Hilton Portland Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
73%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
  1. COVID-19

    "Position eliminated due to Covid-19"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage Supervisor in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hilton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, incentives, fun place to work

    Cons

    can not think of any

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "To much work not enough pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Banquet Manager in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hilton full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits , training, recognition, some opportunities

    Cons

    Eliminating multiple positions, additional work without compensation, recognizes wrong team members

    Continue reading

    Hilton Response

    March 11, 2020Digital HR Analyst

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and provide feedback for us. We appreciate your comments and we wish you the best of luck in all your future endeavors!


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Rated #1 but far from it..."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hilton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The employees on the front lines are amazing. You get a free, most of the time edible, meal for lunch.

    Cons

    They may hire you at full-time but not give you full-time hours. They may cut your hours at anytime due to the needs of the hotel. If you are non-union you don't get paid holiday pay for ANY holidays. If you are union you get holiday pay after the first full year of working there.

    Continue reading

    Hilton Response

    February 25, 2020Digital HR Analyst

    Thank you for your review and offering feedback as we value your honesty. We are disappointed to hear that you did not experience the working dynamic as you had hoped and one that we strive to promote. We wish you well with all your future endeavors and appreciate you sharing our hospitality and vision.

  4. "Best option to fit all your needs downtown Vancouver"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Night Auditor/Front Desk Agent in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Short, but traffic heavy drive to downtown Portland.

    Cons

    It isn't downtown Portland, but it is very close!

    Continue reading

    Hilton Response

    October 25, 2019Digital HR Analyst

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and provide feedback for us. We appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed sharing and promoting our hospitality culture and vision. We wish you the best of luck in all your future endeavors!

  5. "Good Place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Unreasonable expectations put on sales team

    Hilton Response

    August 2, 2019Digital HR Analyst

    Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and provide some feedback. We appreciate you exemplifying our values and sharing our vision of hospitality in everything you do. Keep up the great work!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Watch out for Housekeeping"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housekeeping Supervisor in Vancouver, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company itself shows alot of appreciation.

    Cons

    The department managers are on power trips. Becareful what department you go into. Most of the female managers are on power trips and will ween you out quick if you do something they dont care for. Every department is shorthanded and will use you until you are burnt out.

    Continue reading

    Hilton Response

    May 30, 2019Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We appreciate your candor. Though we strive to promote a positive working environment, it sounds from your remarks that there could be opportunities for improvement. Please know your comments have been shared with leadership. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

  7. "Cook3"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cook III in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hilton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, great employees

    Cons

    Bad hours, horrible management, stressful

    Hilton Response

    December 21, 2018Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your review and offering feedback as we value your honesty. We are disappointed to hear that you are not experiencing the working dynamic as you had hoped and one that we strive to promote. As you know, it is important for us to have our Team Member's feel heard. As such, if you would like any further assistance in addressing these concerns, please reach out to your HR team or manager.

  8. "Senior Director"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hilton full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Family atmosphere, work life balance, leaders in the industry

    Cons

    Travel away from family for work

    Hilton Response

    August 24, 2018Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and this review. Your comments are appreciated and valued. It sounds like you are bringing Thrive@Hilton to life! We work diligently to promote a positive work environment and a culture that embraces all of our values. We are glad this is the case for you!

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Top hospitality company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hilton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hilton is an employee focused company that embraces work/life balance. They provide ample training and mentorship for their employees in order to grow their career. They have strong benefits for their employees that are easy to access and take advantage of.

    Cons

    In some areas the salary tends to be lower than market due to the benefits they provide like 401K match, robust PTO program, bonus, paid MAT/PAT/Adoption leave and affordable health benefits.

    Continue reading

    Hilton Response

    June 15, 2018Social Media Strategy Contractor.

    Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and provide feedback. Team Members are the heart of Hilton and are at the core of our success. We are committed to supporting the well-being and performance of all our Team Members so they can Thrive in all they do and be at their best every day. You are helping us achieve the goal of becoming the preeminent global hospitality company - the first choice of Guests, Team Members, and Owners alike and we appreciate all you do!

  10. "Revenue analyst"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Revenue Analyst in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hilton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Large company with multiple properties

    Cons