Hobby Lobby "full time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Hobby Lobby Employee Reviews about "full time"

Updated Feb 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Hobby Lobby CEO David Green
David Green
970 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule, good pay, happy environment(in 217 reviews)

  • "I also love that they are closed on Sundays(in 177 reviews)

Cons
  • "Only a few full-time people per store with minimal advancement opportunities(in 182 reviews)

  • "Part time will get at max 2 days per week(in 99 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "full time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Company Representative in Mooresville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hobby Lobby part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, flexible and reasonable store manager, consistent hours

    Cons

    Low pay, part time, no pro until full time

    Hobby Lobby2020-02-05
  2. "Friendly, Fast paced environment with little opportunities for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hobby Lobby part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Employees as well as some managers were extremely friendly and I continue to have a lasting friendship with many of them after leaving.

    Cons

    -Will take advantage of you if you're an over achiever -Little to no opportunities for full time -Rarely will fire anyone no matter how lazy they are at their job, meaning that if you work harder than the person in your same position or HIGHER there is no point and you will not be recognized. -Not technologically advanced so all sales and prices must be manually entered into the computers, as well as ordering stock is done on unreliable iPads.

    Continue reading
    Hobby Lobby2020-02-06
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Flexible and well paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hobby Lobby part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are very flexible with scheduling and off on Sunday! For a retail job it pays very well whether part-time or full-time.

    Cons

    During the Christmas season it is very busy but it makes the work day go by faster.

    Hobby Lobby2020-01-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "I was discriminated at Gainesville, ga store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Gainesville, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hobby Lobby part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was looking forward to getting full time because the pay was good

    Cons

    They will use you and make you work full time hours if you are a hard worker and dedicated. I would come in everytime someone called out and i pretty much always got full time hours because of everyone else calling out and no show no calls. They gave away next full time position that was promised to me multiple times and i was told I needed to stay in my position as a part time cashier because of my reliability and I was told I would not even be considered for the full time position because of my "confusion. " I have anxiety and I know exactly what manager meant by that, I was told I wouldn't even get the chance to try out the position. I was told seniority was always first choice on my first day and have always been told that and I had worked there about 7 months and a new cashier that had just started 2 weeks before got the full time position.

    Continue reading
    Hobby Lobby2020-01-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible Treatment of Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Department Head in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hobby Lobby full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They pay pretty decent, and make generous 401k contributions.

    Cons

    As full time employee of 5 years, I can confidently say that this is the worst place I’ve ever worked. Their so called “Christian Values” are not something that’s reflected in the management or work environment. I’ve worked at multiple stores, and had the same experience at each on. Employees are mistreated, spoken to in a derogatory manner, and honest efforts are hard work are not appreciated. It’s also very difficult to work your way up in the company (even if you work diligently) they lend to hire outside the company for management positions.

    Hobby Lobby2019-12-13
  7. "Decent depending on management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Cadillac, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hobby Lobby part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Busy, customer service oriented, fun

    Cons

    Not many full time positions available

    Continue reading
    Hobby Lobby2019-11-07
  8. "Working as a stock person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stock Person in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hobby Lobby part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours good co-workers management was good.

    Cons

    Takes along time for a full time position to open.

    Hobby Lobby2019-10-15
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Hiram, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hobby Lobby part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay for a retail job, as many hours as you're willing to work for part-time and full-time as long as you don't go overtime, enjoyable coworkers.

    Cons

    Part-time can be made to work full-time hours, without full-time pay.

    Continue reading
    Hobby Lobby2019-08-27
  10. "Good at first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cashier 

    I have been working at Hobby Lobby part-time

    Pros

    Good company, part time all paid the same.

    Cons

    Cant move up much, doesnt want to hire a lot of full time

    Hobby Lobby2019-08-22
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Hobby lobby"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Head/Customer Service Manager in Bridgeton, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hobby Lobby full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've worked in retail management for 5 different companies over a 20 year period. Hobby Lobby is the first company I've worked for that values their employess and treats them like human beings. They close at 8 pm and are closed on Sundays to give employees time for family. Full time employees are off every other Saturday to ensure two full weekends off per month. Every year we receive a Christmas bonus of $100 for every year worked. When my father passed they sent flowers when I was hurt in a car accident they told me to take as much time as I needed. It really make a difference when you feel valued.

    Cons

    Raises have been insignificant for the last three years after five years of dollar raises across the board. It is difficult to get promoted from within.

    Hobby Lobby2019-08-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 275 reviews