Homebase Limited Sales Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Homebase Limited Sales Assistant Reviews

Updated 25 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
59%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Homebase Limited CEO Damian Mcgloughlin (no image)
Damian Mcgloughlin
1 Ratings
  1. "Generally good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Stockport, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homebase Limited full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ownership of department and independence to run as desired within trading plans

    Cons

    Little to no progression Communication from management could do with improvement No summer uniforms so it is very sticky in hot weather due to all black uniform and aprons mandatory

    Advice to Management

    More clear communication would help in giving direction to staff - store manager doing a good job of keeping us up to date and providing some objectives

    Homebase Limited2019-07-25
  2. "Can be very very boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Homebase Limited part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good flexible hours Friendly colleagues Relaxed environment

    Cons

    Very unorganised, stressful environment, bad pay

    Homebase Limited2019-02-15
  3. "Homebase"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Selby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, lots of different jobs to do, training given on anything if you ask for it such as paint mixing and help desk, variety of different ages so its easy to get along with everyone, if you need over time its very easy to get, management very good when needing holidays or time off unless its during festival season or the Christmas period. Very concerned for their staff and helpful.

    Cons

    Very hard to get time off in August, however if you can cover the shift then it is usually okay but you need to arrange it yourself. Can be very busy during sunny days so would only wokr there if you can cope in busy/stressful times.

    Homebase Limited2018-08-08
  4. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Aberdeen, Scotland

    I have been working at Homebase Limited part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and good pay

    Cons

    Terrible at doing rotas so dont know when you're working the next week

    Advice to Management

    Plan rotas 2 weeks in advance

    Homebase Limited2017-12-01
  5. "Pleasant, easygoing atmosphere and flexible hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All staff members get a 20% discount in all Homebase stores and a 10% discount at Argos stores (the latter was put to far more use than the former). A big part of the motivation of the staff is to be happy and pleasant, to give customers an enjoyable experience which, while a bit draining can lead to an all-round pleasant atmosphere for everyone. Managers were flexible when assigning hours and could easily... reconfigure the timetable. Received training to operate the store's forklift and not only did I not have to pay to become licensed, I was even paid in full for the three days I was in training/testing. Paid 1.5x normal rate on Sundays, and 2x normal rate on bank holiday Monday's. Contract was 10hr+, meaning I could always be sure to get 10 hours a week but this was expanded as far as I was willing, so at my most leisurely time, I was working between 30-40 hours a week on what was supposedly a 10 hour contract.

    Show More

    Cons

    Lots of products that you're expected to have an intricate knowledge of (especially since I was working with the plants in the garden centre) with very little attention paid to training. All knowledge of horticulture had to basically be picked up from asking my colleagues for help. Didn't receive an actual uniform for months and was stuck wearing black Penney's clothes. Never received proper work boots as I was... supposed to, so I had to just buy a €20 pair from Lidl. The whole uniform ordering stuff apparently is an awful process that almost never works properly. I was given shifts throughout the weeks of my college exams, even forcing me to drive straight from an exam to work a 4-hour shift, even though I had another exam the following morning. This was after giving my manager considerable notice of the exam timetable in the hopes that she'd give me as few hours as possible.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to educating your new employees about the products, rather than general store etiquette. I was made complete an online course on OpenDoor that would supposedly educate me on how to do my job but it didn't give me any information about the horticultural stuff I was constantly being asked about in the garden centre. Because of this, all of my education was taken straight from Google searches,... assumptions from what I've intuited from reading the plant labels and queries to my colleagues (who were presumably doing the former two things to get their knowledge). Also this OpenDoor training bit was only ever mentioned months after me having been working there.

    Show More
    Homebase Limited2017-11-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Aylesbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Homebase Limited part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers are always friendly Flexible shift is a big bonus Pay could be a lot worse. Staff discount comes in handy at 20%

    Cons

    Horrendous management Messy store Poor organisation 0 communication within the store Boring and repetitive jobs Stressful to hit targets , especially having to deal with things that are not related to them.

    Advice to Management

    Staff needs proper training and more praise/recognition from hardworking staff. A look at how they manage hardly any support from management

    Homebase Limited2017-10-18
  7. "Target driven environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Assistant in Dunfermline, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited

    Pros

    Flexible hours suited for a student On-site training is excellent

    Cons

    Very target-driven environment Lack of overtime

    Advice to Management

    Distribute targets more evenly among floor staff

    Homebase Limited2017-06-19
  8. "Great if you're over 18, young workers are taken advantage of."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Replenishment Sales Assistant 

    I have been working at Homebase Limited part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Set shifts, I always work the same days and the same hours. Nearly always overtime available if you want it.

    Cons

    Loads of stock, always pressured to work as much stock as possible. £5.20/hr for under 18s compared to around £7.20+ for everybody else in the store, yet they expect and you do the same work. Stupid things that shouldn't happen, a pallet of 20 lawnmowers doesn't show up for delivery then customers are wondering why online it says we have 20.

    Advice to Management

    Try to treat your staff better, maybe random benefits for staff once in a while, or better wages for young workers.

    Homebase Limited2017-05-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Homebase Limited

    Pros

    Staff Discount, Friendly Colleagues, Easy Job,

    Cons

    Bad Management, Not Staff Friendly Care too much about making money than staff welfare

    Homebase Limited2016-10-16
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Went downhill fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Broadstairs, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homebase Limited full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Colleagues and money are just about the only thing worth staying there for its good for the first bit but then you notice the cracks

    Cons

    Poor management very two faced and clicky colleagues there is a one rule for them and do what your told policy

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff better

    Homebase Limited2016-02-25
Found 23 reviews