Hired Reviews

Updated May 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.4
28%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Hired CEO Mehul Patel (no image)
Mehul Patel
87 Ratings
Pros
  • "Catered Lunch 3x a week (Good tasting(in 12 reviews)

  • "fun environment; intelligent, intellectually curious co workers; start up office feel; great work/life balance/integration(in 10 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Challenging in the best possible way"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hired full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My experience at Hired has been one of the most challenging that I've ever had in a work environment -- in a good way. You have the ability to make a tremendous impact because of how much exposure you have to the business and cross-functional teams. It's a collaborative environment and you are consistently working on meaningful projects and with extremely intelligent people. If want to come to work, knock items off your to-do list and clock out, this is not the place for you. If you want to be challenged in ways that will set you up for success in your next role, this is the scrappy start-up environment you are looking for.

    Cons

    Leadership has changed a lot and it has been difficult to navigate the whiplash and relearn preferred communication and management styles. This is great for priming your managing up skills but there needs to be some mailability on your part.

    Continue reading
    Hired2020-02-12
  2. Helpful (14)

    "In serious trouble"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hired full-time

    Pros

    HR puts a sincere focus on employees and their career development. Competitive compensation in some departments. Interesting problems and challenges; people are engaged trying to manage a complex two sided marketplace. Meaningful mission, matching people with jobs. A generally positive culture (outside pockets of insane politics). Intentions are almost always good, even with execution a disaster. The above all attracts and retains great, talented people. Many people stay despite its problems just “for the people” and “for their team”, and efforts to fix those problems are sincere. The informal alumni network is unusually strong.

    Cons

    Serious price pressure even before coronavirus threatens revenue at an alarming rate. This is true for their competitors too, and reflects a fundamental product problem as much as a company problem. Trust between execs is very low; at times it could feel “Game of Thrones”. Departments became siloed accordingly, and everyone else was left with the hard work of bridging the divide. With the CEO nearly completely absent, trying to unite the company was thankless at best and politically dangerous at worst. Lack of transparency and honesty at the company level. An inability to say no at a top-down level created overcommitment, confusion and uncertainty. The resulting lack of focus spread everyone too thin. The positive culture often became delusional, especially from execs, discouraging feedback. This often caused small missteps to escalate into big ones. Rounds of recent lay-offs were very top down; chaotic situations arose after each with directors and managers caught off guard. While it genuinely tries to make the right call, sometimes people feel like Hired “shoots itself in the foot”, cutting in the wrong places and laying off the wrong people. In general, executives have poor understanding of the ground situation when making key business decisions. All of the above serves to erode trust in the company. I loved many things about Hired, but its problems directly hurt my career and my ability to perform while at the company. They also threaten its existence. If they can’t figure out how to lead the good people they have left, they’ll be left with none at all.

    Hired2020-04-25
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Ping pong strategy"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Hired full-time

    Pros

    Office location. Flexible wfh. Health insurance is good

    Cons

    CEO is awful. He doesn’t walk the walk. He doesn’t keep his promise to his team. And the eteam is awful. They ping pong their strategy so much like children.

    Hired2020-05-16
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Poor management, once high growth company starting to flop."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hired full-time

    Pros

    Strong clients, good name brand with the tech community, works well with an adjusted schedule

    Cons

    Poor management - young managers with no experience. Poor communication within the department and cross-functionally. Corporate politics are running wild here, some are easy to work with, most act passive aggressively. They say they’re a leader in diversity and HR-practices but I don’t see it.

    Continue reading
    Hired2020-03-13
  5. Helpful (4)

    "OK-"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Hired full-time

    Pros

    Nothing great and no room for learning from experienced leaders

    Cons

    Poor management and lack of leadership

    Hired2020-03-12
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hired full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The ability to learn from super smart people with great tech backgrounds - Get to work in a two sided marketplace that each have their own challenges/wins - Catered Lunch 3x a week (Good tasting catered lunch) - Dog Friendly Office with a unique layout that's not your typical office set up - Great Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    - Recent changes in organizational structure is new within the company so it leaves a lot of unknown as what's next. The next couple of quarters will tell the story

    Continue reading
    Hired2020-02-06
  7. "Fantastic vision and incredible CEO"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hired full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You own the company and have accountability to shape your future

    Cons

    There are lots of changes but they are all needed. This isn’t a con for me but could be something someone to consider as you need to be strategically agile, flexible and comfortable with change

    Continue reading
    Hired2020-02-04
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Not what it once was. Do NOT consider working here anytime soon."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hired full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone in the office is very supportive of one another. Hired does a great job of hiring great people and maintaining a strong culture. The people are truly amazing and you get lunch 3x a week with a flexible work/life balance.

    Cons

    This company appears to not know where it’s going or what it’s doing, and many employees like myself notice. Hired’s value proposition resonates greatly for enterprise businesses and larger scale companies who are located in either the SF Bay, NYC, and/or do their hiring in multiple cities. Outside of that, the product is having massive issues sticking in other verticals and markets. The strength of the platform differs from city to city given the quantity and quality of candidates on it, however, everyone is held to the same standard despite what cities you’re covering. Other than the Enterprise reps, most teams are struggling to hit their targets. In addition to struggling teams and a feeling of a directionless business, Hired is absolutely brutal for new employees. There isn’t exactly a ramp period for new sales hires and a vast majority of them I’ve seen start within the past year or so have struggled mightily. They essentially throw you into the deep end with no life jacket to force you to sink or swim. Perhaps not a winning strategy given the company’s struggles.

    Continue reading
    Hired2020-02-03
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Do not work here."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hired full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the other reps and the people are nice

    Cons

    Honestly, I hate bashing a company I was at for over a year but I truly do not want people accepting a job here. No one is hitting quota, customer retention is so low, management is so disorganized, quotas changed four times in 4 months, they are unattainable, and the worst part? It's your fault. You will make no money working here because the company treats their employees like dirt. There has already been 2 rounds of layoffs and if people are trying to get you to "drink the koolaide" just know you're better off drinking Franzia right out of the bag.

    Continue reading
    Hired2020-02-13
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Worst Decision I Ever Made"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hired full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch, unlimited PTO, great product if they left it alone for 5 minutes

    Cons

    Coming to Hired was the worst decision I made in my sales career. The market for reps is completely over saturated, the accounts are beat to death, quotas are constantly changing (4 times in the 8 months I was there). Reps who have markets to themselves (with lower quotas) are the only ones who succeed and therefore regarded as strong sellers (they're not). My team was pacing to 23% when I left- a team of incredibly strong, formerly successful and tenured sales reps. They are constantly changing the product, taking away logical streams of revenue. Everything is dictated by them trying to raise funds. They only care what investors say, never listen to those in the field. People are constantly afraid they are at risk of losing their jobs, and their spirits are shot because they are seen as unsuccessful. Upper management ONLY cares about fund raising, not morale.

    Continue reading
    Hired2020-02-13
Found 122 reviews