Home Helpers Reviews | Glassdoor

Home Helpers Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 82 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Emma R. Dickison
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "They are diligent in making sure that the client/caregiver relationship is a positive one for everyone(in 5 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, easy to pick up extra hours if needed, lines of communication with management always open(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not always enough cases/hours for caregivers, but staff try to find what is available and make it work with your schedule(in 8 reviews)

  • "No benefits no paid time off or anything like that but you end up working crazy hours(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Health Caregiver in Downers Grove, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Home Helpers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked for Home Helpers during summer break as a nursing student. I enjoyed my job here. During the interview, you are asked about what kind of patients you have experience with and you can discuss what kind of assignment you’d be comfortable with. They work their best to assign you to the kind of schedule you want. All the families I worked for were excellent. During the first meeting with families, one of the managers...

    Show More

    Cons

    I honestly really enjoyed this job. No cons.

    Advice to Management

    Good job

    Home Helpers2019-06-22
  2. "Great Stepping Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caregiver in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Home Helpers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible scheduling. -Part-time or full-time hours available. -Some promotions available. -Benefits are available (insurance expensive, good 401K). -Some down time on certain shifts so you may be able to do school work (but you can't depend on that!).

    Cons

    -Hours are per-diem and you can be left without enough. -Help is not always available if you are dealing with a tough client, family, or facility.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees that work hard, not just pick up hours and are lazy while on shift.

    Home Helpers2019-06-13
  3. "A very nice collaboration."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Care Aide in Glenmoore, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Home Helpers part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company treats you like family and takes into consideration any health problems you may be experiencing of your own so as not to overwhelm you with too difficult of tasks.

    Cons

    Low pay, no benefits, hours are never guaranteed.

    Advice to Management

    Any added bonuses whenever possible are always welcome!

    Home Helpers2019-06-13
  4. "Taking Service to the next level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Franchise Business Consultant in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Home Helpers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Home Helpers as an whole has some of the best owners in the Home Care Industry within their franchisee system. The owners are knowledgeable and work consistently to improve the overall system and impact the senior population with opportunities to provide them everything from Home Care Services, to additional services that improve the daily life and experience of home care. Their Corporate office team is passionate about...

    Show More

    Cons

    As with all franchise systems, consistency across the US and internationally is an area of opportunity, as the industry calls for high expectations as it is, as does the NSC expectations.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Home Helpers2019-05-29
  5. "Run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Home Helpers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of. Any pros that were presented at time of accepting offer changed once employment began.

    Cons

    Owner is not trustworthy, doesn’t communicate, changes expectations without saying anything, blames others, and is dishonest about previous employees. Does not offer any type of training. Corporate office was not helpful.

    Home Helpers2019-06-19
  6. "Senior Care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Franchise Owner in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Home Helpers full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Caregivers become like family. Home Helpers empowers senior adults who need assistance to remain independent in their home.

    Cons

    While few want to pay more for services, everybody wants continuity and consistency with their caregiver. The old and overused saying of "you get what you pay for" is certainly true with any senior care organization. Expect to get what you pay for.

    Home Helpers2019-05-13
  7. "I enjoyed working there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mandated Reporter in Lancaster, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Home Helpers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed my clients

    Cons

    Boss didn't want me to get close to clients.

    Advice to Management

    Don't make up lies on the employees.

    Home Helpers2019-05-09
  8. "Look Elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Caregiver, CNA in Oconomowoc, WI
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Home Helpers part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      You get a paycheck, it's a job.

      Cons

      Very difficult to get hours. Don't count on getting the sign on bonus. I was told I wasn't eligible, even though I was!

      Advice to Management

      Try being honest and fair.

      Home Helpers2019-04-28
    • "Be aware"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Coordinator in Knoxville, TN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Home Helpers full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Felt like you was making a difference for our clients

      Cons

      Not enough money for the demand. No work life balance.

      Advice to Management

      Pay your staff their worth. Stop giving bad references on staff that leave the company to better themselves.

      Home Helpers2019-02-26
    • "Stressful"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Administrative in Knoxville, TN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Home Helpers full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      You are able to work with all kinds of people. Veterans, elderly, and their families.

      Cons

      pay you take your work home with you

      Advice to Management

      compensate properly for the job

      Home Helpers2018-12-09
    Found 82 reviews