Homebase Limited Cashier Reviews | Glassdoor

Homebase Limited Cashier Reviews

Updated 11 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
17%
Recommend to a Friend
Homebase Limited CEO Damian Mcgloughlin (no image)
Damian Mcgloughlin
0 Ratings
  1. "Relaxed work environment but with poor staff training and support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Newark on Trent, England

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    More diverse and less tedious than supermarket cashiering, most of staff were helpful, often a relaxed work environment.

    Cons

    Little in terms of support and training. Occasionally thrust into jobs with little training and little help offered by senior management. Stressful at times.

    Advice to Management

    A more thorough initial induction and support system would go a long way. Staff morale always seemed quite low.

    Homebase Limited2019-10-11
  2. "support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 

    I have been working at Homebase Limited part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good working environment, nice people

    Cons

    lack of support, unrealistic targets

    Homebase Limited2019-06-16
  3. "good first experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time

    Pros

    nice people to work for

    Cons

    Not enough profit made, closing store

    Homebase Limited2019-05-23
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Not a nice place to work at all, couldn't wait to leave, STRESSFUL."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some good colleagues. 20% discount.

    Cons

    Store a complete mess, people moaning at you constantly about at you about the chaos. Terrible management. No rules seemed to apply to them. They can spend all day on their phones but you get shouted at for looking at yours. The store had more managers than staff in the end, most of the staff under them quit. Never treated fairly and some people got all the benefits and others nothing, never seemed to reward... hard-working staff. Maybe when something changes it might be ok, but not for me, not a doormat. Just NO staff in the store, worried about my own safety a few times.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop being useless. Treat everybody with the same rules and fairly. Get some staff, they do come in handy. Stop employing terrible managers. Give employers some motivation and input, happy staff mean happy customers, it ain't rocket science.

    Homebase Limited2018-01-23
  5. "A good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cashier in Huntingdon, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible shifts - Good morale - Flexible work (to a degree)

    Cons

    - Manager fails to realise this is your first job, not your career - Work can be very boring - Customers can take anger out on you

    Advice to Management

    Provide more team-building exercises to the whole staff gets to know each other better.

    Homebase Limited2017-10-15
  6. "Alright but needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Harrow Weald, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Homebase Limited part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Meeting new people, Reasonable Pay, Flexible

    Cons

    Haven't received my discount card after 6 months work or a uniform(Had to buy my own). No progression

    Homebase Limited2017-05-17
  7. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cashier in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited

    Pros

    None None None None None

    Cons

    Boring Boring Management don't care Treated poorly

    Advice to Management

    Revisit everything

    Homebase Limited2017-04-02
  8. "I hate homebase"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier Assistant in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Your lured into a false sense of security that they have your back.

    Cons

    Giving more contracted hours to people who have only been with the company temporarily. Management are disgraceful.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff. Don't toy with them.

    Homebase Limited2016-11-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Cashier part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cashier in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited

    Pros

    The team is really pleasant and the working hours are good. There is room to carry out different tasks and move up to management.

    Cons

    The management is a bit unprofessional, and the training for the cashier role is watching a few videos and the workers are also occasionally unprofessional.

    Advice to Management

    A better pay incentive or progression within the company, or general recognition to employees would improve workers' morale and motivate them to work better.

    Homebase Limited2016-05-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Was okay, management weren't great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Aylesford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff on the shop floor were great and it was a great environment

    Cons

    Always felt like we weren't valued by the management, which was ridiculous as if it wasn't for us shop floor workers they wouldn't make any money

    Advice to Management

    Be nicer, and don't think you're above everyone

    Homebase Limited2014-06-26
Found 11 reviews