Hire Counsel "hire counsel" Reviews | Glassdoor

Hire Counsel Employee Reviews about "hire counsel"

Updated Jan 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
76%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Hire Counsel CEO Joan Davison (no image)
Joan Davison
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "Professional environment, great project managers, flexible hours(in 8 reviews)

  • "Megan and Dunya make Hire Counsel the best document review center in Michigan(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Parking costs were not covered by Hire Counsel at the client site(in 11 reviews)

  • "Also, doing document review in a closed space with no windows is not healthy(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "hire counsel"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great pay, close to transit, free coffee, great facility, cool people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Document Reviewer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hire Counsel for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love working at Hire Counsel because the managers are professional but very easy to approach and understanding. I meet other incredible lawyers and I rarely have issues but when brought to mgts attention they are resolved promptly and professionally. The pay is great, free gourmet coffee and it’s across the street from the metrolink. Bernadette, Sharon and Florence in the LA office are fabulous! Be prepared to give a “honest” days work and be nice and respectful to your co-workers, after all we spend more time with each other than our family members and the time goes by faster when we are all happy and engaging. (-:

    Cons

    Projects length is not always predictable.

    Continue reading
    Hire Counsel2020-01-03
  2. "Document Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Legal Assistant in San Leandro, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hire Counsel for less than a year

    Pros

    Great experience, great pay! Great for anyone who needs legal experience, had an opportunity to work with other attorneys who were in between jobs, or JD graduates waiting for their bar results. I was able to get a lot of insight into law school, the courses, and learn from their experiences. I still keep in touch with some of them, had a great time w/Hire Counsel.

    Cons

    Work can end at any moments notice, but you're aware of this before you sign on.

    Continue reading
    Hire Counsel2019-11-14
  3. "eDiscovery Document Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Document Reviewer in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hire Counsel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for.

    Cons

    At times the firm which hired Hire Counsel did not provide adequate protocols

    Hire Counsel2019-05-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Careful people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Document Review Attorney 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hire Counsel for less than a year

    Pros

    Good to quickly get experience and transition between jobs, but don't expect much else

    Cons

    I want to be very anonymous, I felt talked down to by other attorneys on my doc review project who were other reviewers NOT my manager. After some time they got more comfortable with their bullying and started raising their voice, but I didnt sink to their level because I wanted to be professional. I said something to management and was treated like a child. I appreciate getting experience but seriously a lot of people here need to get over themselves its doc review legal work. I was there add to my resume and they act like I'm only good enough to do this. I think some of the reviews on here are a lie and made up. Seriously there are so many other more professional doc review firms and legal staffing agencies, Hire Counsel are hustlers I have no idea how some of these people passed the bar they were not very smart. Sorry this review is so bad but it's probably the worst staffing firm I've worked with, they make Kelly Services look like saints really. Don't believe me? Check yelp and the rest of the internet, yeah for real that bad. Steer clear!

    Continue reading
    Hire Counsel2019-02-15
  5. "Detroit office is amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Attorney in Southfield, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hire Counsel for more than a year

    Pros

    Megan and Dunya make Hire Counsel the best document review center in Michigan.

    Cons

    The pay is comparable to other document review firms, but still very low. The work is mind-numbing.

    Continue reading
    Hire Counsel2018-12-14
  6. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hire Counsel full-time

    Pros

    Hire Counsel continues to expand its expertise in the managed review and specialized attorney sector. This is a company with strong leadership, a competitive compensation package with improved benefits. The company has a great culture which values and rewards hard work, team work and creativity.

    Cons

    Indicative of the industry, a work/life balance can sometimes be hard to maintain.

    Continue reading
    Hire Counsel2018-07-30
  7. "Bait and Switch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I worked at Hire Counsel

    Pros

    The advertised hourly rate is decent.

    Cons

    Hire Counsel are dishonest about hours and overtime. They advertised the job would be 60 hours with time and a half. Halfway through the first week they cut the hours to 40 hours. The second week they said we could work 50 hours but would not be paid overtime. This is a pattern of this agency. They are consistently dishonest about hours, length of project and overtime to pull in reviewers.

    Continue reading
    Hire Counsel2018-04-05
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Temporary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Paralegal in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hire Counsel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and accommodating employees at client site

    Cons

    Parking costs were not covered by Hire Counsel at the client site.

    Continue reading
    Hire Counsel2017-12-07

    Hire Counsel Response

    June 13, 2018Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your 4-star review! We’re happy you had a positive experience at our client’s site. Additional costs for transportation such as parking vary from client to client, so we aren’t always able to include it in our assignment offering.

    Continue reading
  9. "One of the Better Attorney Placement Firms"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hire Counsel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very professional and streamlined operation placing attorneys in temporary and permanent positions

    Cons

    No significant downside in working with Hire Counsel

    Continue reading
    Hire Counsel2017-09-15
  10. "Ups and downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Scientific Document Reviewer in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Hire Counsel for more than a year

    Pros

    I was paid well enough.

    Cons

    Communication between my Hire Counsel contact and the client was not good.

    Hire Counsel2016-09-08
Found 16 reviews