HollyFrontier Corporation Engineering Reviews | Glassdoor

HollyFrontier Corporation Engineer Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
28%
Recommend to a Friend
20%
Approve of CEO
Michael C. Jennings
4 Ratings
  1. "Benefit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Senior Engineer 

      I worked at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time

      Pros

      very good in the industry, really a good company to work for

      Cons

      none, really a good company to work for

      HollyFrontier Corporation2019-06-07
    • "Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Project Engineer 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      If you like living in Kansas the pay is solid. If you don't care where you live, go find a good place to work elsewhere.

      Cons

      Management is fairly young and inexperienced which isn't necessarily bad. But many of these "guys" don't listen, unfortunately. Additionally, experience doesn't seem to count for anything in their eyes. And despite the youth it's a good ol boy system with only favorite son's getting the attention and moving up. Qualifications are largely ignored. Unless you can get plugged you won't do well, stay away.

      Advice to Management

      Don't have any, they're beyond help.

      HollyFrontier Corporation2018-09-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great people, poor management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Process Engineer in Artesia, NM

      I have been working at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The rank and file employees are wonderful

      Cons

      corporate structure does little to ensure a quality work environment, its primarily left up to individual managers which creates some poor work conditions, company is very focused on industry metrics but wont recognize what it really takes to be elite

      Advice to Management

      do a better job of fostering a positive culture (and discouraging the negative), be more creative in strategy (don't just do what everyone else did 10 years ago)

      HollyFrontier Corporation2018-02-22
    • "Design Engineer Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Design Engineer Intern in Cheyenne, WY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at HollyFrontier Corporation for less than a year

      Pros

      The experience gained working at HollyFrontier was monumental. The people, culture, and values of the company are unbeatable.

      Cons

      I am currently studying for the FE and want to become a PE, and the site that I worked at didn't have any PE's to gain experience under.

      Advice to Management

      none

      HollyFrontier Corporation2016-03-10
    • "High energy environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Engineering in Cheyenne, WY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      A lot of experience packed into each day. Good benefits. Good people. Opportunity in many departments. Minimal travel. Good pay.

      Cons

      High stress environment (nature of the business). A lot of changes over the years. Consistent management needed. Old equipment leads to issues.

      HollyFrontier Corporation2015-09-21
    • "Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Engineer Intern in Tulsa, OK
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at HollyFrontier Corporation for more than a year

      Pros

      Tons of people to learn from and plenty of opportunity to move up and advance. Also, they have good benefits and education reimbursement opportunities.

      Cons

      None of those things are available to me because I have been a contract employee for over 2 years so they won't have to offer me any of those benefits.

      Advice to Management

      Take notice of your employees. I graduate in about 6 months and they think I'm going to get a job in my degree field so I've already been given the cold shoulder and my boss never includes me on any emails about important things that I need to be aware of.

      HollyFrontier Corporation2015-07-08
    • "Awesome place to work."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Engineering in Tulsa, OK
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at HollyFrontier Corporation for less than a year

      Pros

      Treated very well. Everyone is friendly, caring, and helpful. The job will get done. Safety is a main focus.

      Cons

      A bit of a learning curve if you are not familiar with a refinery.

      Advice to Management

      Keep it up!

      HollyFrontier Corporation2014-06-23
    Found 7 reviews