Hitachi Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor

Hitachi Solutions Reviews

Updated May 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 118 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Kaichiro Sakuma
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "No checking email once I am at home) and you can have exceptional work-life balance(in 11 reviews)

  • "Some really great people I've gotten to work with over the last 5(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Hitachi takes a lot of control on bussiness policy(in 5 reviews)

  • "I have seen many employees leave Hitachi Solutions Canada because of uncompetitive compensation(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hitachi Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work, Culture, Team, benefits and many more..

    Cons

    Leave usage. But always gets in the needy hour.

    Hitachi Solutions2019-05-08
  2. "Not a place to stay for more than 2 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Global company. You will gain a lot of experience there.

    Cons

    Global company. You are expected (but not asked) to work much more than 50/60 hours a week. You must be "available" at all times of day or night.

    Advice to Management

    Take some time to actually train people how YOU would like to see work done. People are professional and smart, but if you have a preference, then there should be some training. The leadership needs to get away from the policy of "no news is good news" and only bark when things go bad. There needs to be a "good job" or some sort of positive recognition when things go right.

    Hitachi Solutions2019-05-20
  3. "Building into a stable good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hitachi Solutions full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Always willing to help when you ask for it. Encouraging team mates

    Cons

    Need to provide a solid career path growth system. Too loose no true growth path for people. Opportunity for improvement.

    Advice to Management

    invest further in defining career path growth for all levels of company.

    Hitachi Solutions2019-05-08
  4. "Middle of the Road"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Business Analyst 

      I worked at Hitachi Solutions full-time

      Pros

      Flexible hours. Dynamic environment. Pristine offices.

      Cons

      Unpredictable management. The bottom line is profit not human beings.

      Advice to Management

      Human Resources needs to be able to help both employees and employers and not just the management.

      Hitachi Solutions2019-03-08
    • "Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Consultant 

        I worked at Hitachi Solutions full-time

        Pros

        Friendly team and managers and the environment.

        Cons

        Cannot change teams very often.

        Advice to Management

        All great.

        Hitachi Solutions2019-02-17
      • "Sales at Hitachi Solutions"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales in Chicago, IL
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Hitachi Solutions full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Unlimited vacation and time off Innovative leaders

        Cons

        Offer more pre-built/packaged solutions

        Advice to Management

        Listen to the suggestions and advice people in the field bring to the table

        Hitachi Solutions2019-02-12
      • "Incredible opportunities for growth working alongside very talented professionals (and great friends)."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Manager 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Hitachi Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        I have experienced great growth in my career over the past 4 years. I've found mentors who care about my development, projects that have challenged me, and friends that I now keep in touch with at least once a week. Knowing the future growth plans at Hitachi Solutions, I know there will be plenty of opportunities for our team in the coming years.

        Cons

        Working remotely can make it hard to set boundaries for when you're available.

        Advice to Management

        Continue to invest in the growth of our team. Expand channels of communication from leadership down to the newest team members.

        Hitachi Solutions2018-11-13
      • "Lots of opportunity"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Business Development in Irvine, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Hitachi Solutions full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        - Management is great about hearing out your individual career goals and how to make them happen - The Microsoft ecosystem in general is incredibly lucrative and growing rapidly -- cloud based applications aren't going anywhere and being strictly a Microsoft partner is a huge plus - The company is growing quickly and has a clear long term vision - Culture is open and non restrictive: if you want to do something and...

        Show More

        Cons

        Due to the nature of a services business, the majority of employees are remote (work from home, on client sites, etc.) so although we are 500+ in North America it can seem like a small company (which can be both good and bad); thankfully the company makes a huge investment every year to bring all North American employees together for an annual All Hands - helps everyone get to know each other more

        Advice to Management

        Keep investing in career development opportunities for employees who are early in their careers. I would say if anything, there could be a stronger emphasis on communicating our culture and values on a day-to-day basis. Other than that, great overall transparency.

        Hitachi Solutions2018-09-10
      • Helpful (2)

        "Project Managers and OICs"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Dynamics Consultant in Irvine, CA
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Hitachi Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        The company culture concept is good.

        Cons

        Overworked. Poor communication. Gruff & grouchy. Speak about company culture/concept, but don't live it. In the end, don't get on their bad side.

        Advice to Management

        Talk to your employees more. Talk about the projects, your concerns, the the team's concerns, the employees concerns. Listen. Work together. Mentor. Give the employee room to grow. Remember personality conflicts happen and do not reflect work ethic or ability.

        Hitachi Solutions2018-06-27
      • "Senior Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Hitachi Solutions full-time

        Pros

        growing business, more oppurtunities and good salary

        Cons

        Management does not involve more with employees

        Hitachi Solutions2018-05-28
      Found 118 reviews