Home Properties Reviews | Glassdoor

Home Properties Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Edward J. Pettinella
22 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "No room for growth, so be prepared to stay in a current position forever as they hire outside instead of within the company(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "i liked it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Property Manager in Silver Spring, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Home Properties full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    great training & great people

    Cons

    Lighthouse takeover pay just ok properties selling left and right

    Home Properties2019-02-26
  2. "Mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Home Properties full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere. Small office.

    Cons

    Secretive company. Working weekends sucks. Long hours.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with all staff members. Remember policies not just when the benefit you.

    Home Properties2019-03-24
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leasing Consultant in Silver Spring, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Home Properties full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    It WAS a big company but a lot of the properties were on the older side. They eventually sold. Great entry level company.

    Cons

    Not too much room for growth.

    Home Properties2019-03-09
  4. "see to day to day operation between residents and staff and maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager in Levittown, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Home Properties part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good hours and that's it

    Cons

    Everything from lousy bosses, a company that is soley in it for the money and not the residents

    Advice to Management

    Be Real

    Home Properties2018-07-29
  5. "Truely Home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Home Properties full-time

    Pros

    Organized and highly professional

    Cons

    None! I think this is the best management team out there. The job was very outlined and every office was ran efficiently. It was very rare that occupancy dipped below 95%.

    Advice to Management

    Remember what you learned at this company and you will always be leaders in this industry.

    Home Properties2018-06-23
  6. "Disarray"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Home Properties full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great at cost cutting in the business! I'd you know what I mean.

    Cons

    Lack of coherent leadership. Very cliquey in the office. Inability to set realistic targeta.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on setting achievable, common sense action plans and targets.

    Home Properties2018-06-11
  7. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Property Manager in Alexandria, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Home Properties full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Large company (at the time) but managed to keep the smaller mom and pop feel!

    Cons

    None, would have loved to stay with this company if my property wasnt sold :(

    Advice to Management

    Dont sell anymore properties :)

    Home Properties2018-05-24
  8. "Design"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Home Properties for more than 20 years

    Pros

    ..... ... .... ... ..

    Cons

    Home Properties was a great place to work until it was sold to a private equity firm and is being dismantled.

    Home Properties2018-04-11
  9. "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Home Properties full-time

    Pros

    Nice colleagues overall. A good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Company has gone downhill since being sold a few years ago. Customer service used to be a priority, it is now only about their bottom line.

    Home Properties2018-03-26
  10. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Home Properties

      Pros

      Good managers and coworkers, decent time off

      Cons

      Not enough value being put in to apartments

      Home Properties2017-10-12
    Found 68 reviews