KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Home Depot Canada

Is this your company?

Home Depot Canada

Add a Review

Home Depot Canada Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Dec 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 122 of over 1,321 reviews

3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Home Depot Canada President Michael Rowe (no image)
Michael Rowe
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "good part time job and learning for electrical apprentice(in 84 reviews)

  • "Good benefits if you're looking for a career job(in 69 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The hours kind of sucked if you were part time(in 55 reviews)

  • "Low pay for experience; Retail hours; Actual expectations exceed job responsibilities(in 34 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Home Depot Canada and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "part time"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Jul 17, 2019 - Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -great company culture -tuition reimbursement -dental/health benefits for part time workers -great employee support programs

      Cons

      -too many cashiers hard to pick up shifts

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good part time job.

      Jun 17, 2008 - Sales Associate in Edmonton, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This was a part time time job for me so I didn't take it too seriously. The work schedule was pertty fair and if I needed a day off it was usually accomodated. My Manager was pretty easy going and I felt comfortable talking to him about issues I was facing (other employees, work schedule, tasks, etc). Having the opportunity to work in different departments and learn new skills and develop knowledge about all the different products was most interesting to me. Formal and informal staff events were fun even with such a diverse group of people working at the Home Depot.

      Cons

      Starting a work shift early in the morning was the one thing I liked the least.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Frustrating

      Mar 28, 2015 - Sales Associate in Corpus Christi, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Customer service and selling techniques

      Cons

      Hours suck if you stay part time

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Awesome company to work for!

      Jun 10, 2020 - Special Services Associate in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Amazing health benefits. Starting as a part-time 17 year old cashier, I had full medical and dental benefits as soon as I hit three months there. -They help students pay for school. This varies by district but they paid for a large portion of my tuition and textbooks through college and university. -Awesome work environment. Management in my store often showed appreciation for employees through Home Depot's Homer program, having BBQs in the summer, and bringing food to the break room. -Good training. I had a lot of hands-on training and computer training.

      Cons

      -Low pay. You start at minimum wage in most in-store jobs. Not the worst thing in the world but as a student, I found it made more sense to leave Home Depot to get a restaurant job where I could make more money. -They're too patient with their employees. Most of the people they hire are pretty solid but some weirdos slip through the cracks and do work that's so bad that it means more work for everyone else who has to smooth things over with customers or do extra work to fix their mistakes.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place to work if you are in college

      Dec 7, 2020 - Lot Associate in Kanata, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Helpful management -Friendly people -Good benefits (I get health benefits even if i'm only part time) -They'll feed you lunch sometimes and snacks

      Cons

      -Tedious work -Sometimes supervisors may ask too much

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good flexible job

      Nov 2, 2020 - Service Desk 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great part time job to work if you are in school. Flexible hours and many different areas to work.

      Cons

      It is retail and you are dealing with customers

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Friendly Coworkers, good product knowledge experience, busy, feels rewarding

      Oct 8, 2020 - Paint Associate in Bowmanville, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Down to earth vibe and professional

      Cons

      Minimum wage, no benefits for part-time work, orange aprons feel ridiculous to wear.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Excellent as a job environnement

      Oct 19, 2020 - Sales Associate/Cashier in Montreal, QC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Insurance and you get many advantages even as a part time worker

      Cons

      was a lil bit far because I moved

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great people but terrible policy

      Jan 14, 2020 - Sales Associate in St. Catharines, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers are amazing. There are so many good people working at Home Depot. Knowledgable, helpful and always willing to help train you. Health benefits for all employees.. part time at 50%. This is a bonus, and the company is actually pretty good at working around college scheduling.

      Cons

      Management refuses to reward good employees with living hours. Off season even the best people might only get 8 or 12 hours a week, except the brand new people. There doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to it other than to take advantage of the green, starry eyed newbies. There's little loyalty to those who have put their heart and soul into the store. Full time positions are almost impossible and what they call 'part time' is basically 'on call'.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Decent Place to work overall

      May 20, 2020 - Nights in Windsor, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Room to advance, lots of training to help get you there. Awesome benefits, even for part time. Lots of extra support outlets for life issues.

      Cons

      Low pay. Depending on your department, not alot of help for certain tasks. SOME managers seem to not care, until they look bad, then everything is your fault. Flipside, some awesome managment as well.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 122 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Home Depot Canada Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Home Depot Canada? Share Your Experiences

    or