HollyFrontier Corporation Operations Reviews | Glassdoor

HollyFrontier Corporation Operations Reviews

Updated May 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
5%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
Michael C. Jennings
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Great Company, Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator in Artesia, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -hourly pay and yearly raises -great insurance plan -very secure job -6% 401k match + additional 3% thrift plan contribution -easy work

    Cons

    -management doesn't listen to employees much -safety is definitely not put before production -favoritism. advancement and hiring comes first to relatives, not qualified individuals

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to employees before designing equipment and making procedure changes. They are the ones who run the process every day and might be able to make the design more user friendly. You sit in an office, we make this place work. Let us have some say in ways to improve the process.

    HollyFrontier Corporation2014-11-11
  2. "Salary employees dont care about union employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in El Dorado, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, good benefits

    Cons

    Terrible management, no staffing minimums, way to much overtime

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better.

    HollyFrontier Corporation2019-05-02
  3. "Good Pay, Terrible Management and High Turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Cheyenne, WY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay Genuine people Nice location close to Denver

    Cons

    Management, management, management! People get fired monthly Management doesn't have the backing from hourly and salaried personnel Refinery manager brought in people that he used to work with and they do not share the same values and vision of the company and the people that work here

    Advice to Management

    Get a grip with what is actually happening beneath you

    HollyFrontier Corporation2017-09-08
  4. "So far ok."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Refinery Process Operator in Woods Cross, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent pay. Fair amount of time off Good perks for living close by to plant. Good bit of diversity among employees

    Cons

    Management seems short sighted and seems to claim losses as wins. Management says they want input but don't really want it. Shift work.

    Advice to Management

    Start listening to employees.

    HollyFrontier Corporation2017-07-19
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Dallas, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great benefits, culture and team oriented

    Cons

    long hours out of your ability to control

    HollyFrontier Corporation2017-05-03
  6. "Process Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Operator in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company. Many options as far as advancement when it comes to your career. I would recommend this company to friends or family.

    Cons

    I didn't have many cons when it came to my time at Holly Frontier. Work was busy and the schedule was a little tough.

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers that listen to employees to a certain degree. The employees see the everyday ins and outs of the job so they know what works and doesn't.

    HollyFrontier Corporation2016-05-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Refinery Process Operator in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at HollyFrontier Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    I did enjoyed my stay at HollyFrontier. Their operator training was top-notch.

    Cons

    Few of my coworkers were nice but many of them were very racist. Too much "F" for every 5 words that comes out from some of the workers mouth. They curse too much.

    Advice to Management

    Please make respect as a core value as some people do not respect other people's culture or race.

    HollyFrontier Corporation2015-09-29
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Good company overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Operator in Tulsa, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I had a good experience with the company throughout my stay and my supervisor was a very nice man.

    Cons

    Some racism employees are plenty and they displace it to your face. I have to stand my ground and let them know I will not take it from them otherwise I will report to management. Too many white folks working there and few minority. We are 45 employees in my control room and only two of us are people of color. The rest are whites.

    Advice to Management

    Try to employ more minorities in your company.

    HollyFrontier Corporation2014-11-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "It is going ok!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Plant Operator in Glendale, AZ
    Recommends

    I have been working at HollyFrontier Corporation

    Pros

    Pay and Benefits are great

    Cons

    Its very difficult to get hired on full time the process can take up to a full year!

    HollyFrontier Corporation2011-11-05
Found 9 reviews