HomeServe USA Reviews | Glassdoor

HomeServe USA Reviews

Updated October 7, 2018
161 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
HomeServe USA CEO Thomas J. Rusin
Thomas J. Rusin
109 Ratings

161 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Pay and benefits are good and have a bonus system in place" (in 10 reviews)

  • "Room for advancement in a fast-growing company" (in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Internal communication from upper management to the agents could be better" (in 11 reviews)

  • "No work life balance, not super accommodating to medical conditions, the ONLY thing upper management cares about is money" (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Proud to be a HomeServe family member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Specialist in Chattanooga, TN
    Current Employee - IT Specialist in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe USA full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    HomeServe USA has been taking great strides to become the "Best Place to Work" and I feel they are doing a fantastic job. They have built a new site with a modern theme which is very motivating for all employees. Along with this cool place to work, we also have a new workout center, gaming room, and a TV area to relax. I recently suggested someone for employment who was hired and everyday he comes to work thinking this is an incredible place and loves the energy. I also appreciate that everyone’s door is open including the CEO, how many companies can say that. During this past week we have had a lot of excitement for the new site which included a ribbon cutting ceremony, president’s awards for employees recognized for their hard work, and other events and it made me very proud to have been a part of it. So keep it up HomeServe!

    Cons

    With any company there are pros and cons, what I will say is when someone has informed HomeServe of an issue, they do try to resolve it and work to make things better.

    HomeServe USA Response

    May 24, 2018 – Director, People Communications & Engagement

    We're extremely proud to have been able to build the new Customer Center of Excellence for our employees in Chattanooga. We continue to be excited about all of the amenities it offers, and we know... More


  2. "Diamond in the Rough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Norwalk, CT
    Current Employee - Vice President in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe USA full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Extremely intelligent and motivated leadership team with an excellent vision for the future success of the organization
    Fun and exciting culture with plenty of training/growth opportunities
    Good benefits and competitive compensation
    Truly care about the employees AND the customers alike

    Cons

    No cons as of yet.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and be proud of your accomplishments.

    HomeServe USA Response

    Oct 8, 2018 – Director, People Communications & Engagement

    It's the people who work here that help us shine like a diamond! They're why we work hard to create an exciting and engaging atmosphere that inspires everyone to learn and grow while giving their... More

  3. "HomeServe USA - The Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe USA full-time

    Pros

    This company provides excellent training and support staff. Supervisors and managers generally communicate well with their employees. The atmosphere is very positive. As long as you fulfill your specific job qualifications, you will do well with this company!

    Cons

    Sometimes the customers are rude, angry and impatient.

    HomeServe USA Response

    Oct 8, 2018 – Director, People Communications & Engagement

    Thanks for being part of Team HomeServe! It sounds like you've discovered that the company strives to communicate well across the business and provide everyone with the training, tools and resources... More


  4. "Inbound Rep/Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inbound Representative/Leadership in Chattanooga, TN
    Current Employee - Inbound Representative/Leadership in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe USA full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Homeserve is a great company to work for. I have been employeed with the company for 5 years. I love the new call center!
    It offers you the opportunity to grow and excel to leadership at a rapid pace! The company has many activities that help engage the employees and bring them together as a family. Homeserve continues to bring balance between work and family. I am super thankful for my job with Homeserve. I highly recommend employment to anyone seeking employment.

    Cons

    I honestly do not see the cons to working for Homeserve. As any company you have your ups and downs. Your good days, and your bad.
    But everyday Homeserve is striving to meet the needs of not just their customer, but their employees. Because a happy employee will manifest excellent work ethics

    HomeServe USA Response

    Oct 8, 2018 – Director, People Communications & Engagement

    Congratulations on reaching your five year milestone! We truly appreciate people like you who are committed to helping us grow our company and reach new customers, while providing the excellent... More


  5. "A Company with A Heart!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chattanooga, TN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe USA full-time

    Pros

    HomeServe is truly a great place. I am proud of how we are always looking at ways to help our community and our own team. Leadership cares about their employees and they are always looking for ways to make things better and take it to the next level. It saddens me when someone puts negative information out about the company, especially when it's not true. I can honestly say that although the company may not be perfect (who is) they care and really try to always to do the right thing. They provide great benefits, a good work environment and very competitive pay. We have a lot of new leadership and they are learning right along with us, but they really want to do well and want all of us to succeed. They are trying and they care about us not just as employees, but as human beings. I have never worked for a company where the employees had so much pull. In some ways it's to much.

    Cons

    Trying to keep a high level of engagement in a growth environment has created a sense of entitlement amongst some employees. Some people need to have a wake up call. This sense of entitlement is ridiculous. Some of my peers need to focus on doing their jobs instead of what the company hasn't given them. OMG!

    Advice to Management

    Don't let the inmates run the asylum. We do have a great place to work, don't let a few negative people change your approach. Recognize the majority of us love this place.

    HomeServe USA Response

    Oct 8, 2018 – Director, People Communications & Engagement

    Your feedback highlights the essence of our company: awesome people and great leaders. Together, they're committed to providing excellent customer service, building an engaging and rewarding... More


  6. "Dreams turn to nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - RMA in Chattanooga, TN
    Former Employee - RMA in Chattanooga, TN

    I worked at HomeServe USA full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I started at Homeserve in 2017 it started out amazing I met so really great people there I was hoping to be apart of the homeserve family for a while is has great pay and benefits great working environment not to stressful with it being a call center

    Cons

    the problem have with this company is how they enforce their policies with certain people I was terminated because some one said I recorded someone on while on the production floor I had no knowledge of this they had no proof I gave them access to my social media no video was there no one was we’ll g to hear my side I email Upper management no reply but I’ve seen someone get caught by One of the general managers with their phone and was suspended for about a week no termination my problem with that is if you are going f to use the no phone poles it should apply to EVERYONE NOT JUST CERTAIN PEOPLE AND ANOTHER THIS IF I WAS RECORDING SOMEONE AND THEY WERE ENTERTAINING IT I SHOULD HAVE NOT BEEN THE ONLY ONE TERMINATED JUST MY OPINION BUT I GUESS THAT EXPLAINS WHY ALL THE REVIEWS SAY THEY SHOW FAVORITISM!

    Advice to Management

    If you are going to enforce the company policies they should apply to EVERYONE Not JUST CERTAIN PEOPLE YOU FEEL LIKE YOU WANT TO MAKE AN EXAMPLE OUT OF OR A PERSON THAT WILL COME IN TO WROK
    ANY TIME AND ANY DAY WORK LONG HRS AND HAVE A FAMILY AT HOME BUT HEY I GUESS THAT DONT MATTER!


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible, I would NEVER recommend."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inbound Customer Service Representative in Chattanooga, TN
    Former Employee - Inbound Customer Service Representative in Chattanooga, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HomeServe USA full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The only good thing I have to say for this company is that I loved my teammates and immediate supervisor and team lead. They were amazing people.

    Cons

    No work life balance, not super accommodating to medical conditions, the ONLY thing upper management cares about is money. The bonus policy is trash, the attendance policy is trash, I just don’t really have anything good to say.

    Advice to Management

    Changes need to be made within the company.

  8. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Desktop Support Analyst
    Current Employee - Desktop Support Analyst

    I have been working at HomeServe USA full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Its Wonderful I love it here

    Cons

    are you serious? there are none

    Advice to Management

    They are great

    HomeServe USA Response

    Jul 17, 2018 – Director, People Communications & Engagement

    We're glad to know how much you like working here, and will keep doing our best to live up to your expectations. If you ever think we're falling short, you can always reach out to any of the... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lazy reps lack of help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe USA full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Used to value their agents

    Cons

    Shows favoritism, gives props to people who don’t deserve it!

    Advice to Management

    This would be an awesome company to work with if they didn’t have agents who abuse policies! Some of these agents screen calls, are always up walking around being nosey and starting drama! Not everyone on the team is the problem just 2 individuals in particular! They ignore calls when they come to their lines and it’s like pulling teeth to get them to actually take an escalation! I’m new and already notice what others have been saying about them! It’s even worse because their supervisor just takes up for them putting herself at risk for them! They walk away from their desk with an open phone line that then just rings and goes to voicemail! They’ve been getting away with murder and something should be done! For all the customers that they leave high and dry because they are lazy! They need to be brought to reality! I know some great agents that would be great at replacing them! There are people that can do their job in their sleep! How many more good agents do you have to lose before you realize that they feel unappreciated! There was only one person that did her job to perfection and she’s gone because she was unappreciated! This company gives presidents award nominations to the wrong people! You guys grow the wrong people! Wake up and smell the coffee!


  10. Helpful (8)

    "We Need a Leadership Change in Chattanooga"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Chattanooga, TN
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Chattanooga, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeServe USA full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - For the Chattanooga area, HomeServe typically pays above market value, but that's not saying much.
    - Many superficial activities and awards for those who are easily swayed.
    - The new building is awesome for what it is.

    Cons

    I have worked at HomeServe for a number of years and I'm usually very vocal. What I have witnessed over the past few months has really made me question the integrity of this leadership team. A lot of good, smart people have been let go due to politics and pettiness. When I was promoted into my current role, I realized that there is a bit of undercover misogyny and bias in leadership based on the way certain individuals were treated. I'm always amused at the people who post how wonderful this place is. This environment is toxic. It's impossible for a woman or person of color to ascend into upper management. They hired a black manager, but current leadership undermined him every step of the way and kicked him to the curb. The way they treated Ms. Deb was deplorable and to pretend that she was simply resigning shows the lack of respect that this company has for us. A good friend of mine was shown the door simply due to poor coaching, but a supervisor accused of theft was allowed to keep their job. The favoritism in this place is nauseating.

    For whatever reason, this company truly believes they can pacify us with a few trinkets, awards, and a ridiculously expensive Christmas party while also telling us that they have no money for raises. Why are we bothering with surveys if nothing is going to change?! The local HR team has proven to be utterly useless and the senior management cares more about style points than substance. That's OK because the public will learn more and more in the coming months, especially since this company has failed to hire the additional agents promised as part of their tax break agreement.

    Advice to Management

    Don't treat long-time employees like Ms. Deb like dirt. She deserved so much better, but this "leadership" team has no respect for anyone who doesn't sit in an office. They don't even respect managers, putting them out on the noisy floor with everyone else. Hire women and people of color for positions higher than team lead and supervisor before the EEOC starts asking questions. Don't hire yes-men to director and senior director roles. I want the old HomeServe back where people actually cared about one another.

    HR - Please don't reply with a generic statement welcoming us to contact the SVP to discuss. We all know it's window dressing and if you they ever find out who's complaining, they'll probably be fired too. I'm taking a risk writing this review, but I know that my job isn't safe just like we've seen with Ms. Deb. It's getting worse here with no end in sight.

    HomeServe USA Response

    Jul 20, 2018 – Director, People Communications & Engagement

    Thank you for your honesty. We do value feedback. It’s disappointing to know that we're falling short of your expectations. We’re fully committed to fostering a work environment that brings out the... More


Showing 161 of 166 reviews
Reset Filters