Homejoy Reviews

Updated Apr 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
45%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Homejoy CEO & Co-Founder Adora Cheung
Adora Cheung
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Unlimited PTO, fully stocked kitchen, health/vision/dental covered by the company(in 6 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule, great concept(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "They do not care one bit about the cleaners(in 19 reviews)

  • "Meanwhile if your average isn't up to par you can be suspended(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Experience

      Apr 7, 2021 - Co-Founder in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great environment to work at.

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great idea, bad management

      May 19, 2020 - Designer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Smart, caring people - Team that wanted to succeed

      Cons

      - No sense of an actual business model - Burned through cash like nobody's business

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Satisfaction guaranteed

      Jan 31, 2019 - House Cleaner in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Customer service is wonderful. Pay is great! Wonder company to grow with

      Cons

      Great pay, wonderful clients and atmosphere

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The best place for personal and professional growth

      Jan 12, 2014 - Mid-level Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company is going places ... If you work hard, you're going places ... If you work hard, your opinion is heard. I've never worked with so many intelligent and motivated people before. AND the diversity here has to be way above average, especially for a startup. CEO is probably the hardest working person ... pretty sure she doesn't sleep ... absolutely love her plans for the company ... very inspiring. BS is absolutely not tolerated. A few people have been let go which is sad sometimes but it's clearly for performance reasons. I was put on a performance review, which was initially scary but at the end of the day honestly fair. I'm glad I got a chance to redeem myself and now I'm moving on up! I genuinely believe that management has everyone's best interests at heart and want to see everyone improve. They just announced new amazing benefits!!

      Cons

      There were some growing pains a few months ago but management has taken some great steps to get over them. And regarding general complaints about the food, I actually really like all the options but I suppose if you don't serve a buffet of 50 options everyday, some people are bound to dislike it. Maybe they should get a better caterer. Sometimes I get annoyed at the drinks not being refrigerated fast enough. Yes, I'm spoiled.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company with tons of culture and growth!

      Jan 9, 2014 - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The managers at this company appreciate hard work and enthusiasm. Working at a start up is not easy, so having that go-getter attitude and open to change/trial-error, is a must! The CEO has a vision for the company that is beyond just making money. Creating a community for the cleaners, clients and workers at HQ is a goal that she and the rest of the Homejoy team is working hard to accomplish. The company is clearly going places and there's a lot of room for growth and like I mentioned before, having a positive attitude and open to all kinds of change, gets you noticed! Those who want to be heard and have their ideas implemented are never let down. A great space for learning other skills, wearing multiple hats and making new friends! Also, you get catered breakfast, lunch and dinner, fully stocked kitchen and workouts! (Can't complain about the quality of the food because, come on…it's FREE food!

      Cons

      Things are rapidly changing, people are moving up and around, so there can be mis-communication, but start-ups are like that in nature…that's what makes it stressful and fun. Everyone starts off as contractors, sucks for taxes, but after a few months you can be a full time employee with great benefits!

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Lack of leadership and transparency till the end...

      Sep 7, 2015 - Manager At HQ in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, fully covered medical/dental/vision, free lunch/dinner, good hardware, great people, some fun times.

      Cons

      Complete lack of leadership: One part of the business should not be fighting against another side due to conflicted direction. At no stage during mt year at Homejoy were all the teams on the same page due to lack of overall mission and approach. This haphazard guidance lead to poor choices at every turn. Lack of transparency: Employees never knew if the business was succeeding. We never knew what was around the corner or what the future would hold. Weekly all hands were useless. Nothing of value was ever shared. This continued until the end. The only reason employees knew anything about the failing of the company was due to a leaked article.Even this was handled poorly and led to 70% of the team leaving for other opportunities. If it was not for the article we would never have been told about acquisition. Out of control schedules: The culture at Homejoy revolved around work. There was never a balance. Employees regularly worked until 9pm and would be made to feel bad if they left earlier. It should also not be a shock when employees want to take a vacation. There should be plans for this and not a panic. The panic was due to the fact that no one knew what anyone else did, so there was never anyone to cover for vacationing employees.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Never Again

      Jul 12, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unlimited PTO, fully stocked kitchen, health/vision/dental covered by the company

      Cons

      Although the benefits are amazing, the management is just horrible. There is no transparency, no direction, and lack of authority. The company was run by really young and inexperienced individuals who basically drove the call center to the ground. I recent news, an article about an acquisition was leaked so the CEO had to address it. I am positive that if this article never leaked, no one would have informed the employees. There are many hardworking employees who's strong work ethic is overlooked and they look to hire outside help when the company is clearly going down the drain regardless of what they do at this point. Not to mention, the pay is degrading and they refuse to approve of overtime.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      GREAT CO GONE REALLY SHADY AND BAD- MANIPULATING AND DOWN RIGHT DIRTY SHADY PRACTICES. Ashamed I built their success.

      Jan 4, 2015 - Operations Manager in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They are good at making you feel valued, and not only implementing but also taking credit for your ideas. They have a great concept.

      Cons

      After going so corperate, they use, and abuse the talent that has given them the success. They call it partnering what that really menas is a legal way to not have to take care of the "talanted people " that work their butts off for them. they are shady, and will not give you the due respect of even honesty. The practices are that of big corperate at little college boy level manipulation. As a client or a partner BEWARE> I was there from way back and fought for a great bunch of people while HOMEJOY screwed them and me BADLEY! Horrible business. I look forward to it's just due. FAILURE. Shame on you ADORA!

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Very Fast Paced Start-up

      Jan 3, 2015 - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company Values -- the CEO has well-defied vision for Homejoy by conducting bi-weekly meeting with all the departments by improving not one group mind but company culture. Benefits -- Homejoy offers a daily catered lunches, fully stocked fridge and snack area, late office hours meal plans with Munchery and Seamless, commuting compensation pick of (Clipper, MUNI, Uber, and Lyft), along with health plans, 401K and paid time-off. Diversity -- Homejoy on boards individuals from different backgrounds and experiences, effectively marketing to clients and partnering cleaning professionals from different racial and ethnic backgrounds, women, and who are gay or transgender.

      Cons

      Open Office -- my position required phone screening and interviewing so at times it was loud in the office, everyone can hear a conversation about everything, lack a privacy assuming someone is looking at my monitor or you're looking at someone else's. Literally no control over the workspace all of my office environment needs are secondary to some idea of collaboration. Key Performance Indicator (KPI) -- meetings with upper management, there is no room for a bad week.

      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Unorganized, unclear management

      Apr 2, 2015 - Customer Service Representative in Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fully stocked break room, open overtime, open door policy with management.

      Cons

      Didn't schedule me for any lunches or breaks during my week of shadowing, the thought never even occurred to them. I was working 5-6 hours straight before I was offered a break. They also scheduled me to be the only one in the office to handle all phone calls, emails and texts on my second day there. What kind of management does that? Supervisors at headquarters would micromanage down to minor word choices that honestly didn't matter, then I would get talked to about it by 3 different leads, each with different instructions. Completely unclear in what they wanted, told you to just "use your best judgment" and then pick you apart over it. There just absolutely no protocol. The people at HQ would get mad at you for doing one thing, then all the other reps would tell you to ignore it and keep going with what you were doing based on their experience. Literally every rep had a different way of doing things and it just depended who was watching to see if you'd get in trouble for it. Quit after two weeks because management was such a mess.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 77 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Homejoy Job Seekers

    Cleaner
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Homejoy? Share Your Experiences

    Homejoy logo
    or