HollyFrontier Corporation Reviews | Glassdoor

HollyFrontier Corporation Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 55 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Michael C. Jennings
27 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Refinery Process Operator in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at HollyFrontier Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    I did enjoyed my stay at HollyFrontier. Their operator training was top-notch.

    Cons

    Few of my coworkers were nice but many of them were very racist. Too much "F" for every 5 words that comes out from some of the workers mouth. They curse too much.

    Advice to Management

    Please make respect as a core value as some people do not respect other people's culture or race.

    HollyFrontier Corporation2015-09-29
  2. "Exceptional Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HollyFrontier Corporation

    Pros

    Great environment, hard workers, and opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Work/Life balance is off, need to consider telecommuting.

    Advice to Management

    Consider that one can work out of office, thus adding flexibility to those that have to be home sometimes with a sick child, rather then have to use a vacation day.

    HollyFrontier Corporation2014-12-17
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity as the company develops and grows.

    Cons

    Still developing a common culture

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    HollyFrontier Corporation2014-12-05
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Great Company, Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator in Artesia, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -hourly pay and yearly raises -great insurance plan -very secure job -6% 401k match + additional 3% thrift plan contribution -easy work

    Cons

    -management doesn't listen to employees much -safety is definitely not put before production -favoritism. advancement and hiring comes first to relatives, not qualified individuals

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to employees before designing equipment and making procedure changes. They are the ones who run the process every day and might be able to make the design more user friendly. You sit in an office, we make this place work. Let us have some say in ways to improve the process.

    HollyFrontier Corporation2014-11-11
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Good company overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Operator in Tulsa, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I had a good experience with the company throughout my stay and my supervisor was a very nice man.

    Cons

    Some racism employees are plenty and they displace it to your face. I have to stand my ground and let them know I will not take it from them otherwise I will report to management. Too many white folks working there and few minority. We are 45 employees in my control room and only two of us are people of color. The rest are whites.

    Advice to Management

    Try to employ more minorities in your company.

    HollyFrontier Corporation2014-11-17
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Decent pay for type of work you do (customer service)- too much work/stress."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MAR in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, job stability due to the nature of the industry,benefits, work with nice ppl. Good bonuses. Clean office.

    Cons

    Overworked, you are an "hourly" employee but you cant collect overtime when it is worked, culture is very serious- no joking around its a rather miserable enviornment. Old school approach to things, overly "professional". I wouldnt recommend to a friend because I wouldnt want them to be as stressed out as I was. Very demanding job, cant take a lunch break because it will put you behind and you wont be able to leave on...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Smile-tell a joke you only live once. Give praise to employees, under staffed. Let employees leave an hour or two early if they have a dr app- dont make them use a vacation day... Coordinate out of work outings to boost morale, be appreciative just because you put in 50 hour weeks doesnt mean others should...

    HollyFrontier Corporation2014-08-15
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Limited opportunities and respect for technical staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tulsa, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HollyFrontier Corporation

    Pros

    integrated refinery with capital improvements in progress

    Cons

    management resists and in some cases refuses to change very controlling and dictatorship type management style actions are not consistent with words opportunites are reserved for favorties rather than qualified promotions are granted based on senority rather than skill

    Advice to Management

    servant leadership and respect for employees ideas is needed

    HollyFrontier Corporation2012-01-19
  8. Helpful (2)

    "It is going ok!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Plant Operator in Glendale, AZ
    Recommends

    I have been working at HollyFrontier Corporation

    Pros

    Pay and Benefits are great

    Cons

    Its very difficult to get hired on full time the process can take up to a full year!

    HollyFrontier Corporation2011-11-05
  9. Helpful (4)

    "A good company but"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX

    I worked at HollyFrontier Corporation

    Pros

    A good company tat has potential to be a great employer. Opportunity was abundant when first employed. the benefits package is OK. The Total Compensation Package is OK.

    Cons

    A good company but it has its quirks and faults. The company is still a good boy company with lots of back scratching going on.

    Advice to Management

    Learn from your mistakes. no more back scratching. Listen to your employees. You can be a great company if you go through with some changes and better benefits especially in the face of the record profits.

    HollyFrontier Corporation2011-09-08
  10. "Breaking good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HollyFrontier Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Good pay. Great benefits and bonus.

    Cons

    Over worked Men’s club Upper management doesn’t listen if the message is outside their vision Care more about any sale then the right sale No work life balance

    Advice to Management

    You are pushing people out. Everyone is unhappy and stressed out. Haven’t heard one person say happy to be here in a long time.

    HollyFrontier Corporation2019-04-19
Found 55 reviews