Hollywood Reporter Reviews | Glassdoor

Hollywood Reporter Reviews

Updated Apr 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
16%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Ross Levinsohn
5 Ratings
  1. "Such a good place to intern."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Intern 

      I worked at Hollywood Reporter part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      There were always people willing to help you out to help you get more experience. Everyone is really nice and welcoming.

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Hollywood Reporter2019-02-22
    • Helpful (2)

      "Okay To Start, Wouldn’t Recommend To Young People"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Editor in Los Angeles, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Hollywood Reporter full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I learned a lot in regards to digital media and a good place to get your byline started.

      Cons

      The Hollywood Reporter is probably one for the fakest places to work in the industry. There were a lot of people in management positions who didn’t know what they were doing or didn’t have enough experience to be in a managerial role. Also it was disturbing to see how much people were secretive about their work and guarded their jobs. No opportunity to move up and young people are overworked and underpaid. HR is a mess...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Management needs to be trained. And stop giving promotions to those who are favored and instead promote those qualified to do the job.

      Hollywood Reporter2019-04-13
    • "Meaningful experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Intern 

        I worked at Hollywood Reporter

        Pros

        Supervisor gives positive feedbacks. Mandatory informational interview with senior reporters.

        Cons

        Some staff members seem to be aloof. Very fast-paced environment.

        Hollywood Reporter2019-01-29
      • "Marketing"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Hollywood Reporter for more than a year

        Pros

        Good reputation in the market among entertainment industry

        Cons

        NO communication internally, overworked. No recognition for work. Company is not efficiently managed.

        Advice to Management

        Be more professional and increase strong interpersonal skills - both on Editorial and Production Side

        Hollywood Reporter2018-12-07
      • Helpful (4)

        "Wonderful in many ways, not so in others"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Hollywood Reporter

          Pros

          I worked in the art department and I loved it. Superb quality control. A lot of talented people and I learned a lot from them. Being a weekly publication, work was often varied and always flowing.

          Cons

          Remarkably unfriendly atmosphere and a culture of aloofness to a deranged extent. I've been a freelancer for 10 years and I've never known anything like it. It affected my confidence and I believe my work suffered as a result.

          Advice to Management

          Maybe consider that freelancers are humans too.

          Hollywood Reporter2016-05-31
        • Helpful (1)

          "Good place to gain experience as an intern"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Intern in Los Angeles, CA
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Hollywood Reporter

          Pros

          I actually learned a lot in my position as an intern. My manager let me know from the get go that he planned on teaching us (myself and the other intern that was hired) as much as possible in terms of digital media. It was also a plus that this internship was paid, which is hard to come across anywhere nowadays.

          Cons

          The culture (at least in my immediate surrounding) felt a bit cliquey, but I've seen that basically across all positions I've held.

          Hollywood Reporter2016-03-29
        • "Manager"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Manager in Simi Valley, CA
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Hollywood Reporter full-time for more than 10 years

          Pros

          Nice People to work with

          Cons

          Long Hours not much communication

          Hollywood Reporter2016-03-10
        • Helpful (1)

          "Good place to start"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Hollywood Reporter full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          awesome coworkers, opportunities to attend exciting events, magazine keeps getting better & gaining recognition

          Cons

          unclear paths for advancement, little transparency for upper management decisions, low salary, inconsistent hours during busy season vs. slow weeks

          Hollywood Reporter2016-02-12
        • Helpful (3)

          "Don't Be Fooled By The Facade"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook

          I have been working at Hollywood Reporter

          Pros

          The brand draws both readers and clients. It's sexy and attractive on the outside but the employees know the truth behind the facade.

          Cons

          Management is very top heavy and ineffective. A total lack of respect for the employees on all levels is present and obvious to staffers and clients as well. There is no customer appreciation or regard for the needs of the clients or the employees.

          Advice to Management

          They need to train managers on how to deal effectively with people. Provide the correct tools for sales staff, and provide motivation and rewards for sales team, and support staff.

          Hollywood Reporter2015-12-14
        • "Freelance"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Production in Los Angeles, CA

          I worked at Hollywood Reporter

          Pros

          I really enjoyed my time working for THR. I have worked for multiple publications, and THR was by far my favorite. Everything from the product to the working environment was superior to any other brand I've worked for.

          Cons

          With the move towards digital, the cost of THR's iconic, yet oversized magazine raises some questions about the company's future. While I believe THR will still be hollywood insider's #1 source for entertainment news, people much better enjoy receiving information from their Print product vs. digital.

          Hollywood Reporter2015-09-21
        Found 18 reviews