America2018-07-26
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Good Place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager III 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hilti North America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits- health and 401K. The maternity leave is great if you are in corporate or in management though very hard if you are in sales. If you are young 22-28 the money is not bad but you need to be in a good territory to take advantage. If you are senior or have a family you will not make the money for the hours you work.

    Cons

    There is a very Corporate vs Sales Staff mentality. If you are in corporate you can take advantage of the great benefits but out in the field you are punished to take time off. You take a week off for vacation the next week they want you to see twice as many customers. Hilti is also losing a lot of great upper management and experience sales personnel, hence why I said it was great for a person who is young. The constantly rising quotas and the objective promotion criteria is crippling. You can hit your sale goal by 200%.(don’t because they cap your bonus) but if you don’t sell one product that a marketing manager think is important you get a below expectation rating. You have to sell what your customer want, not what Hilti thinks they should use.

    Continue reading
    Hilti North America2019-08-01

    Hilti North America Response

    August 16, 2019Hilti North America

    Thank you for sharing a review. We appreciate the daily work done by salespeople and we take work-life balance very seriously, as it is a key element of our caring culture. Our most recent employee survey (which had greater representation of field than corporate) showed that 92% of North American team members feel they can take time off when they need it. If this is not demonstrated in your division, region or store, we encourage you to provide that feedback in the annual employee survey or discuss it anytime with your HR Business Partner. At all levels of management, we put great importance on GEOS survey feedback. Consequential local and global decisions are made as a result of the comments our team members submit each year, and we are committed to continuously improving.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A very solid job, but upper management tends to be in their own world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hilti North America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They do offer a pretty good benefit package, health insurance could be better though.

    Cons

    I was put into a territory as an Account Manager. When I started my position, there was no regional manager for my region. I essentially was handed a cell phone/laptop/car keys and was told GOOD LUCK! It took 7 months for a manager to be hired and in that 7 months I received no help or assistance from upper management other than maybe 1 or 2 phone calls asking "how is everything going?". I was pretty much forced to learn everything on my own, then once my manger was hired, they assumed that I was fully trained and set up in my territory (which I wasn't because nobody took the time to help me get started). This lead to poor performance on my part and they didn't seem to understand why. They do send you to training for a few weeks when you get started but its very generalized and they don't really consider that fact that many territories function differently than large cities like New York or Atlanta.

    Continue reading
    Hilti North America2019-06-24

    Hilti North America Response

    July 11, 2019Hilti North America

    Hilti makes a large investment in attracting and training new account managers, who are the face of the brand with our customers. No one is left on their own; we're committed to thoroughly training everyone to become productive and made to feel a part of the Hilti culture. An account manager’s (AM’s) first four weeks is purposely designed as a self-directed pre-training, with online and training materials to complete. In a perfect situation, a region manager will be in place to assist. But, with 80% of management positions filled internally, there are times positions are open while we search for the best person to fill the role. In that case, a new AM will have a tenured peer-mentor. The self-directed phase is followed by four weeks of training at our Operations Center in Tulsa, split between intensive hands-on product and role-specific training. Within the first 12 months back in the territory, AMs return to Tulsa at least twice for advanced project sales and product sales training. Every new team member is important to us. We wish you all the best for the future.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Incompetent management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hilti North America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you have a great manager directly above you, then you’ll have a great time.

    Cons

    Upper management has no earthly idea what is going on in the field. Account managers just follow what their regional manager tells them to, then when upper management pays a visit, they’re always shocked at what they see and my last boss there didn’t take any of the blame, and is why I left along with almost her entire team.

    Continue reading
    Hilti North America2019-06-08
  5. Helpful (4)

    "AM 2014-2018"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hilti North America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One of the best times of my life. I was relocated and scared to death— I met new people, learned construction and sales, and felt like I was working for a wonderful company with brand recognition.

    Cons

    Felt stuck in a fledgling territory. The amount of development they tell you about only exists for the certain few. You never know what upper management is thinking because as an AM you are not in the know, yet you make the company a lot of money and should be in the know. Performance is based on spreadsheets — and large opportunity territories will do well irregardless of the person in the territory which results in promotions of people who are fortunate enough to hold down those territories. Construction performance is largely based on the market which does not exist year after year typically ( considering the forecast ). The company began taking a turn downward and competitors started to and continued to take back market share with no ability to compete on price.

    Continue reading
    Hilti North America2019-04-13

    Hilti North America Response

    May 1, 2019Hilti North America

    We’re glad you look back on your four years as an account manager as some of the best of your life. The majority of our 3,600 team members are not office based, they work remotely near our customers. We have a continually evolving effort to provide the right information at the right time using traditional and digital methods. Although construction markets differ, we strive to offer the opportunity for promotion, learning and growth for all team members in sales. We believe this is evident in our continuous growth and strong market share performance. Good luck in your new position.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Hilti North America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Up until recently, Hilti was a very caring organization with a strong focus on its people.

    Cons

    With a recent change in upper management, the culture has really begun to decline. Impulsive and wreckless decisions are being made and insecurity with employees is rampant. We're seeing a lot of turn over, more than I've seen since I've been here.

    Continue reading
    Hilti North America2018-09-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Almost a 5 star company, 4.5 Stars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hilti North America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Outstanding manager who shows great leadership -Great work/life balance -Challenging work environment

    Cons

    -Upper management doesn't understand our business -Performance metrics are set way too high

    Continue reading
    Hilti North America2018-04-25
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Culture is what they say .... not what you think"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hilti North America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some great co-workers and people that really want to the company to be successful. Excellent training program for sales and construction industry. Opportunities world wide. Pro-active in looking for diversity.

    Cons

    New sales representatives are cookie cutter and Hilti knows it can easily replace them. Regional Managers are pawns in the system. 100% implementers and 10% creators of policy. Upper management is pretty fake (directors and up) and says what you want to hear and doesn't listen to foot soldiers. The culture is more of a cult.....you accept it and chant with them or you are an outcast. Disagreeing with upper management (Directors and higher) is like committing career suicide.

    Continue reading
    Hilti North America2018-02-13

    Hilti North America Response

    March 5, 2018Talent Acquisition Director

    Thank you for taking the time to share. Strong companies have strong cultures, and we’re proud of Hilti’s. Our values of teamwork, integrity, courage and commitment – along with self-responsibility, respect for others and tolerance – are clear and shared globally. We do look for a certain type of individual – a person who will passionately create enthusiastic customers. We heavily invest in our team members, especially in sales where onboarding, training and individual advancement are taken very seriously. Our senior management actively seeks and acts on feedback. Suggestions in our annual employee survey recently led us to institute flexible working arrangements, increase the tuition reimbursement, offer sabbaticals and upgrade vehicles account managers drive. We do have a team cheer which is a bit unique, but so is Hilti. It’s been a rallying cry for our 27,000 employees around the world for many years as they go out as one team, meet customer needs and create Hilti fans.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Great products, a LOT of bureaucracy. Excellent bonuses."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hilti North America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good bonuses, dedicated sales company, friendly day to day work environment. Simple folks who "follow orders" blindly stick to the company and advance.

    Cons

    If you have ideas or opinions, you won't last. If you're a subject matter expert or someone who is actually good at the job (an individual who does what's right rather than does what you're being told) you won't last. If you don't "obey" you won't last. Leadership and executive management don't take a stand on direction. Too many agendas at play. No one corporate strategy. Need to pivot every 3-4 months. Creates extra work and redundancies. A lot of hurdles and political/ego battles. Upper management rather do what they feel is right rather than study the market or data.

    Continue reading
    Hilti North America2017-06-12
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company. Management needs improvement. Must be mobile."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hilti Center Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hilti North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company treats employees well. Training is thorough. 7:30am-4:30pm work days. Great 401k and medical/dental/vision package. Job security. Paid vacation and personal days. Overtime pay.

    Cons

    There is room for upward mobility, but it will take more time than upper management claims when you first get the position. Company is becoming extremely corporate and it makes your job difficult sometimes. Bonus payout is low for HC sales position.

    Continue reading
    Hilti North America2016-12-09
Found 26 reviews