Hire Counsel Reviews

Updated Apr 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
72%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Hire Counsel CEO Joan Davison (no image)
Joan Davison
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Somewhat flexible hours are available so employees can manage other aspects of their lives when necessary(in 8 reviews)

  • "Hire Counsel continues to expand its expertise in the managed review and specialized attorney sector(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Parking costs were not covered by Hire Counsel at the client site(in 11 reviews)

  • "Lower pay than other similar document review companies(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Do Temp Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Document Review Attorney in Morrisville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hire Counsel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great for moms and dads who cannot be full-time attorneys 24/7

    Cons

    Workload depends on how the litigation goes. If the parties settle, then there is no work to do.

    Hire Counsel2020-04-04
  2. "eDiscovery Document Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Document Reviewer in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hire Counsel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for.

    Cons

    At times the firm which hired Hire Counsel did not provide adequate protocols

    Hire Counsel2019-05-02
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Ediscovery Attorney in Morrisville, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hire Counsel for less than a year

    Pros

    Project leads and managers are very helpful and patient. Great rotating cast of coworkers. Most of the time instructions are clear. Higher pay than other players in town. Jodie and Michael are very responsive.

    Cons

    Unexpected breaks between projects.

    Continue reading
    Hire Counsel2019-01-25
  4. "Do not make this your first doc review job."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Document Review Attorney in Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hire Counsel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you are experienced in doc review they pay as well as most.

    Cons

    The company does virtually no training, coaching or prep. They let people go very abruptly with no warning far short of the term promised at hiring

    Continue reading
    Hire Counsel2019-01-09
  5. "Good Position During a Transition"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hire Counsel full-time

    Pros

    Work is easy, pay is market rate, no pressure

    Cons

    Work can be mundane and not rewarding

    Hire Counsel2018-11-08
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Document Reviewer"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lawyer in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hire Counsel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The project was interesting and the hiring law firm personnel were professional.

    Cons

    The quality and lack of professionalism of some of the other attorneys working on the project was horrible, I was verbally and emotionally harassed by another female attorney, who made the environment hostile to work in and I asked to be moved to a different working place. This attorney was constantly talking and not doing her work. We were working in a small office environment and she made it very difficult for the others in our small group to work. A few of the attorneys in the group weren't doing much work because of the talking and socializing, and others of us did so much more. It's easy to see who is doing work by checking with the document review software. Even document reviewers can do this. Also, doing document review in a closed space with no windows is not healthy.

    Continue reading
    Hire Counsel2018-09-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Anonymous"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hire Counsel full-time

    Pros

    Hire Counsel continues to expand its expertise in the managed review and specialized attorney sector. This is a company with strong leadership, a competitive compensation package with improved benefits. The company has a great culture which values and rewards hard work, team work and creativity.

    Cons

    Indicative of the industry, a work/life balance can sometimes be hard to maintain.

    Continue reading
    Hire Counsel2018-07-30
  8. "Legal Assistant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I have been working at Hire Counsel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great working environment and people to work well with

    Cons

    its only temp position

    Hire Counsel2018-07-22
  9. "Great staff!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Document Review Attorney in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hire Counsel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It took years to get my first assignment, so consider yourself lucky when you get called....even if the project doesn't start immediately. Once you are called, being on time, a team-player and giving an honest days work will get you called again, over and over. The projects can be short or long term. I worked at other document review companies in L.A. and none compare to Hire Counsel. Bernadette Savage and Sharon Secor are hard-working professionals in a tough, competitive and stressful industry who are, nevertheless, a pleasure to work with....just do your job and don't try to cheat the company. I never felt harassed or mistreated...which seems rare in the legal industries these days. I only left because I moved away and accepted a position closer to my new home.

    Cons

    None. Most who complained were just not good fits for this type of work, but have no other choice. I just ignored their complaining and they seemed to washout over time with the more positive ones being retained. I'll miss the many lawyers I worked with, I met some very fascinating and cool people. Be prepared to work overtime to make big bucks!!!

    Continue reading
    Hire Counsel2018-07-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "No work life balance"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Hire Counsel full-time

    Pros

    Benefits Commission That's about it. It paid the bills.

    Cons

    Sold a 45-50 hour week, turned into 65-70 Management all seen disconnected from each other

    Hire Counsel2018-07-30
Found 61 reviews