Hireology Reviews

Updated Jan 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
79%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Hireology Co-Founder, CEO, and Chief Hireologist Adam Robinson (no image)
Adam Robinson
85 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company culture, benefits and work life balance are great(in 14 reviews)

  • "Company culture is great, Hireology really does embody its core values(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Growing pains that any startup faces but we handle them in stride(in 7 reviews)

  • "You can be praised for core values or you can even be fired because of a(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Hireology full-time

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, great people

    Cons

    Can't think of any right now

    Hireology Response

    November 12, 2020CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad your experience has been a good one so far! Here's to your success! - Adam

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good if work life balance is all you care about"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hireology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Unlimited paid time off that you’re actually encouraged to use - Nice coworkers, even though you’re remote the team feels close knit - Diverse engineering team

    Cons

    - Everything is top down which means you have very little control over process and often need to get someone’s rubber stamp of approval to do anything that isn’t a code change - Sales focused company culture, very little recognition/interaction between engineering and the rest of the company - Moving to scaled agile framework which feels like glorified waterfall

    Hireology Response

    January 20, 2021CEO

    Thanks for your feedback and your years as a Hireologist! Our Engineering team is one that I am extremely proud of for all the reasons that you mentioned. Our engineers are critical to the success of our business, and their work takes center stage in 2021. We think moving to scaled agile is the right call, and acknowledge that there are many ways to approach building software. We believe it's the right move for the company. Good luck in your next endeavor! - Adam


  3. COVID-19

    "Limited commission structure adjustments due to covid"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hireology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and work atmosphere

    Cons

    Low salary and limited commission structure, unclear company vision, limited growth and development

    Hireology Response

    January 20, 2021CEO

    Thanks for your response! I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time so far here at Hireology. In terms of your constructive feedback, I hope that many of these points were addressed during our Annual Kickoff last week. We have a strong, unified vision for the future of our company; if you're unclear or uncertain about what that vision may be, I encourage you to connect with your manager, review our V/TO, or put time on my calendar! Here's to your success. - Adam

  4. "Strong culture"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Integrations Specialist in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Hireology full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, strong company culture

    Cons

    None so far, can't think of any.

    Hireology Response

    November 5, 2020CEO

    Thanks for leaving a review! Happy to hear that you have enjoyed your experience at Hireology so far. Heres to your future success! - Adam

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Beautiful Nightmare"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hireology full-time

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO Easy Commute WFH available Decent Pay

    Cons

    They have an almost cult like way of doing things. You have it drilled into your head their 5 core values, but they often don't act on them. You have a meeting weekly where the entire company gets together but you're never really explained as to what your told. I worked there for a few months for the typical 40 hours a week, I saw my manager in person maybe 30 min a week, and that was on a good week. There's not really a training available, you get shown a few things but after that you're left on your own and you're not really given feedback. Not diverse at all! If you don't fit into their cliché groupings you're not going to have a good time.

    Continue reading

    Hireology Response

    December 3, 2020CEO

    Thanks for stopping by to post a reflection on your time with us. I never like hearing that we missed expectation and it sounds like that's the case here. I wish you luck in the next step on your career. - Adam

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Be cautious"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hireology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Office location and free snacks (when the office is open)

    Cons

    The influx of recent positive reviews is because the people team individually asks people to fill out Glassdoor reviews at certain times, so people are apprehensive to post honest reviews because they think they are tracked (the date/times are a giveaway). I have been here for just over 2 years, and this place has drastically changed from a fun, successful and optimistic place of work, to a graveyard. The culture here has become very toxic. It is very ironic that one of our core values is another term for "Don't be a jerk" when the opposite is highly encouraged here, as they promote people who thrive off bullying people and mistreatment. There has been a mass exit over this past year (not including the big layoff we had), where just about every person who was critical to our success and growth (mostly tenured employees) quit, which isn't a great sign. The volatile environment was cultivated over time under the watch of an individual C-level executive who has lead the pack. I'm hoping things can be turned around, but I don't think a lot of us are holding out hope.

    Continue reading

    Hireology Response

    December 3, 2020CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It sounds like your experience here has been challenging of late, and I’m sorry that we’re missing your expectations. I do want to address the concerns you listed, and also provide some context for some of the “big picture” opinions you shared.

First and foremost, there is zero tolerance for disrespectful behavior in our company. If you’re experiencing anything remotely close to bullying, I want you to talk to our People team, or to me directly. I take this very seriously, and can’t do anything to investigate what you’ve described unless we know more. If you’re not comfortable speaking to someone directly, we provide a confidential/anonymous online form that empowers you to speak up. Change is part of life, and it’s certainly part of working at a high-growth company like ours. We’ve done our very best to live our values and to maintain our high standards, and our People team has done heroic work on these fronts. Over the last 12 months, I’ve done what I thought needed to be done to keep our company and our culture on the right path. These changes aren’t for everyone, and I’m ok with that. Our recent engagement survey results tell me that the vast majority of our team feels we’re on track. We have never been in a better position to win than we are right now. Of course there are challenges to work through, but that goes with the territory. If you’re not happy here, I encourage you to explore options elsewhere. If your experience at Hireology has prepared you for the next step in your career, that’s great, because that’s how it’s supposed to work.
 2020 has been a crazy year, and we’re all doing our very best to stay focused on the huge opportunity that lies in front of us. We are committed to making this company a great place to work, and I’d enjoy talking with you about your feedback directly if you’re open to a conversation. - Adam

  7. "Good Place To Work Overall"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hireology in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hireology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The main pros include work life balance, people, and the benefits

    Cons

    There has been a lot of turnover across certain departments and roles

    Continue reading

    Hireology Response

    September 28, 2020CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience here. I'm glad to hear that we're striking the right tone with work-life balance, and that you're enjoying being part of this team! -Adam

  8. COVID-19

    "Great company benefits but the promotion cycle is starting to come to a halt."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hireology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing PTO policy. Work hard, hit your metrics, be a team player and there’s never a real issue with taking PTO, within reason. Fun company overall.

    Cons

    Less growth has resulted in more communication issues between managers and employees because they’re stuck in limbo.

    Continue reading

    Hireology Response

    September 28, 2020CEO

    Thanks for posting a review. I'm glad you're taking full advantage of the PTO policy - now more than ever it's important to maintain balance and take care of yourself. One of the biggest things I miss about the "pre-covid" are the team and company events that would bring us all together in-person. We're doing our very best (thank you People Team!) to provide these opportunities in a fully remote way. It's not ideal, but it's the world we live in right now. I will push back on your statement that the "promotion cycle is coming to a halt." There continues to be exceptional opportunity here to grow professionally as the company grows. Spring and summer was challenging for all the reasons, but with a return to growth comes a return to new career growth opportunities for everyone. We've not stopped the promotion cycle, nor is it slowing. In fact, 16 Hireologists will receive promotions this cycle. In April, 19 Hireologists were promoted. That means nearly 20% of the company received a promotion this year, even with all that's been going on. -Adam

  9. COVID-19

    "Awesome Remote Onboarding Experience"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Content Strategist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hireology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's definitely not easy to onboard 100% remote, but my team and Hireology as a whole made the experience so incredible. The information was delivered in a digestible manner with plenty of opportunities for questions. I met a ton of people throughout onboarding which also made the experience great because I wasn't only talking to one person the entire time. I was told that I was their first remote onboard during COVID-19 and I think they did an amazing job of making me feel welcome and informed.

    Cons

    Truly nothing. It's all been great and I feel very ready for the role.

    Hireology Response

    September 28, 2020CEO

    I appreciate the check-in on our onboarding experience. Here's to your success here at Hireology! -Adam

  10. "Good Place to Grow with Growing Pains"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hireology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible and fun company, casual work environment, good place to grow and learn/ collaborate with other departments, leadership wants to hear from their people and improve

    Cons

    growing pains, things constantly changing and must adapt fast, leadership in and out the door often, low base and commission compared to competing companies, very limited training and continued training

Viewing 1 - 10 of 103 English Reviews