HomeServe UK "senior management" Reviews | Glassdoor

HomeServe UK Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Dec 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
HomeServe UK CEO Greg Reed
Greg Reed
180 Ratings
Pros
  • "HomeServe is a great place to work - the culture really is very people focused(in 72 reviews)

  • "Access to senior management is very good(in 51 reviews)

Cons
  • "No Cons at present, love working here(in 31 reviews)

  • "Based on the outskirts of Walsall(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Was great but becoming very negative FAST!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gas Engineer in Guildford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No one is forcing you to stay!

    Cons

    Spent a fortune on a new POOR system that does not optimise but engineers did not even get a pay rise despite workloads and work areas increasing!!, No trust, Very poor work life balance, Them and us culture, Poor pay structure, Poor senior management. No progression prospects.

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2019-12-14

    HomeServe UK Response

    December 18, 2019

    Hi, thank you for your review. We know we’ve had problems rolling out our new despatch system but I’m confident that we have solutions in sight to the majority of the issues we have seen. I’m very grateful to all the team for helping us through the issues that will deliver a super system going forward. On the pay issue you mention, we implemented a Fair Pay scheme that gave big pay rises to many gas engineers who came over to Home Serve on TUPE from low paying companies. We were never going to be able to afford to put everyone onto the very highest rates that some firms paid, but equally we didn’t want to cut anyone’s pay. That was a red line and it’s the right thing to do. Therefore everyone here now earns at least the right salary for the job. Some earn a bit more than that because of historic reasons and I’m happy that’s the right way to go. Always happy to discuss on an individual basis any time you like. Martin

    Continue reading
  2. "Rewarding Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance & Risk Director in Walsall, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been at HomeServe for almost four years. It is a stimulating environment that I really enjoy. Although there is a lot of change, and it is certainly fast-paced, I have found it very rewarding. People here certainly want to do the right thing by customers. For me, it is just the right size. Although it is getting close to making the FTSE100, it is still small enough to get one's head around all of its activities. Access to senior management is very good.

    Cons

    Both good and bad - there is a lot of change!

    HomeServe UK2019-08-18
  3. "Great place, great People, great culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Value Added Service Manager in Walsall, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The Senior Management Team are all really approachable, taking time to regularly communicate the business focus areas but also just to interact as people. The People are all really committed to the business goals Progression opportunities - encouraged to find out more about other areas, how we work together and how we can develop into new roles

    Cons

    I genuinely can't really think of any! Maybe, the air con can get a little cold sometimes..

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2019-08-16
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Minimal Job security. Large amounts of redundancies made regularly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HomeServe UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sick pay Money off recreational activities

    Cons

    I've had a lot of time to reflect on my time working for homeserve and I don't mind saying I was one of the many that were made redundant and i'm writing this some 2 months after being made redundant with a clear head: - Lack of understanding of what goes on day-to-day from senior management - This causes issues in understanding time to deliver work - Also means the targets that get set are ludicrous and unattainable (i.e. they expected to go from 10,000 boiler sales to 20,000 in just year) - A lot of smoke and mirrors for a company that preaches an "open" culture Unfortunately I feel this is a company has become very "Americanised". They talk the talk, but they are ruthless behind closed doors

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2019-06-05

    HomeServe UK Response

    June 7, 2019UK CEO

    You’ve lost your job so of course I understand why you wouldn’t be happy although I don't agree with your comments and assertions about HomeServe. I’m just guessing but based on what you said I think you worked for a business that we acquired. The reality is when you put two businesses together there are overlaps of People and to have a sustainable business (your words) then you need to either redeploy these People or there will be redundancies. We always try to redeploy first. We have about three thousand People in our UK business and have had that many for about five years now. We need our People to be in the right places for our Customers and this sometimes leads to us having to make tough choices. Last point, I think if anyone reading your review has questions or concerns on sustainability then they should check out the details in the latest annual business figures released a couple of weeks ago. I wish you well in your future endeavours. Greg

    Continue reading
  5. "Great place to work with great people and environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Planning Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Really focused senior management team engaging in delivering our people and customer charters.

    Cons

    Lots of change but needed..

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2019-04-23
  6. Helpful (5)

    "A conflicted and ambivalent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walsall, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are many good pros to working at HomeServe including: Great recruitment and on-boarding process, open door policy from senior management, employee welfare and engagement, internal communications, free product (insurance policy), company shares, work life balance including charity days , generally well run and maintained premises and continued innovation of the business to grow and diversify, in general a positive and open work culture that allows employees to speak up (internal intranet version of "face book" Yammer)

    Cons

    After initial on-boarding department induction was poor, general lack of communication of how, who, where other departments work, internal GBU communication can be rambling and long winded. Department engagement can be mixed depending on management and attitude of colleagues. Although the business is in profit and growing world wide there is a feeling of continued fear from cut backs and job security is on the minds of most employees who fear the dreaded year end and continuous cull of jobs, even the most loyal employees are at risk. This is the paradox of HomeServe, a great company and people, making good profit but no long term security. General feedback from colleagues who have survived year on year is that of the good old days when the company was trying hard to be like Google.

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2019-04-26
  7. "I've learned a lot here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    HomeServe has been a great place for me to build my career. I've been in the fortunate position to have great managers who have believed in me and allowed me to grow and learn so I'm extremely grateful for that. My favourite thing about HomeServe is if you see something that needs doing, I've generally found I've had the freedom to go and do it. It's meant I've had a diverse range of projects working with lots of different parts of the business allowing me to build a great network. I'd say there's generally a positive culture and a very open senior management team.

    Cons

    I've found it difficult to get a clear career development framework. HomeServe aren't great at promoting internally although I gather this is being addressed. This can be very frustrating when trying to find out what is required for a promotion or pay rise.

    HomeServe UK2019-04-24
  8. "Excellent place to work if you want to work hard and contribute"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Finance in Walsall, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    HomeServe is a great place to work - the culture really is very people focused. The company looks after its people, and as a result our People look after our Customers. The senior management team really promote our Customer and our People Promises - more so than any other company I have worked for. You can really see how the work you are doing contributes to achieving the company's goals. There's always new ideas and you can get involved in a variety of projects which means that there is always a lot to do! There's lots of opportunities to develop your career across a variety of departments and this allows you to learn new skills.

    Cons

    The company is going through a prolonged period of change and this won't suit everyone. If you're someone who likes the status quo where every day is the same, HomeServe is not for you. The organisation is always seeking growth opportunities and this makes it very exciting - but it does mean that things don't stand still. You need to keep up with the pace of the organisation.

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2019-03-27

    HomeServe UK Response

    April 11, 2019HomeServe UK Response

    Thanks for the great review especially your feedback on the positive impact of our People and Customer Promises has had on our culture.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "A car crash waiting to happen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Preston, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe UK full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    1. The team members across the business are generaly great people to work with 2. Share save plan

    Cons

    When I joined Homeserve I immediately sensed a warm working atmosphere with people leading in the right way. There were targets to meet like any organization has but now the workload has become nothing short of outrageous. I am no longer rewarded for the extra effort I give having had my bonus taken away from me permanently. However, I am expected to run assessment centres without being awarded overtime or time off in lieu. There is an overwhelming sense of victimization here with popular, timeserved and professional people not being given essential support. If you happen to be away from work due to long term sickness, the return to work is regarded as something to be looked down upon. The answer to this? Recruit and employ more robust staff. In an age of technology, the various processes aren't built into the IT systems and there is a heavy reliance on spreadsheets. Despite experience and talent, there is a trend from senior management to treat team managers and advisers as inept, unqualified and almost like this is the first job since coming out of school. Core people values have taken a back seat and Preston has definitely become a unit without any care - probably because there is no courage. It is impossible to submit good ideas to a point of contact as these will be dismissed - an inept system of review stops the implementation of some good ideas that would help both advisers and customers. Scheduling rotas has become dire with many rotas being rehashed at short notice. There is no work/life balance anymore

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2019-02-04

    HomeServe UK Response

    February 7, 2019Claims Director

    Hi and thanks very much for your review. There are a lot of points here, probably too many to address in this response and definitely better addressed by a conversation because that would help me to understand better some of your concerns and also allow me to respond properly to some of the points I think you are making. One thing I would challenge though is the suggestion that you can’t raise ideas and have them given proper consideration. We have lots of ways to do this, up to and including a CEO who asks People to have one-to-ones with him. Anyway, please do schedule some time with me, I think it would be really beneficial for both of us.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Worst nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walsall, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HomeServe UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am not able to think of any other comment other than my meagre salary was paid on time and there was Starbucks available onsite with a great restaurant.

    Cons

    Bullying culture Management/HR do not listen to employee concerns & are not supportive Processes are in place but are completely disregarded Old boys network Lack of direction from senior management in some business areas Management are resistant to change and innovation If you have new ideas & prepared to challenge the old way, watch your back Senior management are allowed to get away with bad behaviour No direction from senior management Old boys network and if you are not part of it, you're made to suffer Lots who talk the talk but dont deliver

    Continue reading
    HomeServe UK2018-11-07

    HomeServe UK Response

    November 13, 2018Brand Director

    HomeServe is committed to the highest standards of honesty, openness and accountability and our People play an important part to play in ensuring we deliver on this commitment. We do not tolerate any form of bullying and harassment. Our People Promises and the standards of behaviour we expect are a critical part of our culture and are supported by everyone who works for HomeServe. The wellbeing and support of our People is paramount and there are plenty of ways and processes in place where you can can informally and formally raise your concerns. Please do take advantage of them, your concern will be taken seriously and investigated. You can also have a one to one with me which will be held in the strictest confidence, where you can talk freely about your concerns or ideas, please contact me directly to arrange.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 72 reviews