Holyoke Community College Reviews | Glassdoor

Holyoke Community College Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Holyoke Community College CEO  Christina Royal
Christina Royal
5 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Career Counselor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Holyoke Community College part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great supervisor; flexible and understanding

    Cons

    There are no cons here.

    Holyoke Community College2018-07-30
  2. "Clerical Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Holyoke Community College full-time

    Pros

    File Phone call/ Faxing Help student & Parent giving them information that they need.

    Cons

    I dot have any downside of any jobs, I like all of them

    Holyoke Community College2018-07-17
  3. "Adjunct Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Holyoke Community College

    Pros

    Great students, faculty, and staff

    Cons

    Unpredictable course schedule makes it hard to balance and piece together other employment

    Holyoke Community College2018-06-27
  4. "Laboratory Technician II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Holyoke Community College full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    There are some incredibly dedicated faculty and staff. Helping students is extremely rewarding. The pay and benefits are excellent.

    Cons

    Administrators will brush any issues or concerns under the rug, and the rugs are starting to look like they've got a few bodies hidden under them.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your faculty and staff that are in the trenches. Band aids don't fix the problems, they just cover them up for a while.

    Holyoke Community College2018-04-12
  5. "Inspiring mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Holyoke Community College full-time

      Pros

      Working at a community college is closely linked to social justice issues.

      Cons

      The work is difficult and emotionally intense.

      Holyoke Community College2018-04-03
    • "Great experience so far!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Peer Tutor in Holyoke, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Holyoke Community College for more than a year

      Pros

      Wonderful colleagues, engaging , motivated, interesting students. By far the best "entry-level" position I have worked, period.

      Cons

      Low pay, minimum. wage ($11/hr as of 12/2017). Please note however, I am a firm believer of a MA $15/minimum for basic survival, and anything less is unacceptable.

      Advice to Management

      Try paying more, to increase tutor retainment.

      Holyoke Community College2017-12-09
    • "Special Projects Coordinator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Holyoke Community College full-time

      Pros

      Friendly, great mission, professional culture

      Cons

      Grant flexibility, Financial Auditing strictness

      Holyoke Community College2017-10-10
    • "men's soccer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Men's Varsity Soccer Coach in Holyoke, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Holyoke Community College part-time

      Pros

      Light hours. Great environment. Good people.

      Cons

      Traveling for the away games.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work.

      Holyoke Community College2017-05-05
    • "Holyoke CC"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Instructor in Holyoke, MA
      Recommends

      I have been working at Holyoke Community College for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Great Students, and mostly good faculty

      Cons

      Slow and unresponsive directorship. Lots of red tape and "we'd love to help" without much action.

      Holyoke Community College2017-01-27
    • "Seasonal Sales Representative"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Seasonal Sales Representative in Holyoke, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Holyoke Community College for more than a year

      Pros

      *Prompt response to sales orders/enquiries on the floor, via marketing calls, and on-line support. *Customer Service: trained on-line customer service representatives to assist students/faculty/retailers. *Convenience: Purchase orders prepared electronically. *Service: well trained staff prepared backorders to replenish and maintain our existing order supply. *Availability: morning/late night, and overtime...

      Show More

      Cons

      Cons: Seasonal work allowing for minimal full-time, fully benefited positions. (See Pros) *Prompt response to sales orders/enquiries on the floor, via marketing calls, and on-line support. *Customer Service: trained on-line customer service representatives to assist students/faculty/retailers. *Convenience: Purchase orders prepared electronically. *Service: well trained staff prepared backorders to replenish...

      Show More
      Holyoke Community College2016-04-21
    Found 15 reviews