Hobby Lobby "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Hobby Lobby Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Feb 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Hobby Lobby CEO David Green
David Green
970 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule, good pay, happy environment(in 217 reviews)

  • "I also love that they are closed on Sundays(in 177 reviews)

Cons
  • "Only a few full-time people per store with minimal advancement opportunities(in 182 reviews)

  • "Part time will get at max 2 days per week(in 99 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "part time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Company Representative in Mooresville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hobby Lobby part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, flexible and reasonable store manager, consistent hours

    Cons

    Low pay, part time, no pro until full time

    Hobby Lobby2020-02-05
  2. "Only good as a part time job if your in school."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Hobby Lobby

    Pros

    If your still in school and need a part time job it’s great pay for part timers.

    Cons

    You don’t get many opportunities to do other things such as;cutting fabric, unloading the truck on order days, stocking shelves, etc. Most of the time I’m stuck at the cash register and it’s honestly boring when there are no customers and nothing to do but stand there because you can’t leave the register.

    Hobby Lobby2020-02-15
  3. "No hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Statesboro, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hobby Lobby part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good friendly people and environment

    Cons

    Part time will get at max 2 days per week. We make $10.40/hour with no hours. Better off working a mcdonalds

    Continue reading
    Hobby Lobby2020-02-11
  4. "Flexible and well paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hobby Lobby part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are very flexible with scheduling and off on Sunday! For a retail job it pays very well whether part-time or full-time.

    Cons

    During the Christmas season it is very busy but it makes the work day go by faster.

    Hobby Lobby2020-01-15
  5. "stressful, physically taxing and demoralizing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Deltona, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Hobby Lobby part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for full-timers. Decent pay for part-time. co-workers are nice.

    Cons

    Management will break you down physically and mentally. the boss is a waste of skin, all around terrible human being. never closes when shes supposed to. has anger issues and treats the people that make her look good like trash.

    Continue reading
    Hobby Lobby2020-01-17
  6. Helpful (2)

    "I was discriminated at Gainesville, ga store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Gainesville, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hobby Lobby part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was looking forward to getting full time because the pay was good

    Cons

    They will use you and make you work full time hours if you are a hard worker and dedicated. I would come in everytime someone called out and i pretty much always got full time hours because of everyone else calling out and no show no calls. They gave away next full time position that was promised to me multiple times and i was told I needed to stay in my position as a part time cashier because of my reliability and I was told I would not even be considered for the full time position because of my "confusion. " I have anxiety and I know exactly what manager meant by that, I was told I wouldn't even get the chance to try out the position. I was told seniority was always first choice on my first day and have always been told that and I had worked there about 7 months and a new cashier that had just started 2 weeks before got the full time position.

    Continue reading
    Hobby Lobby2020-01-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "If you personally enjoy crafting, you will love working at Hobby Lobby."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Custom Framer 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hobby Lobby part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Customers are usually creative, and keep positive attitudes. Starting pay is above Florida minimum wage; ranging between 9.50-10.25. Sundays Off. Customers gone each night by 8pm. Assistant Managers always rock. Employee discount is an additional 15% off all items including clearance, sale, and "Your Price" items.

    Cons

    Soft music on the speakers may put you to sleep. Isles are not numbered, so you have to walk with guests to the item they are looking for. During Colder Seasons don't expect to be home until 11:30-12am+ some nights. Customer Service Managers are always miserable, if you can avoid this position I recommend doing so. Hours can be very tight for part time workers. Not enough training given, anywhere in the store. Cashiers aren't allowed to void transactions without consulting the CSM. Everything on the register is entered in manually, no scanners.

    Hobby Lobby2019-09-14
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Hiram, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hobby Lobby part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay for a retail job, as many hours as you're willing to work for part-time and full-time as long as you don't go overtime, enjoyable coworkers.

    Cons

    Part-time can be made to work full-time hours, without full-time pay.

    Continue reading
    Hobby Lobby2019-08-27
  9. "Good at first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cashier 

    I have been working at Hobby Lobby part-time

    Pros

    Good company, part time all paid the same.

    Cons

    Cant move up much, doesnt want to hire a lot of full time

    Hobby Lobby2019-08-22
  10. "No one knows what to do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associaate in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hobby Lobby full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The pay is good for full time and part time positions

    Cons

    Management, (from the very top) is completely incompetent

    Continue reading
    Hobby Lobby2019-09-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 182 reviews