Hire Counsel "flexible hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Hire Counsel Employee Reviews about "flexible hours"

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
76%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Hire Counsel CEO Joan Davison (no image)
Joan Davison
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "Professional environment, great project managers, flexible hours(in 8 reviews)

  • "Megan and Dunya make Hire Counsel the best document review center in Michigan(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Parking costs were not covered by Hire Counsel at the client site(in 11 reviews)

  • "Also, doing document review in a closed space with no windows is not healthy(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Found me a contract position quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hire Counsel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pleasant people and tuned into our concerns. I would recommend them to job seekers. I also sought work from 6 other agencies, so I didn't put all the eggs in one basket. Good market rate of pay, flexible hours.

    Cons

    No cons with Hire Counsel. Law firm placed with didn't value our work or listen to concerns. Didn't care that we did not have all the tools / equipment needed to do the job. Indifferent attitude.

    Advice to Management

    Not your fault you have to work with some clueless folks in law firms.

    Hire Counsel2015-04-11
  2. "Flexibility & On Time Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Contract Attorney 

    I worked at Hire Counsel

    Pros

    Employees are paid weekly and it comes through promptly and is accurate. Somewhat flexible hours are available so employees can manage other aspects of their lives when necessary.

    Cons

    The company has two few people wearing too many hats and many things fall through the cracks as a result.

    Hire Counsel2019-09-18
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hire Counsel

    Pros

    Professional environment, great project managers, flexible hours

    Cons

    Length of contracts varies significantly, needs better communication

    Advice to Management

    FInd a way to make sure recruiters answer questions asked to them in a more timely manner. Too often has a question posed been left unanswered.

    Hire Counsel2018-01-25
  4. "Document Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hire Counsel

    Pros

    Better office space than most document review centers; pays on time; flexible hours; cannot think of any others pros

    Cons

    Terrible lack of communication. Will suspend projects and work hours for days, and not email or reach out. Unprofessional staff. Unprofessional communications. Jobs will fall through, and HC won't relay information to doc reviewers. Go with another company for contract work; there's a reason they aren't well known.

    Advice to Management

    Provide HC staff with professional training. Emails from management and their assistants are riddled with spelling errors and grammatical errors. Many emails sent out erroneously, with incorrect information. Reviewers show up, only to be told that there's no work, the email shouldn't have been sent, and to go home. You're the intermediary - if one of your contract jobs falls through, that's on YOU to communicate to doc reviewers. Not acceptable for HC to hide in their offices because a project failed.

    Show More
    Hire Counsel2017-08-16
  5. "Hire Counsel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hire Counsel full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, many projects to work on

    Cons

    Lower than market pay, projects end without warning

    Hire Counsel2017-02-08
  6. "Document Review Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Document Review Attorney in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hire Counsel

    Pros

    Recruiters are nice and invested in you. (Megan Nelson is great). No micro-management from them, just follow the rules of the place where you are employed. Flexible hours. Good beginner experience.

    Cons

    Not great pay. In KC you get about $5 an hour less than the national average for the job to start with. They are not great at getting you placed again once your contract is over.

    Advice to Management

    Try to find new opportunities for your employees when you get new contracts available that have better compensation.

    Hire Counsel2015-08-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Document Review Attorney in Nashville, TN

    I have been working at Hire Counsel for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, paid parking, flexible hours and casual dress code

    Cons

    At times Hire Counsel had poor communication to employees from the client such as not telling us that the assignment was hold for a day.

    Hire Counsel2014-11-08
  8. "I had a good experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Doc Review Attorney in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hire Counsel for less than a year

    Pros

    A very good temporary job with semi-flexible hours while you are searching for something else. Very little stress -- I had a chair to sit in and a computer to work on. It wasn't fancy, but it paid the bills well with a little extra to spare. I liked the people I worked with, as well.

    Cons

    Initially was told project would be $30/hr. I signed on to the project and stopped pursuing others and then a week later was told the pay would be $27/hr. Initial # of hours/wk was incorrect, but what ended up being the truth was still good.

    Advice to Management

    Pulling the compensation bait-and-switch was a poor start, but in the end the job worked well for what I needed while searching. Thanks.

    Hire Counsel2013-12-06
Found 8 reviews