KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Hoag Memorial Hospital

Engaged Employer

Hoag Memorial Hospital

Add a Review

Hoag Memorial Hospital Reviews

Updated Jun 30, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 490 of over 533 reviews

4.0
74%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Hoag Memorial Hospital President & CEO Robert Braithwaite (no image)
Robert Braithwaite
189 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Hoag Memorial Hospital and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Lots to do

    Jun 3, 2022 - Patient Care Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    More times than none you'll get great staff to help you if you have questions

    Cons

    The commute sucked for me

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Proud to be a Hoagie

    May 17, 2022 - Patient Care Assistant (PCA) in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Learn so much. Great team of people, everyone knows their stuff, very professional and great team work. We all help each other out. Very positive attitudes all round. We can laugh together at how hard it can get, celebrate our wins, console each other on our losses. So proud to be part of such an amazing team and the opportunity to learn so much from the very best. Grateful Hoag took a chance on me. Happy to be there.

    Cons

    It can get really impossibly busy! This is a TOUGH job and not for the fainthearted. And yes, we get paid horribly for what we do. But I'm not doing this for the money anyway, so that doesn't matter to me.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Hoag Memorial Hospital Response

    TA Specialist

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback and review. At Hoag, we consider ourselves a family and it is wonderful to hear that it has offered you a collaborative environment to grow and develop with such an amazing team of people! We pride ourselves on the incredibly talented individuals, like yourself, who care for our community and patients. We recognize that part of fulfilling our mission is taking care of the people who are contributing toward our advancements. We appreciate and value your contribution and work at Hoag! Thank you!

  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great nurses but poor staffing

    Jun 29, 2022 - Registered Nurse 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nurses are amazing and hard working and always helpful

    Cons

    Never fully staffed. Critical care gets floated a lot

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Same Day Surgery

    Jun 24, 2022 - Registered Nurse 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love my coworkers and the hospital treats us well.

    Cons

    You may not get paid as high as some other hospitals but the work environment is better .

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Pros/Cons

    Jun 18, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pros: Overall good benefits and competitive total comp, offers 401k match and low premium health insurance for HSA PPO. Standard PTO package, holiday pay comes out of PTO bank. Other perks - free parking, great location, clean facility with high standards.

    Cons

    Cons: Senior leadership not transparent, top heavy, siloed departments and not enough departmental collaboration. Old school 'work from home' culture for non-clinician staff. Too much physician preference on business decisions.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee

    short staffed

    Jun 30, 2022 - Registered Nurse 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good resources and materials to utilize, never run out

    Cons

    short-staffed, company cares about customer service over pt care, charge nurses like to utilize their ego

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Lvn

    Jun 18, 2022 - Licensed Vocational Nurse (LVN) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Yearly raises Good benefits Able to transfer to other departments

    Cons

    I prefer not to comment

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Nice Facility

    Jun 17, 2022 - Patient Care Assistant (PCA) in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    very nice campus, everyone is friendly, works together well

    Cons

    pay is lower than average

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great!

    Jun 17, 2022 - Registered Nurse 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great staff and safe environment!

    Cons

    Very competitive to get a position!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Place to Work / Outdated HR Policies

    Jan 13, 2022 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work overall. Departments are like family and my direct supervisor is great to work for. They attract top physicians to provide top level care for patients.

    Cons

    Many departments that are remote at other orange county hospitals are not remote here with no options to work from home (no exceptions). Lots of people got Covid in my department which could have been avoided if we worked at home. We spend our day on a laptop and in meetings, so really unnecessary to expose us to covid. It also makes recruiting really hard as we are competing with local and nationwide hospitals with same position but remote - high turnover for same reason. Forced to take vacation time (PTO bank) if out with Covid. Covid time if positive is 10 days out of office despite CDC guidelines of 5 days - employees end up burned out because all their vacation time was used during COVID

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 490 Reviews

Hoag Memorial Hospital Reviews FAQs

Hoag Memorial Hospital has an overall rating of 4.0 out of 5, based on over 533 reviews left anonymously by employees. 74% of employees would recommend working at Hoag Memorial Hospital to a friend and 67% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Hoag Memorial Hospital employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Hoag Memorial Hospital. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

74% of Hoag Memorial Hospital employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Hoag Memorial Hospital 3.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 3.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Hoag Memorial Hospital to be culture, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be career development, senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with Hoag Memorial Hospital Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Hoag Memorial Hospital? Share Your Experiences

or

Hoag Memorial Hospital Photos

+ Add Photo
Hoag Memorial Hospital photo of: Hoag Memorial Hospital Newport Beach
Hoag Memorial Hospital photo of: Hoag Health Center
Hoag Memorial Hospital photo of: Hoag Hospital Newport Beach
Hoag Memorial Hospital photo of: Hoag Hospital Newport Beach
Hoag Memorial Hospital photo of: Jeffrey M. Carlton Heart & Vascular Institute - Hoag Hospital Newport Beach
Hoag Memorial Hospital photo of: Hoag Hospital Newport Beach Cancer Center
Hoag Memorial Hospital photo of: Hoag Hospital Newport Beach
See All Photos