Homejoy Reviews | Glassdoor

Homejoy Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Homejoy CEO Adora Cheung
Adora Cheung
43 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They do not care one bit about the cleaners(in 19 reviews)

  • "Meanwhile if your average isn't up to par you can be suspended(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "They treated me well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Homejoy full-time

    Pros

    Amazing CEO They meant well Innovative product

    Cons

    The shut down a few months after

    Advice to Management

    Looking forward to the next one!

    Homejoy2018-06-19
  2. "Homeaglow is Unethical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Homejoy part-time

    Pros

    Have fun cleaning! Pleasant work for fun.

    Cons

    If you request your pay thru instapay they charge you 3.99 per payment. If you clean 3 houses & request your pay for all 3 the same day they charge you 11.99 of your money plus the $5 per hour per new client they already take as well. Plus you cannot talk to anyone in person its only thru text or email.

    Advice to Management

    Stop ripping employees & clients off to get rich.

    Homejoy2018-10-10
  3. "It was a fun ride"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Homejoy full-time

    Pros

    Learned a lot; got the real startup experience. There was so much to do and so little time, I always felt I was on the go. We ended up getting acquired by Google so got a pretty good job there.

    Cons

    Not much. There was some tension between some teams.

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for the ride

    Homejoy2017-08-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homejoy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great flexibility, positivity, fun, creativity, and freedom

    Cons

    there are no cons to list at this time

    Advice to Management

    they're great

    Homejoy2017-05-26
  5. "everything bad about this."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Homejoy

    Pros

    They promise you the stars and the moon. It is briefly elating.

    Cons

    Terrible variable hours, impossible to build a career out of, no training, terrible exploitative management.

    Advice to Management

    I'm glad this company went bankrupt. It deserved it.

    Homejoy2016-10-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Dont apply to this cleaning company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - House Cleaner 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Homejoy

      Pros

      Good pay for starting rate

      Cons

      After leaving, i heard company stop paying their employees

      Homejoy2016-09-22
    • "Amazing group of people, not so amazing at scaling the product."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Client Service Representative in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Homejoy full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      +Free Lunch, +Great Coworkers/Friends, sense of involvement from CEO, Monthly Meetings with CEO, Mandatory Cleaning Test (I thought this was very valuable to understand the product), Smart Bright Group of People.

      Cons

      Pay for Client Service Rep started at $15/hr, unattractive work hours (5am - East Coast Time, to reconcile for New York Customers) Disorganized, made poor decisions to allocate less $$ to Cilent Experiences and then it went downhill. Scaled too much to quickly without perfecting product.

      Advice to Management

      I truly enjoyed working with Adora and Aaron, I know they had great intentions and I would work for them again in a heartbeat. I'm sure they learned a lot from Homejoy and will take it to heart in the future.

      Homejoy2016-05-17
    • "Customer Service TL"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Homejoy

      Pros

      Good Benefits, relaxed atmosphere and alot of room to grow.

      Cons

      Major turn around, alot of hiring and layoffs

      Homejoy2016-02-03
    • "Culture Issues"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Operations Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Homejoy full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      some people were talented and interesting

      Cons

      leadership at every level was lacking and there was no one to coach it

      Advice to Management

      NA

      Homejoy2015-12-04
    • "Good experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Client Service Representative in Sacramento, CA
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Homejoy

      Pros

      I learn how to write professional emails. Learn how to work in a Call center setting. Free food in the kitchen (Organic). Great staff to work with. Managers go out of their way to work with you before letting you go. Great company concept!

      Cons

      Clients and cleaning professionals was always unhappy with the service. Always had to show empathy via phone, text message and email. Dealt with a lot of irate calls.

      Homejoy2015-09-24
    Found 75 reviews