Hired "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Hired Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Mar 18, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
50%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Hired CEO Mehul Patel (no image)
Mehul Patel
71 Ratings
Pros
  • "A few catered lunches a week and some candy/snacks is nice(in 10 reviews)

  • "fun environment; intelligent, intellectually curious co workers; start up office feel; great work/life balance/integration(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "GRowing pains, processes are not super efficient, some miscommunication from management(in 16 reviews)

  • "Middle management is what brought this company down(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (7)

    "An Industry Defining Company with the Best Still Ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Marketing in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hired full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In Hired's short existence, they revolutionized talent acquisition and introduced a business model that has since been replicated in industries far beyond Hired's primary focus of tech. Being a first-mover has its advantages and disadvantages, but the ability to learn, innovate, and build a durable, consumer-facing brand has been impressive. The growth and change inherent in carving out a new way of business has led... to opportunities to innovate and create areas of responsibilities for those willing to take it, and Hired's commitments to great compensation, work-life balance, and diversity make it a great place to take your career to the next level. Hired's early alumni now serve in leadership roles at name-brand companies or have founded companies around the world and it'll be exciting to see what the current cohort at Hired can achieve, both inside the company and beyond. If you're looking for a place to fast-track your career, have an impact, and work for an aspirational, mission-led brand, I'd absolutely recommend Hired.

    Show More

    Cons

    When you're a company that's literally writing a new blueprint for how things are done, you're inherently faced with ambiguity, problems, and challenges. For many, these are opportunities to make an impact and grow. But, more often than we'd like, people want the flash and excitement of being a part of a high-growth company without actually facing the hard work and reality that success requires. Hired's appeal and... early growth led us to fall into the easy mistake of hiring people that, while amazingly qualified on paper, fell into the latter bucket. That group ultimately became an entitled distraction and Hired has since done a good job of respectfully removing the bad apples from the organization and resetting the culture. While the future is still full of unknowns and challenges, if you're the type looking to rise to the occasion it's an amazing opportunity. But if you're looking for predictability and slower pace, a less ambitious or a larger, more established company is probably a better fit.

    Show More
    Hired2018-03-18
  2. Helpful (14)

    "Good People, Struggling Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hired for less than a year

    Pros

    Hired has/had a very selective hiring process focused largely on pretty experienced folks. My coworkers were by-and-large talented, thoughtful, and insightful people, both about their direct engineering efforts as well as the product as a whole, and the problem of hiring. I really enjoyed working with almost everyone at Hired, but in the engineering org and the broader company. Benefits and work/life balance were... both good, and at least my team rarely felt excessive pressure around artificial deadlines.

    Show More

    Cons

    High turnover, particularly after the recent management changeover (tail end of 2016) dragged down morale and robbed the organization of many of its most talented engineers. The new executives are very top-down focused, and there's an emphasis on creating multiple, unnecessary management layers (3-4) between executives & ICs. Executives don't seem to trust people they didn't hire, and treat others' opinions... (even from long-tenured engineering managers) as threatening. Overall, the current direction in product engineering seems pretty old-school (lots of direction from managers, artificial deadlines, waterfall project management). Management frames this as a way to mentor & support career growth, but there aren't any internal growth opportunities, so it just ends up being micro-managey. If that's the type of company someone wants to build their career, better to go someplace bigger and more stable, instead of a start-up that's having high-turnover and growing pains.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Trust engineers and take time to hear their feedback without knee jerk responses or dismissiveness. Stop micro-managing and scheduling each engineer's work focus on a week-by-week basis. You have lots of good people. Focus on meeting their needs (and let them tell you how they want to grow), instead of trying to tell them what they should be doing or how they should be developing their skills.

    Hired2017-05-23
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (4)

    "Unfocused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hired full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, generally solid team of people, great mission

    Cons

    Recovering from dysfunctional leadership – lots of changes, might be better since I left

    Advice to Management

    Get back to basics of what makes the marketplace work

    Hired2017-05-05
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Struggling & Rudderless - the Dream is Fading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hired full-time

    Pros

    Hired's genesis was a novel idea to upturn the recruiting industry, a massive industry ripe for some innovation. The brand is (was) solid and the mission is inspiring. Hired has been able to raise significant amounts of money and attract some impressive talent from other prominent Valley companies. The work-life balance is decent. A few catered lunches a week and some candy/snacks is nice. People are friendly and... fun, especially when away from the office. It's exciting to have colleagues in offices around the world. The core application is fairly simple and doesn’t get much traffic so there are rarely any fires to put out. There are interesting internal tools -- decent chatops culture -- that can be fun.

    Show More

    Cons

    As most reviews note, there are significant growing pains. However, at some point, that excuse gets tired. Leadership has been unable to move the company forward -- there is a major restructuring and reorg basically every quarter. The founders are AWOL and critical decision-making and long-term strategy is flat-out missing. It’s hard to believe in the mission -- find everyone a job they love -- when 19/20 applicants... are rejected from the platform. With a lack of innovative technology, the company is essentially a tech-enabled recruiting agency. Departments do not get along and seem to have independent and incompatible agendas leading to considerable friction and frustration that trickles down to everyone in the company. Leadership is very vain, and instead of improving the product and following through on the mission, they’d rather do a ton of fancy PR in exotic locales and change the company’s color scheme. Key functions are spread across many offices in multiple timezones which adds considerable overhead to any cross-functional initiative. The engineering and product organization is in major upheaval. There are limited opportunities for advancement and management is more interested in seeming busy and checking boxes than in learning, teaching or giving constructive feedback. Promotions are awarded not on merit or impact but on favoritism and nepotism. Biases are rampant which is ironic for a company that wants to be seen as a thought leader in diversity and inclusion. Engineering managers actively fight against helping other departments like marketing or sales and would rather focus on inconsequential backend processes or components. Troubling when focusing on growth and delivering value to users should be paramount.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    With growth slowing and the strongest people leaving, take a long hard look in the mirror and refocus on salvaging what’s left of the company. Fire managers and leaders who don’t perform, are ineffective and don’t push the company forward. People are aware of this lack of accountability and it impacts morale. Recommit to true transparency and honesty, which has faded over the past few quarters. Re-earn the trust of... your team. Allow, encourage and enforce upward feedback so that managers can improve.

    Show More
    Hired2017-01-31
  6. Helpful (1)

    "great company but with some growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hired full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fun environment; intelligent, intellectually curious co workers; start up office feel; great work/life balance/integration

    Cons

    traditional start up growing pains; balance of transparency and too much info/transparency; basic communication issues that happen when teams grow rapidly

    Hired2016-10-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hired full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really great mission—to improve the hiring process. Work life balance is very strong here and solid funding. The product is working but still needs some love.

    Cons

    Culture—at times, there is tension between divisions and it's hard to get anything done. The vision for the future can be a bit fragmented

    Advice to Management

    Keep things simpler and focus on less goals

    Hired2016-10-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "I consider myself lucky to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hired full-time

    Pros

    I've worked at a handful of tech companies in San Francisco, and this is absolutely one of the best. From day one, I've been amazed at how unbelievably friendly and welcoming everyone at every level has been -- from the CEO and founders on down. The company also takes employee happiness very seriously and has several initiatives in place to make sure that folks are feeling happy and inspired. Aside from all of the... usual start up perks (of which there are many, including flexible work hours/locations, unlimited vacation, snacks, catered lunches, lots of social events, a beautiful office space that is dog-friendly, etc. etc.) there are three other huge benefits to working at Hired -- 1) amazing work/life balance 2) the ability to work for a company that is actually doing something BIG and worthwhile and 3) working for a successful, revenue-generating startup that is run by people who know what they are doing.

    Show More

    Cons

    None worth mentioning. Sure, a 401K match would be nice, but that really pales in comparison to all of the other perks and opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    Hired2015-09-01
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Happiest me ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hired

    Pros

    1. lots of impact, tons of career growth opportunities. They don't land on you, but they are very reachable. You just need to be prepared by work the best out of you 2. Work life balance is superb. I've never left later than 6pm and I came in around 10am. Never done one overtime, and we agreed in our culture that we prefer quality over deadline met. Honestly, we don't set deadline to 99% of the things we are... working on. I periodically do some overtime work my selves at night, but it's totally voluntary. 3. Constantly being improved engineering process. I've seen more and more automations, more and more process documentations and more and more retro feedbacks gets fixed/improved and make everyone happy. It's great to see improvements as you can expect things will be better and better 4. Constructive (seriously) feedback. I know it sounds hurtful but they really helped me improve. I grow a lot in just one year.

    Show More

    Cons

    1. Benefits is definitely not matching like those tech giants 2. Leadership is young and not with tons of exp

    Hired2015-02-03
Found 8 reviews