Homeside Financial Reviews

Updated Apr 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Homeside Financial  Co-Founder and Managing Partner Michael Baynes
Michael Baynes
190 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The benefits package including 401k match could be a lot better(in 16 reviews)

  • "Training in the account Manager position could be improved but wasn't terrible(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Silver Spring, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a great place.

    Cons

    I have no complaints about this company.

    Continue reading
    Homeside Financial2020-04-05
  2. "Not alot of job growth but great culture."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 

    I worked at Homeside Financial full-time

    Pros

    The culture is very enthusiastic.

    Cons

    Not many possibilities for job growth.

    Continue reading
    Homeside Financial2019-05-15
  3. "Good place to get in the industry. Black hole for anyone else"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Loan Officer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homeside Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get leads provided to you. They are garbage. They used to be good until they changed the lead source, now it is absolute garbage. Also, Homeside tells its employees to post 5 star reviews on glassdoor... So if a company tells its employees to post 5 star reviews, chances are the company is not 5 stars

    Cons

    Commission Only job. Garbage leads combined with commission only equals awful pay. There is a draw, but you pay back the draw. Therefore this is a commission only job with garbage leads.

    Continue reading
    Homeside Financial2019-04-08

    Homeside Financial Response

    July 5, 2019HR Manager

    As mortgage rates change and new products become available we adjust our lead buying strategy to stay competitive. If a lead source isn't working as intended, it's recognized and changes are made. We ask employees to leave honest reviews on Glassdoor, so prospective employees can get a sense for what it's like working at Homeside. We appreciate all feedback and make continuous improvements to make Homeside a best place to work.

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Learning Experience"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homeside Financial full-time

    Pros

    Homeside was a fast-growing company boasting innovative technology and glossy offices. The entire C-Suite is sharp and charismatic, which powered their initial growth. Management is willing to help those who remain assertive. Compared to their more established peers, Homeside is a viable entry-level opportunity for an LO in search of a crash course in the basics. I’d recommend it to anyone looking to learn the rules of the game.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the culture is no different from other upstart lenders hoping to gain sizable market share in the bloated mortgage industry. Surely, this is why they are losing steam and closing many of the offices they opened in their infancy. Commonplace digital tactics are disguised as groundbreaking. They nonsensically justify the use of outdated platforms and processes and impart passive-aggressive sales tactics as game changing. If you're an established LO, Homeside is probably not the best fit. As a whole, Homeside lacks the ambition or follow-through to overtake their peers.

    Homeside Financial2019-01-29
  5. "flexible"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Processor 

    I worked at Homeside Financial full-time

    Pros

    flexible to work from office or home

    Cons

    management keeps changing, not enough coverage

    Homeside Financial2019-01-24
  6. "Chart your own path"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The harder you work, the more you can make. There’s really no limit outside of your desire to succeed

    Cons

    There is a stiff learning curve in this industry. It’s not for everyone

    Homeside Financial2018-11-06
  7. "Account Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Homeside Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment. They welcome feedback and make you feel like part of the team!

    Cons

    Be willing to work hard. Not a good place for the lazy.

    Homeside Financial2018-10-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome company!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Homeside Financial is by far the best company I have ever worked for. This is due to the fact the culture is impeccable, the management staff is awesome, and they provide you with a working environment surrounded by help and encouragement. The training involved with becoming a licenced loan officer at Homeside Financial is completely hands on and it prepares you for a full workload that you typically see in this position. I strongly encourage everyone to check them out!

    Cons

    The only thing that's a con for Homeside is the days involve long hours, and even work outside of the office from time to time, but it comes with the job. But, working outside of the office gives you an edge with securing deals, which could also be looked at as a pro.

    Continue reading
    Homeside Financial2018-09-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is the only job I have ever had where I actually enjoy going to work. The culture of the company is amazing. The people I work with aren't just my co-workers but my friends as well. Management has mastered he art of professionalism and fun. The personalized training for Loan Officers was also amazing. A lot of room for moving around the company. Within my first couple months I was already promoted to Loan Officer.

    Cons

    Account Manager role training's were sometimes not as quality as the Loan Officer training. Account manager role is tedious, but helps significantly when you are moved to an LO.

    Continue reading
    Homeside Financial2018-09-05
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great opportunity to grow as a mortgage professional"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work work/life balance is fantastic, you are not micromanaged so you can efficiently take care of your responsibilities during a normal workweek. Competitive pay! There are no gimmicks of a 50hr workweek and tiered commission structure. Lead source is great and pretty much unlimited. There will always opportunities to drive more business. This doesn’t mean you have to be sitting in your chair for 12hrs a day waiting for someone to call you from a 1-800 number. Ability to originate every mortgage product under the sun. You have the flexibility to explore what product is best for the client you are working with, you don’t have to jam them in a cookie cutter program that management brands. Transparency from management on what goals and expectations are from LO’s, branches, and company as a whole.

    Cons

    Current mortgage industry. Margins are shrinking and rates are going up. It'll be the survival of the fittest, on the other hand Homeside does everything they can so their Loan Officers can thrive

    Continue reading
    Homeside Financial2018-08-31
Found 305 reviews