Home Care Assistance Reviews | Glassdoor

Home Care Assistance Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 211 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Lily Sarafan
87 Ratings
Pros
  • "They work together to make it easier for us caregivers to keep everything in order(in 16 reviews)

  • "HCA has a wonderful mission that is carried out every single day(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Total lack of respect for caregivers(in 16 reviews)

  • "The caregiving industry never ends it’s always 24/7(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Coletta's out line."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caregiver, CNA in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Home Care Assistance full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    They care about the employees & clients.

    Cons

    There would no be any changes.

    Home Care Assistance2019-03-26
  2. "Good Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Home Care Assistance full-time

      Pros

      Good Support - always someone on call

      Cons

      I had too much work, 7 days a week, many different clients

      Home Care Assistance2019-04-08
    • "People who make $2,500/hr convince their workers at $25/hr that making $14/hr is too much... oh, and NO BENEFITS!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Palm Beach Gardens, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Home Care Assistance full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Pretty red logo, fancy paper

      Cons

      Pay, PTSD, yelling, rude, dishonest, over charge families but under pay the staff that represents you.

      Advice to Management

      Problem exists from top down. Be silent and listen, you may learn something valuable! Just another PROFIT BEFORE PEOPLE CORPORATE GREED CONGLOMERATE *Office staff is like the means girls clique from any given High School. If worker is sick, they argue over the phone that you HAVE TO go to work, you have to argue back that the client can catch it! If I even give 6 MONTHS ADVANCED NOTICE to go on vacation they yell...

      Show More
      Home Care Assistance2019-04-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "The Industry is crap"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Home Health Caregiver in San Diego, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Home Care Assistance part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      like my clients. they are good people

      Cons

      Never enough money, never enough hrs, office staff has an extremely high turnover, they don't communicate very well with their employees. They never let you know when someone quits, especially a manager. You continually text him or her and get no response. Finally call the office and ask for him or her and the response you get is "oh he/she doesn't work here any more." They also fail to let you know if there is a...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      This industry needs an over haul big time. Communicate better with your employees and if some one in the office staff quits, SEND A MESSAGE so we won't keep texting him or her.

      Home Care Assistance2019-03-29
    • "Low pay, many available shift"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Caregiver in Santa Barbara, CA
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Home Care Assistance for more than 2 years

      Pros

      There is a lot of work available

      Cons

      I didn't seem to have a supervisor. I would be contacted at least once a day by phone call, text message, or email, asking me to pick up a shift. Sometimes I was contacted by multiple people regarding the same client. No one seemed to be on the same page.

      Home Care Assistance2019-03-23
    • Helpful (2)

      "Poor internal and corporate management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Home Care Assistance full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Free coffee and talking to the clients

      Cons

      Money hungry No work and life balance Company is just interested in making money and not about about employees Raises rates for clients but does not pay employees more Very distrustful management team and very secretive No room for growth Open door policy but management gossips

      Advice to Management

      Do not punish employee for management mistakes. This company says that they care about their employees but just gives you the run around to work more at a low rate.

      Home Care Assistance2019-03-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great Company but poor work life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Staffing Manager in Seattle, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Home Care Assistance full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      HCA Seattle pays well and they are very innovative. I loved how much I learned and being able to grow a start up hc company.

      Cons

      No work life balance... The on call almost killed me literally

      Advice to Management

      Hire only HC managers with experience. Promote from within it builds trust and increases employee motivation.

      Home Care Assistance2019-02-15
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - CNA in Naples, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Home Care Assistance part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Very caring staff and group of people. Definitely provide valuable care to loved ones.

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Advice to Management

      Keep valuing quality of care over all else.

      Home Care Assistance2019-02-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "In it for the money not the client"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Caregiver in La Jolla, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Home Care Assistance full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Affluent clients in clean homes.

      Cons

      Poor communication. Total lack of respect for caregivers. Limited interest in client needs. Will hire any warm body. No raises. No advancement. High turnover.

      Advice to Management

      Remember why you got into this field...

      Home Care Assistance2019-03-15
    • "good people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I worked at Home Care Assistance full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Did their best to work with me

        Cons

        unpredictable clients and needs of the job

        Home Care Assistance2019-01-27
      Found 211 reviews