HollyFrontier Corporation Reviews | Glassdoor

HollyFrontier Corporation Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 55 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Michael C. Jennings
27 Ratings
  1. "Not bad, but very busy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - B/A in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people, and honest. Occasional free lunch when they cater in food. 6% match on 401k.

    Cons

    Over worked, poor bonus, 2 weeks of vacation until your 5th year. Managers lack the ability to help you grow.

    Advice to Management

    Depressed.

    HollyFrontier Corporation2018-07-21
  2. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits - health, dental, vision, 401K

    Cons

    Refinery runs 24 / 7 Shift work required

    HollyFrontier Corporation2018-07-02
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Systems Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The retirement benefits are good at HFC. The people are great to work with very helpful and considerate.

    Cons

    We are understaffed. The life/work balance is way out of wack. The people talk about balance but being understaffed makes that impossible.

    Advice to Management

    They need to hire more people. There is too much work for many individuals but no plans to hire additional people in those areas—and not just in IT

    HollyFrontier Corporation2018-03-31
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Day in the life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Paid fairly well and have stable work.

    Cons

    They expect a lot and will look for reasons not to reward. Rather than reward people for their hard work with bonuses or other perks it usually just ends in more work being required.

    Advice to Management

    Share company perks downward. We used to be rewarded and talked to as part of the company. Now we are talked to as the lesser folk of corporate enterprise.

    HollyFrontier Corporation2018-03-01
  5. "Excellent Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HollyFrontier Corporation

    Pros

    Really great people work here

    Cons

    Growth is slow, so its hard to move up

    Advice to Management

    Add vacation for experienced new hires to the 3 week maximum

    HollyFrontier Corporation2018-02-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Artesia, NM

    I have been working at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The rank and file employees are wonderful

    Cons

    corporate structure does little to ensure a quality work environment, its primarily left up to individual managers which creates some poor work conditions, company is very focused on industry metrics but wont recognize what it really takes to be elite

    Advice to Management

    do a better job of fostering a positive culture (and discouraging the negative), be more creative in strategy (don't just do what everyone else did 10 years ago)

    HollyFrontier Corporation2018-02-22
  7. "Traffic Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Traffic Coordinator in Cheyenne, WY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent employee benefits. Very family oriented company. Great pay

    Cons

    I do not find anything wrong with this employer. It was the best employer to work for.

    Advice to Management

    More employment opportunities

    HollyFrontier Corporation2018-01-16
  8. "Good Company but not Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great benefits, good work life balance, flexible on time

    Cons

    lack of proper career development. uncertain company future plans

    Advice to Management

    if a worker is there for 5 years in the same job, its not always his fault.

    HollyFrontier Corporation2017-10-02
  9. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time

    Pros

    - Good Benefits and corporate Dallas location

    Cons

    - Could use increased communication about HQ departments on projects and initiatives.

    HollyFrontier Corporation2017-09-14
  10. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ops in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great leadership and fantastic co workers

    Cons

    Rotating shifts but not really that bad

    HollyFrontier Corporation2017-08-30
Found 55 reviews