HomeTown Buffet Reviews | Glassdoor

HomeTown Buffet Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 55 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
Anthony Wedo
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Hometown was for the free food & now the employee have to pay for a meal yea rite(in 5 reviews)

  • "Can learn alot about buffet or restaurant business, any one can become a manager(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 5 reviews)

  • "You will work every holiday including Christmas without holiday pay(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "There's always something new to learn especially when it comes to those different personalities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dishwasher/Linserver in Hiram, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HomeTown Buffet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Definitely works around your schedule, will give as many hours as possible. Show up on time and work hard and you will definitely move up.

    Cons

    Can have those stressful days. Customers may be irritated, employees may wake up on the wrong side of the bed. Someone may break a dish. Its just all so stressful.

    Advice to Management

    Make food free for the employees, that does not include to go boxes or cups. Know when to put your foot down, don't let employees take advantage of you, but be lenient at the right times.

    HomeTown Buffet2018-01-17
  2. "Cleaned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dishwasher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HomeTown Buffet part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I do everything for work

    Cons

    I'm with someone for team

    HomeTown Buffet2019-07-27
  3. "Mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dishwasher in Fairfield, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HomeTown Buffet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule lots of work great staff

    Cons

    Low pay customers not friendly pretty hectic

    Advice to Management

    Make more room to grow benefits

    HomeTown Buffet2019-06-13
  4. "Mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Temecula, CA

    I worked at HomeTown Buffet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None at all huge mess

    Cons

    Absolute disaster of a place

    Advice to Management

    Close down as soon as possible

    HomeTown Buffet2019-04-29
  5. "Downhill path"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeTown Buffet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a job and they pay you.

    Cons

    Cooks, Line Servers and Cashiers are overworked. You are asked to stay but then written up for overtime. Management needs to be better managed - and less lazy. There is a true lack of communication. Customers are incredibly rude (unlike I have ever seen at other places) and equally disgusting.

    Advice to Management

    Organize yourselves better. Your employees shouldnt have to remind you for things that you are responsible for. The orientation process can use more streamlining as well...there was a real lack of training given. Skeleton crews have become that standard in the industry.

    HomeTown Buffet2018-12-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Server in Moreno Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HomeTown Buffet part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love the majority of my coworkers.

    Cons

    Unprofessional, No Benefits, Sanitary concerns

    Advice to Management

    Hire the right people that want to work, know when to let someone go. Don't gossip among your employees and other managers, and don't play favoritism. The manager never has the schedule out on time. Your hours get cut without warning, No benefits besides Discounted Shift Meals, No proper training(They seemingly don't have the patience, or experience themselves and/or are too busy to give you training due to lack of...

    Show More
    HomeTown Buffet2018-11-04
  7. "Carver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at HomeTown Buffet part-time

    Pros

    Pros: supportive and helpful co-workers, mostly nice guests, managers mostly competent

    Cons

    Cons: some managers treated those below them with unprovoked harshness and an authoritarian mindset, some guests were very difficult, had to work holidays, etc.

    HomeTown Buffet2018-09-16
  8. "food bar attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Loma Linda, CA

    I worked at HomeTown Buffet part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice coworkers and food discount is good.

    Cons

    They don't train correctly, I had to ask around what to do.

    HomeTown Buffet2018-07-14
  9. "Line work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HomeTown Buffet part-time

    Pros

    Being able to perform my job professional and helping the customer needs

    Cons

    Not getting enough hours for the week

    HomeTown Buffet2018-02-16
  10. "Great till they shut doors without notice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HomeTown Buffet full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work.

    Cons

    Corporate office offered no support to individual restaurants.

    Advice to Management

    Store manager was great to work for, the problem was from an unsupportive corporate level. If there were more updates to restaurant and equipment, the restaurant would have had more success.

    HomeTown Buffet2018-01-24
Found 55 reviews