Hired "growing pains" Reviews | Glassdoor

Hired Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
50%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Hired CEO Mehul Patel (no image)
Mehul Patel
71 Ratings
Pros
  • "A few catered lunches a week and some candy/snacks is nice(in 10 reviews)

  • "fun environment; intelligent, intellectually curious co workers; start up office feel; great work/life balance/integration(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "GRowing pains, processes are not super efficient, some miscommunication from management(in 16 reviews)

  • "Middle management is what brought this company down(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "growing pains"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "I never dread coming to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hired full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Focused on fair pay, great culture, exciting time to be here with the growth that's happening, employees are listened to, people care, awesome benefits, super focused on diversity, getting better at structure, flexible hours, ideas are heard and tried out, no tyrants, super accepting environment, access to leadership in a way I've never seen (our CEO will take direct feedback from anyone), we're constantly trying to... be better. Tons of opportunity to try new roles.

    Show More

    Cons

    LOTS of growing pains. Lots of trial and error. Really great people but fairly junior leadership, a lot of fast moving parts and sometimes things get lost in the shuffle or aren't all the way thought through. People are spread thin in a way most startups have people spread thin. Lots of change and it's pretty constant.

    Advice to Management

    Slow down on process so that we can do things right the first time (or at least the second time).

    Hired2019-04-03
  2. Helpful (3)

    "never been happier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hired full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are amazing. Most people at companies will say that they love the people, but the people here really are incredible. Everyone genuinely cares about one another and a lot of friendships have been formed. Hired really is on a great trajectory to be even more disruptive in the space than we already are, and we now have senior leadership in place with the right vision and skill set to get us there. There is... so much opportunity for the sales team, and as long as you have the desire to get better and hustle, you have so much room to be successful and many have overachieved! Some obvious pros: catered lunches three times a week, dog friendly office space, great health/dental/vision benefits, 401k, 2 free dog walks every month, gym & cell phone stipend, etc. Your voice will be heard if you have value to add and want to add it, as people are always looking to grow and get better and share best practices.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are some typical growing pains of a start up, but that comes with the territory of working at a startup! The good thing is that we have people in place who are righting the ship, and things can only go up from here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! Lean on reps to give you feedback they're hearing from the field, and use that feedback to continue to make tweaks to our process/product, etc.

    Hired2019-02-25
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (14)

    "Good People, Struggling Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hired for less than a year

    Pros

    Hired has/had a very selective hiring process focused largely on pretty experienced folks. My coworkers were by-and-large talented, thoughtful, and insightful people, both about their direct engineering efforts as well as the product as a whole, and the problem of hiring. I really enjoyed working with almost everyone at Hired, but in the engineering org and the broader company. Benefits and work/life balance were... both good, and at least my team rarely felt excessive pressure around artificial deadlines.

    Show More

    Cons

    High turnover, particularly after the recent management changeover (tail end of 2016) dragged down morale and robbed the organization of many of its most talented engineers. The new executives are very top-down focused, and there's an emphasis on creating multiple, unnecessary management layers (3-4) between executives & ICs. Executives don't seem to trust people they didn't hire, and treat others' opinions... (even from long-tenured engineering managers) as threatening. Overall, the current direction in product engineering seems pretty old-school (lots of direction from managers, artificial deadlines, waterfall project management). Management frames this as a way to mentor & support career growth, but there aren't any internal growth opportunities, so it just ends up being micro-managey. If that's the type of company someone wants to build their career, better to go someplace bigger and more stable, instead of a start-up that's having high-turnover and growing pains.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Trust engineers and take time to hear their feedback without knee jerk responses or dismissiveness. Stop micro-managing and scheduling each engineer's work focus on a week-by-week basis. You have lots of good people. Focus on meeting their needs (and let them tell you how they want to grow), instead of trying to tell them what they should be doing or how they should be developing their skills.

    Hired2017-05-23
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Struggling & Rudderless - the Dream is Fading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hired full-time

    Pros

    Hired's genesis was a novel idea to upturn the recruiting industry, a massive industry ripe for some innovation. The brand is (was) solid and the mission is inspiring. Hired has been able to raise significant amounts of money and attract some impressive talent from other prominent Valley companies. The work-life balance is decent. A few catered lunches a week and some candy/snacks is nice. People are friendly and... fun, especially when away from the office. It's exciting to have colleagues in offices around the world. The core application is fairly simple and doesn’t get much traffic so there are rarely any fires to put out. There are interesting internal tools -- decent chatops culture -- that can be fun.

    Show More

    Cons

    As most reviews note, there are significant growing pains. However, at some point, that excuse gets tired. Leadership has been unable to move the company forward -- there is a major restructuring and reorg basically every quarter. The founders are AWOL and critical decision-making and long-term strategy is flat-out missing. It’s hard to believe in the mission -- find everyone a job they love -- when 19/20 applicants... are rejected from the platform. With a lack of innovative technology, the company is essentially a tech-enabled recruiting agency. Departments do not get along and seem to have independent and incompatible agendas leading to considerable friction and frustration that trickles down to everyone in the company. Leadership is very vain, and instead of improving the product and following through on the mission, they’d rather do a ton of fancy PR in exotic locales and change the company’s color scheme. Key functions are spread across many offices in multiple timezones which adds considerable overhead to any cross-functional initiative. The engineering and product organization is in major upheaval. There are limited opportunities for advancement and management is more interested in seeming busy and checking boxes than in learning, teaching or giving constructive feedback. Promotions are awarded not on merit or impact but on favoritism and nepotism. Biases are rampant which is ironic for a company that wants to be seen as a thought leader in diversity and inclusion. Engineering managers actively fight against helping other departments like marketing or sales and would rather focus on inconsequential backend processes or components. Troubling when focusing on growth and delivering value to users should be paramount.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    With growth slowing and the strongest people leaving, take a long hard look in the mirror and refocus on salvaging what’s left of the company. Fire managers and leaders who don’t perform, are ineffective and don’t push the company forward. People are aware of this lack of accountability and it impacts morale. Recommit to true transparency and honesty, which has faded over the past few quarters. Re-earn the trust of... your team. Allow, encourage and enforce upward feedback so that managers can improve.

    Show More
    Hired2017-01-31
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Best Company I've Ever Been a Part Of!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hired full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I absolutely love working at Hired! As my 3rd company that I've worked for, it's the perfect balance between a large company and a small startup. Everyone genuinely cares about the career growth of their colleagues and it's a very open and transparent company. It's easy to learn about different departments and everyone is always happy to help you learn various parts of the business. It's the first role that I'm... in where I get to be in sync with many different teams and this helps me succeed in my role. Upper management takes time to know everyone in the company and you feel like everyone is on a level playing field. Many executives have 1:1 meetings with everyone when they join the company, which makes you feel important and not just like a cog in the machine. It's a company where I've always felt valued for the work that I do.

    Show More

    Cons

    Hired is a quickly growing company and that always comes with growing pains. Some people have taken this very harshly. If you are willing to accept the changes, upper management works with everyone on how to best accommodate them. Sometimes it seems like there is more transparency with some teams over others which I think may bug some people.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being transparent with the whole company. Also, keep up the importance of constructive advice - I find it necessary to help me and others advance through our careers!

    Hired2016-12-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "great company but with some growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hired full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fun environment; intelligent, intellectually curious co workers; start up office feel; great work/life balance/integration

    Cons

    traditional start up growing pains; balance of transparency and too much info/transparency; basic communication issues that happen when teams grow rapidly

    Hired2016-10-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hired

    Pros

    Hired is comprised of some extremely intelligent people who all come from a wide variety of different professional backgrounds and industries. The company has a serious commitment to diversity and inclusion which is certainly something the sets Hired apart from so many other tech companies in The Valley. Hired is definitely a melting pot of a bunch of different types of people. As for the work-I've been with the... company for just under a year and I can honestly say that no two days have been the same. This is the perfect place for someone who wants to wear a variety of different hats each day. Hired is paradise for those who like to learn and acquire new skill sets. Everyone that works here is extremely passionate and those with egos or a lack of work ethic don't typically last long. The culture here is superb.

    Show More

    Cons

    Growing pains that all startups have at this stage. Sometimes repeat the same mistakes

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. The transparency into what is happening with this ever evolving company really helps keep us all in sync. Keep rewarding those who are putting in the effort with opportunities and more responsibility.

    Hired2016-10-09
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Experience from the Start!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Development Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hired

    Pros

    I had a wonderful interview experience with Hired. I was originally on the platform, and received a personalized and thoughtful note from a recruiter at Hired. Once I completed the take-home test, I came on-site to meet the team and continue the interview process. The experience was absolutely the smoothest, most professional, and most comfortable set of interviews that I've experienced. The company gave me a chance... to meet with people of all different levels so that I could not only learn more about my role, but also gain insight into the roles that I could potentially grow into. I left the day of interviews knowing that Hired was the perfect fit for me, both role-wise and culturally. As a current employee of Hired, I could not be happier. The entire hiring process is a testament to the mission of the company - to find people the perfect job for them. The recruiting team definitely helped me to fully understand the company, my role, and it's culture - resulting in an overall great fit.

    Show More

    Cons

    As many startups do, Hired has its share of growing pains. There have been personnel changes and people have to be ready to adapt to newly formed roles - be ready to take on challenges and tasks that may be outside of your exact position.

    Hired2016-09-28
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Nowhere but up!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hired for less than a year

    Pros

    Very exciting, high growth company. The best company that I've ever worked for. We're printing cash and barely scratching the market opportunity.

    Cons

    With high growth comes growing pains... Feeling it a bit from the top.

    Hired2016-09-19
  11. Helpful (2)

    "Interesting Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hired full-time

    Pros

    Interesting engineering and lots of leeway to experiment on things that interest you. One thing I like is that it's been possible to try new roles within the company.

    Cons

    Startup growing pains. Sometimes it's hard to figure out what's working in the business and what's not because there are so many moving parts.

    Hired2016-05-11
Found 16 reviews