Hilton Houston Reviews

Updated May 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
97%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Good Place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Clerk in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hilton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, and good co workers

    Cons

    Alot of hours and month end

    Hilton Response

    March 11, 2020Digital HR Analyst

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and provide feedback for us. We wish you the best of luck in all your future endeavors!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hilton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits Competitive hourly Usually a great management

    Cons

    Scheduling, they didn’t pay attention to who was closing, and then opening the next day.


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Engagement Specialist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hilton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They Listen to Their employees! Great employee and friends and family Room Rates! Work from home! Extremely Flexible

    Cons

    Career advancement is not often discussed with employees. Management is trying to bridge the gap though

    Hilton Response

    November 13, 2019Digital HR Analyst

    Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and provide some feedback. We appreciate you exemplifying our values and sharing our vision of hospitality in everything you do. Keep up the great work!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great benefits, not so great management culture"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Non-Voice Guest Services in Houston, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hilton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The benefits are fantastic, although my medical insurance costs keep increasing. They are generous with the PTO and sick time, and they were very considerate during Harvey (I work from home). They also have great discounts for hotel rates if you want to stay in the hotels.

    Cons

    Middle management is monolithic and won't budge when it comes to anything outside what you do. Want to improve a process? Report a coworker failing to do what they're supposed to do? Too bad. You'll just have to bite the bullet and keep working. It is a stressful job if you crave order, efficiency, and accountability, but if you're just out to get a paycheck, it would probably work for you. As mentioned previously, my insurance keeps increasing every year, which is difficult to accept when senior management repeatedly emails everyone about how much money the company made. Lateral promotions are also quite rare.

    Hilton Response

    January 6, 2020Digital HR Analyst

    Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and provide some feedback. We appreciate you exemplifying our values and sharing our vision of hospitality in everything you do. Keep up the great work!

  5. "Hilton"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Representative in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hilton full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours for school and life

    Cons

    Long hours when very busy

    Hilton Response

    November 13, 2019Digital HR Analyst

    Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and provide some feedback. Keep up the great work!

  6. "Stuck in position"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Overnight Runner in Houston, TX
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hilton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    After 5 years .one month of vacation granted.1$ employee meals.discounted rooms

    Cons

    Its really like your decision to move up is based off whether they will have a hard time replacing the person for the position you trying to leave.and the question"do you speak Spanish".well no,but i also.dont speak Nigerian or Arab or French.and those races are in abundance as well.

    Hilton Response

    September 25, 2019Digital HR Analyst

    Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and provide some feedback. We appreciate your dedication and input.

  7. "-"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Room Attendant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hilton part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a biggest hotel with many opportunities

    Cons

    I don't find downsides

    Continue reading

    Hilton Response

    May 30, 2019Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and this review. Your comments are appreciated and valued. Hilton works diligently to promote a positive work environment and a culture that embraces all of our values. We are glad this is the case for you!

  8. "Great place to start your career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reservations Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hilton full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits, fun work environment, able to volunteer, rewards programs, improving on work life balance

    Cons

    High turnover due to low pay

    Hilton Response

    August 30, 2018Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and provide some feedback. We appreciate you exemplifying our values and sharing our vision of hospitality in everything you do. Keep up the great work!

  9. "supervisor"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hilton part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    deal with all types of people

    Cons

    not organized in how everything is managed

    Continue reading

    Hilton Response

    February 28, 2018Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review and offering feedback as we value your honesty. We are disappointed to hear that you are not experiencing the working dynamic as you had hoped and one that we strive to promote. As you know, it is important for us to have our Team Member's feel heard. As such, if you would like any further assistance in addressing these concerns, please reach out to your HR team or manager.

  10. "Great Employer!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team Member and Friends and Family Discount, Maternity Paternity Leave, Forefront of innovation, lots of room for advancement, great pay

    Cons

    I can’t think of any. Just note this is for Hilton Worldwide not a Hilton hotel that might be franchised. That’s another monster.

    Hilton Response

    January 23, 2018Senior Manager, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and offer feedback. As you know, it is our desire to be competitive in our industry and offer the best to our Team Members. It's nice to be acknowledged for what we do well and especially rewarding to have you represent our Values. Thank you for all you do!