Holland Reviews | Glassdoor

Holland Reviews

Updated July 17, 2018
181 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Scott D. Ware
69 Ratings

181 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "you work long hours, up to 14 per shift" (in 9 reviews)

  • "Upper management micromanages every detail while giving no clear direction one way or another, so you're wrong if you do and you're wrong if you don't" (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Dock Worker Casual"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dock Worker in Columbus, OH
    Current Employee - Dock Worker in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Holland part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Get to show up when you want. Extremely laid back

    Cons

    Low pay, no benefits. Rough weather conditions.

    Advice to Management

    Be more alert. Hold people accountable.

    Holland Response

    Apr 10, 2018 – Account Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide Holland with a review. We always appreciate hearing from our employees. We are happy to hear that your experience at Holland has been positive. Thank you for... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "City driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - City Pick Up and Delivery Driver in Akron, OH
    Current Employee - City Pick Up and Delivery Driver in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Holland full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Union job so if you like to call off make sure you get Fmla, easy to get just get it signed by a doctor m-f job easy work but fast paced most guys want to get in and out quick as possible free insurance but takes about 5 months to get it it’s a process

    Cons

    Dock boss at night likes to yell a lot , poor equipment takes months when hired to get off the dock and start driving high call offs makes your day longer poor communication Union is horrible paid off union works for company not you never know what time your getting off

    Advice to Management

    A whole lot of better communication would be better than none

  3. "Holland's ok itself it's some of the management that can make it miserable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - City Driver in Rockford, IL
    Current Employee - City Driver in Rockford, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Holland full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good runs. Pick your own route. You decide how you want to run your route and load your freight yourself. Health insurance is second to none!

    Cons

    Equipment is bad and not enough workers to keep up with the freight demand. Pension fund is going broke so no retirement.

    Advice to Management

    Increase driver pay and give a retirement and the drivers will come. Having full time dock workers would be a massive mistake. Just make the drivers proud to be Holland. Instead of giving tons of money to the people at the top, give it to the drivers. They are the reason the company even exists. Simple. Younger people care about what they make per hour.

    Holland Response

    Jul 5, 2018 – Account Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide Holland with some feedback. We are always happy to hear from our employees. Providing our team with strong benefits is a point of pride at Holland and we are... More


  4. "Dock to driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dock to Driver in Joliet, IL
    Current Employee - Dock to Driver in Joliet, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Holland full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great people to work with, overtime after 8 hours

    Cons

    Management, linehaul drivers will never be home, low pay in dock to driver program
     16 bucks an hour and while you're in school you basically starve... you're only allowed to get 20 hours a week of paid time for 4 weeks. Everyone in their program had to rack up credit card debt just to finish.

    Advice to Management

    Correct your dock to driver program
    You dismissed multiple drivers in your program and we all went to Old Dominion.
    Your dock to driver program is atrocious...
    You make all people in school starve while they're in school for 4 weeks 320 a week before taxes is ridiculous. Not to mention we pay for are license and Hazmat.

    FYI most of your linehaul being open board is ridiculous we have family's


  5. "Linehaul driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Holland full-time

    Pros

    Company paid health benefits, terminal to terminal frieght, do your job and no one bothers you. A lot of good people to work with.

    Cons

    Very little home time, overworked, equipment is old and very dated new drivers will drive trucks with way over a million miles cross country. For the women ( no restrooms at terminals for you) sorry thought you should know. Also, I have to say I am seeing the purchase of a lot of new trucks. Can't ask for a day off unless you have a sick day of a vacation day. This company has no family values and don't understand that you need to see them

    Advice to Management

    Keep purchasing new trucks, work on getting drivers home more.
    Drivers want to work, get paid get home, have good clean equipment. ( then your turnover is reduced)

    Holland Response

    Jun 21, 2018 – Account Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide Holland with your feedback. We always appreciate hearing from our team members. Holland takes pride in providing strong benefits to our team members and their... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Open board line haul driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Linehaul Driver in Gallipolis, OH
    Former Employee - Linehaul Driver in Gallipolis, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Holland full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Insurance is great, line haul driving is mostly just terminal to terminal and is pretty easy if you like night shift.

    Cons

    Insufficient home time, leave out on Sunday nite and get in following Saturday’s morning sometimes but mostly Saturday nite or Sunday morning and that gives you just 1 day to spend with family or get things done around the house.
    New drivers drive junk equipment with million four hundred thousand miles on trucks , I was there 6 months and had 13 tractors . Trucks are dirty inside with trash and dirt on everything broken dash and everything broken was put back together with zip ties or duct tape .
    Terminals are mostly old and dirty with trash cans overflowing with trash.
    Drivers are mostly disgruntled about giving up there 15 percent pay and there is a lot of profanity and people that don’t like their jobs .
    Not much pride here at all . You learn basically on your own as management doesn’t inform or train you about your job.
    Money not that great for the amount of time you live on the road for them. You sleep in hotel every day some nice some not. No 34 hr reset you have to recap your hrs and run out of time and end up laying in a hotel instead of working.
    My opinion don’t waste your time with them unless your time is not worth anything to you.

    Advice to Management

    Get your drivers home more and increase morale and clean your facilities increase your pay scale and take your junk equipment off the road.

    Holland Response

    May 9, 2018 – Account Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide Holland with some candid feedback. For starters, we’re happy to hear that you appreciate the company-paid healthcare premiums. Holland prides itself on... More


  7. "Overall Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Holland full-time

    Pros

    Full time employees have great insurance especially when most companies have high deductibles and co-pays anymore

    Cons

    Give back a portion of pay back into the company is still in force, needs to be addressed. Pension needs to be addressed. Holland has a hard time hiring drivers in part due to the lower pay from the give back.

    Advice to Management

    Somehow the dock does not have freight ready for the drivers wheels to hit the road and cancels the drivers run. Someone in management is not doing their job correctly.

    Holland Response

    May 3, 2018 – Account Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide Holland with your feedback. We value
    your opinion and are always happy to hear from our team members. We are thrilled to receive such high praise of our... More

  8. "Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Attorney in Windermere, FL
    Former Employee - Attorney in Windermere, FL

    Pros

    Good work environment. Great people to work for. Friendly staff. Good legal department. Good benefits. Would recommend to someone trying to go in house.

    Cons

    Long hours. Supervisors need to listen to employees more. There are no other cons. Overall great place to work for.

    Advice to Management

    Listen


  9. "P & d driver city"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McCook, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McCook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Holland full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Health insurance life insurance

    Cons

    On call No hrs off for whole week .u hardy work 1 or two days.

    Advice to Management

    Don't hire when u Do not have hrs.senior guys work 12 plus hrs .newley hired guys hardly work 1 day in order to be covered by insurance u have to work 3 days and they give 1 day

    Holland Response

    Jun 1, 2018 – Account Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide Holland with a review. We always appreciate candid feedback from our employees. First of all, we are happy to hear that you enjoy the benefits we offer our... More


  10. "Cdl a driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A CDL Delivery Driver in Romulus, MI
    Current Employee - Class A CDL Delivery Driver in Romulus, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Holland full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    city delivery experience 100% company paid health insurance good pay

    Cons

    Mismanagemen. Working on Saturdays better break room

    Advice to Management

    Little more organized way of work

    Holland Response

    Mar 20, 2018 – Account Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to reach out to Holland. We always appreciate hearing from our team members. We are happy to hear that you appreciate the company-paid insurance and pay. At Holland, we... More


Showing 181 of 185 reviews
Reset Filters