Holiday World & Splashin' Safari Reviews | Glassdoor

Holiday World & Splashin' Safari Reviews

Updated May 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
93%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Matt Eckert
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work experience, great discounts, transportation, free season pass, and free tickets for friends and family(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great summer job with plenty of promotional opportunities(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Working in the heat comes with the job(in 10 reviews)

  • "The distance from multiple places if you do not live in Santa Claus, Indiana(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best job experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Santa Claus, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Holiday World & Splashin' Safari part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training, lunch breaks on site, nice atmosphere, insurance, free drinks and sunscreen!

    Cons

    hard hours, standing out in 90 degree weather

    Advice to Management

    Maybe encourage new employees to learn new things.

    Holiday World & Splashin' Safari2018-05-21

    Holiday World & Splashin' Safari Response

    February 5, 2019VP of Shared Services

    We are happy that you enjoyed the time here and would love to have you come back. We always try to encourage continued learning whether it is in the department that the employee is working in or expanding to new areas. We have so many opportunities for employees to try!

  2. "Generally Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grounds Crew in Santa Claus, IN
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Holiday World & Splashin' Safari full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee benefits, free tickets, employee appreciation days

    Cons

    Terrible management, super disorganized company

    Holiday World & Splashin' Safari2019-05-29
  3. "Fun and Friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Santa Claus, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Holiday World & Splashin' Safari part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Fun to work there - Friendly people everywhere - Nice environment to be in - Friendly managers and supervisors

    Cons

    - Okay wages - Awkward shifts - Some managers weren't clear sometimes with instructions, etc.

    Holiday World & Splashin' Safari2019-05-06
  4. "I really didn’t enjoy my experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Holiday World & Splashin' Safari

    Pros

    Work Experience Relationships Perks Flexible Schedule Transportation Provided

    Cons

    Low Pay Strict Dress Code You end up paying them a quarter of the money if you use their transportation Treated Disposable (because they know other people are willing)

    Advice to Management

    Let the new comers in on some “secrets.”

    Holiday World & Splashin' Safari2019-02-23

    Holiday World & Splashin' Safari Response

    February 25, 2019VP of Shared Services

    Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry that your experience wasn't enjoyable as we work hard to ensure that our employees are appreciated. I'm disappointed that we missed the boat in your opinion.

  5. "Great learning opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Santa Claus, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Holiday World & Splashin' Safari part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fun work environment, make life long friends, learn how to engage with people

    Cons

    Some business decisions seem personal rather than best for business

    Advice to Management

    Make sure all of the employees know that they're valued throughout the entire season. It's easy to lose track of that when operating season is six months long.

    Holiday World & Splashin' Safari2018-11-29

    Holiday World & Splashin' Safari Response

    February 5, 2019VP of Shared Services

    Eight years is impressive and hope that you are going for 9 years! Thanks for being so loyal to us, it's people like you that make us a great employer. We improve processes and practices every year to try and ensure that decisions are made in the interest of the employee and company. ...

    Show More
  6. "It was very positive and for the most part, the management is very nice."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Santa Claus, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Holiday World & Splashin' Safari part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work experience, great discounts, transportation, free season pass, and free tickets for friends and family. Also Vanessa Bye from human resources is so so sweet and understanding. Angie Simpson from foods is very great to work with.

    Cons

    The distance from multiple places if you do not live in Santa Claus, Indiana. Although they have buses for employees it can be inconvenient sometimes to pay for the bus tickets.

    Holiday World & Splashin' Safari2018-10-11

    Holiday World & Splashin' Safari Response

    February 5, 2019VP of Shared Services

    Cornfields are definitely our neighbors! We continue to change bus routes and times to try to make it as convenient as we can. We are always open to suggestions to improve the process.

  7. "water slide attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Holiday World & Splashin' Safari part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    free drinks comfortable outfit pay

    Cons

    stressful long days it gets very hot

    Advice to Management

    dont work your workers so hard

    Holiday World & Splashin' Safari2018-05-08
  8. "Drink stations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Holiday World & Splashin' Safari part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Quite easy and very solitary.

    Cons

    Worked by myself with no one else

    Advice to Management

    Work with at most one other person

    Holiday World & Splashin' Safari2018-04-23
  9. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cook in Santa Claus, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Holiday World & Splashin' Safari part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free season pass, good pay, great place to work.

    Cons

    Have to watch what you say.

    Holiday World & Splashin' Safari2018-04-20

    Holiday World & Splashin' Safari Response

    February 25, 2019VP of Shared Services

    Thanks for the feedback.

  10. "Seasonal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Claus, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Holiday World & Splashin' Safari full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can apply at the age of 14

    Cons

    I can't really think of any besides a long drive for some people

    Advice to Management

    I can't think of anthing

    Holiday World & Splashin' Safari2018-03-04

    Holiday World & Splashin' Safari Response

    March 10, 2018VP of Shared Services

    We agree that the drive can sometimes be long especially after working. If we offer a bus route to your city, take advantage of riding in an air conditioned bus while relaxing listening to your favorite music.

Found 72 reviews