Hodges University Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Hodges University Reviews

Updated 19 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Hodges University CEO John D. Meyer
John D. Meyer
2 Ratings
  1. "Hodges is definitely getting back on track"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Naples, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hodges University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Engaged president, focused objectives, smaller staff fosters better teamwork

    Cons

    Facilities need updating, needs to focus more on student services.

    Hodges University2019-07-19
  2. "It's Students First Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President Marketing/PIO in Naples, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hodges University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been working for Hodges U for nearly a year and have seen firsthand how hard everyone here works to help ensure that our students have the best possible experience. The most rewarding part is watching our students graduate and how the degree or certificate they earn here makes such a positive difference in their lives, and the lives of their families. I enjoy having the chance to work with such talented and... dedicated colleagues. President Meyer has a true open-door policy, which is rare for a university president.

    Show More

    Cons

    With any organization, there are disagreements, but we keep our focus on what's best for the students we serve.

    Hodges University2019-07-12
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Since Dr. McMahan left WORST PLACE TO WORK/School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hodges University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Stay clear - no pros and students are taken advantage of - prices too high

    Cons

    Watch your back working here - no one is safe-Erica (Tillery) Vogt is the reason. Do not understand how she is still there. Devil in disguise.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of Erica, drop your costs, and rehire people that care about people and their education.

    Hodges University2018-08-09
  4. "Culture is Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hodges University full-time

    Pros

    Departments are very well organized and a lot of cohesiveness. Everyone seems to know what other departments are doing which is helpful. Policies and Procedures are well documented and followed.

    Cons

    The atmosphere is extremely toxic and very rigid. A lot of fear among the employees.

    Hodges University2017-12-12
  5. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hodges University full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule Friendly people Great benefits/time off/holidays

    Cons

    Higher-level administration has difficulty making decisions Letting another company come in and pretty much take over, causing uncertainty among faculty/staff

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff and faculty regarding concerns Show and practice transparency

    Hodges University2017-11-27
  6. "Work Study IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Work Study Student in Naples, FL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Hodges University part-time

    Pros

    Work in a professional setting will earning a degree.

    Cons

    Work schedules are limited per week.

    Advice to Management

    Continue training with real time hands on approach.

    Hodges University2017-08-18
  7. "Great people, bad administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Hodges University full-time

    Pros

    Faculty and staff care a lot about their students and are willing to adapt and change as needed. Usually do a lot with very little.

    Cons

    Severe lack of leadership, new provost and fairly new president make themselves scarce. Coupled with the current partnership with TCS and abrupt layoffs, this is very demotivating. Callous dismissal of people who were let go for budgetary reasons. Unable to cultivate donors and so the university relies on tuition with an emphasis on mini-terms for revenue stream.

    Advice to Management

    More involvement in initiatives, not just gutting resources and layoffs to maintain financial stability. More transparency from administration on decision making process.

    Hodges University2017-07-23
  8. "Great employment opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hodges University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Good atmosphere. Fair development. Room to grow and get promotions.

    Cons

    Under appreciated but realistic outlook.

    Advice to Management

    Keep communication open. Great open door policies. Keep the negative pessimism out and provide positive growth mind for all employees flowing.

    Hodges University2017-04-21
  9. "Office manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager in Felda, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hodges University part-time

    Pros

    Work from home, made my own schedule, My boss was awesome

    Cons

    Lack of hours, Not enough money

    Hodges University2017-03-02
  10. "Promising"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Ooltewah, TN

    I worked at Hodges University for more than a year

    Pros

    Open to innovation and merit-based compensation

    Cons

    Poor execution of fundamental operations

    Hodges University2017-01-15
Found 24 reviews