Holland & Barrett Retail Reviews | Glassdoor

Holland & Barrett Retail Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 567 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Peter Aldis
298 Ratings
Pros
  • "25% discount which increases to 50% for a week near Christmas, on top of existing promotions(in 82 reviews)

  • "Good staff discount and benefits(in 74 reviews)

Cons
  • "Staff absence leaves you lone working(in 72 reviews)

  • "Area managers dont bother helping the stores out and very pushy(in 52 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (13)

    "Supervisor- 10hrs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Supervisor in Farnham, NY

      I worked at Holland & Barrett Retail for more than a year

      Pros

      -Fantastic store team, had a great relationship with my manager. -Pay is decent, even without benefits. -Good commission and bonuses. -Training is comprehensive.

      Cons

      -Area and regional management is pitiful and completely unsupportive, even accusatory. -Pay is affected by customer satisfaction surveys. It's unfair the means of putting food on the table is in the hands of the general public who often are unaware of this fact. -CEO is completely self absorbed -Communication between stores, head office and technical support is rubbish

      Holland & Barrett Retail2016-06-09
    • Helpful (6)

      "Stressful and unrewarding"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Supervisor in Featherstone, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Holland & Barrett Retail for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The only pro I can think of is the training that you receive. Although it can be hit and miss with some employees depending on what area you're working in and what role.

      Cons

      Prepare to be bombarded by KPIs and targets, you need to sell this with this, increase on this, 4 item link sale, Rewards for Life cards, magazines, samples, customer feedback cards is just a few of the things you have to remember. There's always a shortage of staff so be prepared if you're management to not have a lot of time off if any. You're never acknowledged for the work that you do and the time that you put in...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Acknowledge staff for the hard work that they do and the hours that they put in. Stop with all the excessive targets all of the time and give staff the right promotions who deserve them and have worked hard for them not to people that have been with the company for two minutes or happen to know the management.

      Holland & Barrett Retail2016-02-16
    • Helpful (5)

      "Worst company ever"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Clonmel, KS
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Holland & Barrett Retail part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      To be honest there is very few, 25% discount that's about it for me!

      Cons

      There is actually so much wrong with this company, I could be here a while typing. Manager / management have no idea how to treat their staff, constant pressure not an enjoyable place to work at all. They never send the right promotion kit for you to implement the promotion, and then your asm does a visit, this that and everything is wrong even after you have reported the items. Never any praise. Lone trading is also...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      GET YOUR HEAD OUT OF THE CLOUDS!! If your staff are happy your customers will be happy. Twice now I have filled out employment surveys for this company and nothing has changed, they think if they give you a rise of 21c an hour you'll keep quiet, don't be fooled, I would not recommend anyone to work here.

      Holland & Barrett Retail2016-01-04
    • "Large health food retailer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Holland & Barrett Retail

      Pros

      Good training for employees on the products. Well known company.

      Cons

      Store management can be poor, sometimes poor attitude. Unfair travel expectations for associates getting to training locations.

      Advice to Management

      Hire the right managers, embrace work/life balance more.

      Holland & Barrett Retail2015-02-28
    • "Excellent Opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Holland & Barrett Retail full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Staff Discount, team work, career opportunities, communication, coaching, fun atmosphere

      Cons

      I have nothing bad to say

      Holland & Barrett Retail2019-05-22
    • "Ok company bad pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Holland & Barrett Retail full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      People Strong management 5 year plan

      Cons

      Pay Benefits Long working hours Not enough staff

      Holland & Barrett Retail2019-05-23
    • "4/5"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Holland & Barrett Retail full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Supportive, understanding, good management in form of team leader

        Cons

        Communication not always great, last minute

        Holland & Barrett Retail2019-05-17
      • "Holland and Barrett Supervisor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Holland & Barrett Retail full-time

        Pros

        In depth training on health products, A-level qualifications.

        Cons

        Poor higher management, understaffing, poor life-work balance.

        Holland & Barrett Retail2019-05-16
      • "Not clear how to climb the lather"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Financial Analyst 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Holland & Barrett Retail full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good company in general, study support

        Cons

        Career path not clear, low pay

        Advice to Management

        Pay more attention to the employees and their future prospects.

        Holland & Barrett Retail2019-05-19
      • "Great Learning environment and Health ethos"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Store Manager in Magherafelt, Northern Ireland
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Holland & Barrett Retail full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Love the knowledge and training, the feel good effect from our happy customers, great holidays each year, opportunity to excel. Great company ethos

        Cons

        Nothing bad to say at all

        Advice to Management

        Keep up the constant evolution

        Holland & Barrett Retail2019-05-01
      Found 567 reviews