Hollywood Casino Reviews

Updated May 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
61%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Hollywood Casino President and Chief Executive Officer Timothy J Wilmott
Timothy J Wilmott
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "Meeting people inside the casino(in 16 reviews)

  • "Good benefits if your full time(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Shortage of employees and work is more due to busy casino(in 25 reviews)

  • "Not a lot of development in middle and upper management(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Small Company. Big Ideas."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Charles Town, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hollywood Casino full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Less red tape than similar size companies I've worked at previously.

    Cons

    Bring your dog to work day, as I have allergies

    Continue reading
    Hollywood Casino2020-05-20
  2. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Toledo, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hollywood Casino part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome environment, exciting place to work, great security management

    Cons

    No cons that I experienced

    Continue reading
    Hollywood Casino2020-04-15
  3. "Table Games Dealer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Table Games Dealer in Grantville, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hollywood Casino part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Frequent new game trainings for dealers to learn more and earn more. Your voice is heard with board meetings where any one is welcome.

    Cons

    Pack a lunch. Employee's Cafe "Take 5" is limited in selection and of poor quality.

    Hollywood Casino2020-02-16
  4. "decent pay for the work required"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Demi Chef in Lawrenceburg, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hollywood Casino full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, many different schedules.

    Cons

    be prepared to produce without proper equipment or time while being understaffed.

    Continue reading
    Hollywood Casino2020-02-19
  5. "Overall decent"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Table Games Dealer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hollywood Casino part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of benefits, employee programs and appreciation

    Cons

    High volume of employees, high turnover rate

    Hollywood Casino2020-02-19
  6. "Good Side Job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Restaurant Server in Bangor, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hollywood Casino part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great discounts - 30% for employees and up to 5 people. Loved the people I worked with.

    Cons

    A lot of internal drama, but that's the norm for restaurant business. Takes a while to actually get started due to the hiring process with onboarding.

    Hollywood Casino2020-01-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Bad management"

    2.0
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Valet Attendant in Baton Rouge, LA

    I worked at Hollywood Casino part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly workers and some patrons.

    Cons

    Terrible management & unfair work situations. No holiday pay. They work part-time employees as if they’re full time by giving full time hours but no full time benefits.

    Hollywood Casino2020-02-12
  8. "Great team but overall culture lost along the way"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant 

    I worked at Hollywood Casino full-time

    Pros

    Dynamic environment and good tools and software to work with

    Cons

    Overtime became too lean across all departments making morale very low

    Hollywood Casino2020-02-11
  9. "You either tolerate it or hate it"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Poker Room Supervisor in Aurora, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hollywood Casino full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, had nice co-workers, had a fantastic manager, good place to start out if you want to pursue a career in gaming.

    Cons

    Terrible hours, little work/life balance, lots of turnover, little upward mobility. No benefits for part-timers despite being the biggest gaming company in the world.

    Continue reading
    Hollywood Casino2020-02-03
  10. ""No fault policy""

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Valet Runner in Bay St Louis, MS

    I worked at Hollywood Casino part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid-back atmosphere No constant management supervision Friendly atmosphere Food availability

    Cons

    Neglectful to regular workers while catering to management

    Hollywood Casino2020-01-31
Found 287 reviews