Holiday Retirement Reviews | Glassdoor

Holiday Retirement Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1081 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Holiday Retirement CEO Lilly Donohue (no image)
Lilly Donohue
257 Ratings
Pros
  • "As well, working with seniors has proven to be my most personally enriching career path(in 67 reviews)

  • "The residents are great, the staff I work with is wonderful and the benefits are decent(in 38 reviews)

Cons
  • "No support from upper management(in 120 reviews)

  • "Long hours during month end close but only for a couple days(in 69 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNA in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Holiday Retirement full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not much could do better love it

    Cons

    Great place needs more Monday hot for the day

    Advice to Management

    None

    Holiday Retirement2019-07-20

    Holiday Retirement Response

    July 23, 2019

    So happy to hear that you love working at Holiday. You play a critical role on our team and make a difference each day for our residents. Thank you! Karen Sheean, Chief People Officer

  2. "Office Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Holiday Retirement

    Pros

    Ok job to have little training

    Cons

    Poor management no guidance or show appreciation

    Holiday Retirement2019-09-13
  3. "I worked there for 2 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sous Chef in Arlington, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Holiday Retirement full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great talking to residents. Good PTO

    Cons

    Management changed hands several times in just 2 years.

    Holiday Retirement2019-09-09
  4. "Great Company, Lousy Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Tallahassee, FL

    I have been working at Holiday Retirement part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The residents that lived there really made the job! Most of the staff was great too.

    Cons

    The pay was minimum wage and the shifts were only 2 and 1/2 hours and there was a 4-hour gap between lunch and dinner shifts so I was only making about $17-$20 per shift. If I wanted to work a lunch and dinner shift, I would either have to drive home and come back or sit there not being paid for 4 hours.

    Holiday Retirement2019-09-08

    Holiday Retirement Response

    September 12, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. I was touched to see the impact that the residents and staff made on you...I am sure you made a positive impact on them as well. A split shift can be difficult, I am curious as to how you voiced your concerns to your manager. Were you ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Enployees Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winter Park, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Holiday Retirement full-time

    Pros

    The esthetics of the office. Great co-workers.

    Cons

    ENORMOUS bonuses for the few upper exec's (Oregon people especially). No rewards or recognition for exemplary work. Many employees doing the job of 2 people for single person wages. 3-4% yearly raises while the upper echelon give themselves bonuses that you could buy a small home with. No growth, only change to a different department. Benefits for families are expensive. Long hours for many, and very high stress.... Last, but not least, Very High Turnover.

    Show More
    Holiday Retirement2019-09-13
  6. "Holiday is an excellent company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chef 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Holiday Retirement full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people to work with and extraordinary stories to hear from the residents

    Cons

    Not everybody understand the goal and mission of this company

    Holiday Retirement2019-08-22

    Holiday Retirement Response

    August 26, 2019

    Thank you, Chef, for taking the time to write this review. I could not agree with you more about the amazing people we have the opportunity to work with and serve. We can certainly always do better making sure every member of the team understands that our mission is to help older ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Worked 28 days in a row"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cook in Denton, TX

    I worked at Holiday Retirement full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Steady work and residents are nice

    Cons

    Must prepare food with very little in stock

    Advice to Management

    Make the rules the same for everyone

    Holiday Retirement2019-09-02

    Holiday Retirement Response

    September 12, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to share your advice. I agree that the rules should be the same for everyone. Where we have issues is when people are not held accountable to the set of rules. We will continue to focus on that and get better. - Karen Sheean, Chief People Officer

  8. "So Excited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Holiday Retirement

    Pros

    I almost turned down an offer for Holiday based on negative reviews on Glassdoor.com. Fortunately, after some additional research and discussion with other Holiday team members, I took a leap of faith and and accepted a position as Sales Leader. It’s still early days but based on my experience so far, my only regret is that I didn’t make this move long ago. I am in awe of the training and support provided and am... confident I have found “The Best Place to Work” until the day I retire.

    Show More

    Cons

    I’m struggling to think of ways the company can improve and all I can think of right now is to update the website, which I believe is in progress.

    Holiday Retirement2019-08-16

    Holiday Retirement Response

    August 26, 2019

    We are so glad you didn't turn down the offer to join Holiday! I look forward to hearing more about your growth and development with our organization. Welcome to the family. Karen Sheean, Chief People Officer

  9. "Very Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Leader in Glendale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Holiday Retirement full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers and residents, good compensation

    Cons

    When it comes to the leadership I experienced these words come to mind: Corrupt; dishonest; unprofessional; uncaring. Most leadership is thankful for employees with intelligence and initiative that want to contribute. This leadership is threatened by it. They prefer to have inexperienced people working under them so their poor decisions are not challenged. Sales professionals are put in an awkward position to... sell activities that are on a calendar distributed but do not actually happen making them look dishonest. Food service dept lacking orders taking 40+ min to arrive and then poor quality and presentation. Consistently not staffed appropriately so you will likely be covering front desk as well and when you cannot reach your quota due to lack of activities and depts. not operating the way they are designed you will be forced to work your days off with no additional pay. Meanwhile the mgmt. that is responsible for making sure the depts. operate right so you can successfully do your job will be at home enjoying their time off.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop ignoring red flags and start understanding when there’s multiple issues and a beautiful site is not being successful , an entire team of very experienced reputable people are leaving in addition to many of your residents old and new...it’s probably not your onsite team that’s the problem and likely the leadership and who you are placing in the drivers seat.

    Holiday Retirement2019-09-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "No"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Holiday Retirement full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with residents is worth everything

    Cons

    Don't share information and talks about you behind your back

    Advice to Management

    Be fair

    Holiday Retirement2019-08-11
Found 1081 reviews