Homeside Financial Senior Loan Officer Reviews | Glassdoor

Homeside Financial Senior Loan Officer Reviews

Updated Apr 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
89%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Homeside Financial  Co-Founder and Managing Partner Michael Baynes
Michael Baynes
16 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing atmosphere in the office Good work/life balance Free lunches

    Cons

    Compensation structure difficult to comprehend Changing work schedule to include mandatory Saturday shift isn't ideal

    Advice to Management

    Continue fostering growth from within, you guys are doing an excellent job of hiring qualified candidates here. Maintain the communication and exposure to upper-level management too, it's nice knowing that they truly care about an employee's comments/concerns. Keep doing team building exercises outside of the office, it's a great way to learn more about others here at Homeside. Consider restructuring the compensation format.

    Show More
    Homeside Financial2018-05-22
  2. "Good place to get in the industry. Black hole for anyone else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Loan Officer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homeside Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get leads provided to you. They are garbage. They used to be good until they changed the lead source, now it is absolute garbage. Also, Homeside tells its employees to post 5 star reviews on glassdoor... So if a company tells its employees to post 5 star reviews, chances are the company is not 5 stars

    Cons

    Commission Only job. Garbage leads combined with commission only equals awful pay. There is a draw, but you pay back the draw. Therefore this is a commission only job with garbage leads.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Homeside Financial2019-04-08
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Sr Loan Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have found hat Homeside has a very well defined advancement path. The employees and management are incredibly knowledgeable about the industry. Management is always willing to step in and help at the drop of a dime. The company is also very innovative in what they do in the industry and promote an upbeat culture. Overall a great company and group of people. Can't see myself anywhere else at the moment.

    Cons

    Health benefits and 401k are not very good. Company is growing at a really fast pace and it is effecting management's ability to be hands on.

    Advice to Management

    Delegate more duties to other people to free up time for management themselves

    Homeside Financial2017-05-19
  4. Helpful (3)

    "GO Homeside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Mortgage Loan Officer in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Homeside is unlike any other mortgage company I have ever worked at. - Everyone is eager and willing to help the person next to them. - Wonderful hands on training - Work/Life balance (goodbye 60+ hour mandatory work weeks) - Great compensation plan that is simple and straight forward - Managers that actually help you and care how you are doing, but who don't micromanage/breath down your neck.

    Cons

    The only thing i dislike is my commute to work. Wish the office was in the city.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Homeside Financial2017-05-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "My "Forever" Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Where do I start? The people I work with have become family to me via all the Happy hours, events, celebrations, successes, etc. we have shared together. I cannot speak enough about how much this company cares for and empowers their employees.

    Cons

    None at all, but if I ever did have a Con, I am sure it would be handled quickly and effectively.

    Advice to Management

    Keep keeping your employees first and they will serve you well and for a long time.

    Homeside Financial2016-12-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Loan Officer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial

    Pros

    A great group of people as support to help me close loans. The Team always goes the extra mile to do everything within guidelines to help people meet their dreams of home ownership.

    Cons

    None I can think of at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Homeside Financial2016-10-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Loan Officer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial

    Pros

    Good people, salt of the earth, knows how to close loans on time. Processors are awesome, loan coordinators are awesome, you can actually talk to your underwriters. Branch Team is great!

    Cons

    None that I can think of at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Need more Niche products, LO's that live more than an hour away from branch conference them in on meeting. Don't ask them to drive.

    Homeside Financial2016-10-14
  8. Helpful (4)

    "I LOVE HOMESIDE!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Loan Officer in Athens, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial for less than a year

    Pros

    This is the 3rd mortgage lender I've worked for in the last 4 years(one due to stop lending in my state) and I think I have found my home. From the top to the bottom everyone understands the importance of getting the job done and on time. That helps us protect our own personal reputation with our referral partners as well as the company' brand. They are forward thinking and trying to do business the way it should be done. Rather than giving reasons why something won't work, can't be done, or business as usual, they are open to suggestions and always trying to improve. They certainly aren't perfect, BUT how they react to a mistake or an unforeseen issue is a big reason that separates them from other companies. They are quick to correct or adjust rather than try and point blame, stall and risk a delayed closing. I've even gotten IT to correct a docusign issue (borrower's fault) at 11:30 at night on a Closing Disclosure that had to be signed by midnight to ensure that we met the closing date. Trust me, that doesn't happen at other companies! With there growth there are also plenty of opportunities for advancement. My previous employers were pretty good, but just not as good as Homeside!!

    Show More

    Cons

    Haven't really seen any real cons that are any different than any other company. However, I think it would make a big difference to appraiser accountability if they had there own appraisal desk rather than using AMC's. That way the appraiser's would be more accountable to us rather than the AMC, which seems to not exist in some cases, but the issues are not very often. It would also be nice to a have a few more niche products.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to grow at a sustainable pace and don't let the sales force outgrown the field. Provide some more products like OTC/Construction to Perm and Doctor Loans just to name a few.

    Homeside Financial2016-07-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Loan Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Vibrant Office Atmosphere, great energy, young energized staff and management team.

    Cons

    Young company so there are a few growing pains, but nothing major

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be enthusiastic and care about new employees as well as the veterans

    Homeside Financial2016-07-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Best Atmosphere in the Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Loan Officer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great work atmosphere and company support -Very competitive pay structure -Provided with great leads daily -Quick turn times on loan closings

    Cons

    -I have not come across and negatives yet

    Homeside Financial2016-07-06
Found 27 reviews