Homeside Financial Senior Loan Officer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Senior Loan Officer

Homeside Financial Senior Loan Officer Reviews

Updated Apr 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
89%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Homeside Financial  Co-Founder and Managing Partner Michael Baynes
Michael Baynes
16 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Loan Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Loan Officer in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial

    Pros

    Great place to work. Very good processes in place to expedite files. I can work faster than I ever have and am going to be more successful than I have ever been here. I was testing the waters at first, and they are really streamlined in their processing and file timelines; not easy thing to do, these days.

    Cons

    There could be more in the way of marketing support, but nothing else really. Just trying to do the word count

    Continue reading
    Homeside Financial2016-06-29

    Homeside Financial Response

    June 30, 2016

    Thank you so much for your review. We are certainly working on expanding our Marketing team and fully understand the importance of continued growth in that area for your success! We are glad you are enjoying working at Homeside!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Loan Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work culture is unlike any other company. Everyone has a good attitude going to work each day. furthermore, the company hosts fun events and bonding events outside of the office.

    Cons

    Stating off in a call center is not something most people want to do. That being said, Homeside makes this position enjoyable and leads to good opportunity int he near future!

    Homeside Financial2016-06-14

    Homeside Financial Response

    June 29, 2016

    Thank you! We truly hope we make the experience a pleasant and enjoyable opportunity for all - thank you for your review!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, better people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time

    Pros

    I've had an to opportunity to be a part of this company from its earliest stage and watch it grow & develop into what it is now. Since Day 1 the management made it a point to train and develop its employees, no matter if you were a summer intern or a full time employee. Being a newer loan officer, there are growing pains that come standard with this type of role. In my lean months was when management was most supportive and went out of their way to accommodate my needs in order to get back on track. The negative reviews are correct in saying that there are expectations and pressures that come a long with this job. This is typical with any sales role, especially in an a very competitive industry such as this. The job is not for everyone, but it allows you to get outside your comfort zone and discover skills within yourself that you never knew you had. The "sweatshop" con is wildly incorrect, as loan officers are only required to be in the office for 38 hours a week. While encouraged to provide a high level of customer satisfaction, working nights and weekends is an employee's own free will and something most motivated workers will want to do anyhow. In short, you get out of it what you put in in regards to compensation. I've seen managers fore sake their own compensation and time in favor of helping the people that work under them. This is rare in today's workforce and a main reason I have not seriously pursued any offers outside of Homeside. To me, this is what sets this company apart from the rest and makes me feel like I am more than just a source of revenue.

    Cons

    401k match could be better. This is something I expect to improve as the company continues to grow.

    Continue reading
    Homeside Financial2016-02-22

    Homeside Financial Response

    February 22, 2016SVP, National Director of Talent Acquisition & Strategic Growth

    Thank you for the review. Your feedback is instrumental in demonstrating the culture of our company.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Loan Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Upbeat atmosphere with modern surroundings and pleasant, soothing colors. Wants to be known as the "Modern Lender." Very little underwriting review and loans are always approved in about a half hour. Like the subprime market.

    Cons

    TERRIBLE benefits, very low 401k match (a fraction). Health insurance is very high. Only 2 weeks vacation if you're fortunate enough to get any time off. Management creates too much of a competitive environment for constant sales. The atmosphere creates hostility among coworkers and increases the probability of high risk loans due to mgmt's constant demand for sales or the threat of termination. It's really a 24/7 sweatshop. I was swayed into this place with false claims of it being "A Best Place to Work." This is the result of Mgmt and a false claim.

    Continue reading
    Homeside Financial2016-02-20

    Homeside Financial Response

    February 22, 2016SVP, National Director of Talent Acquisition & Strategic Growth

    As always, I thank you for the feedback. While it is disappointing to see negative comments from a current employee, I do thank you for taking the time to share your personal feelings. I did want to take the time to respond to a few points you made: With regards to benefits, we just made the switch to a new insurance provider that will enhance the medical coverage in many ways, while reducing the cost for most team members by 25-50%. Secondly. while all employees start with 2 weeks vacation during one's first year, employees do earn extra vacation time the longer their tenure with Homeside. With respect to your feelings, your comments on our culture and sales environment sadden me. I think most employees would disagree with your feelings, as evidenced by over 100 positive reviews listed below. That said your feelings need to be addressed in a positive manner so that we may change the way you experience Homeside. Please know that we have an open door policy for our executive leadership team. All team members are welcome to discuss specific instances where culture could be improved confidentially. Finally, with regards to false claims of being "a top place to work", Homeside has won "a best place to work" award in 2 markets (Columbus, OH & Washington, D.C.) thanks to feedback and independent surveys from our employees. Again, thank you for your comments. We will use them to continue to enhance our corporate culture and employee offerings. I assure you that your success and the success of your teammates is most important to our leadership.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Love This Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The management here is fantastic, there is an upbeat culture, and for a sales environment there is no stress or pressure. At a lot of places I have worked management is breathing down your neck constantly about production. They are obviously still concerned with your production here but they don't tell you to produce or your fired. Instead, they ask how they can help you. The bosses don't just supervise, they are right next to you working hard. There is a real team atmosphere here and everyone wants you to succeed. Everyday I wake up excited to come into the office and help this company grow. Work/Life balance is huge here as well. You get out early on Fridays and you are never asked to work weekends.

    Cons

    The pay is commission only after a couple of months so there is no base salary if you are in sales but the commission rate is very generous. The gym in the building is terrible.

    Homeside Financial2015-11-13

    Homeside Financial Response

    November 18, 2015SVP, National Director of Talent Acquisition & Strategic Growth

    Thank you for your review. We will be sure to pass along your comments about the building gym.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great Experience So Far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a FUN company to work for! I work in the Columbus, OH office but it has a Silicon Valley startup feel to it. Its a fast paced environment and you can feel the buzz in the air daily. I'm excited to come to work every day and even more excited to see where working here can lead as far as my career. Some other things I like about the company is the level of professionalism exhibited from the top down and how welcoming and friendly everyone has been. There seems to be a real sense of teamwork and "we are all in this together" culture. The management has been very supportive and the training is great. The leads are excellent and their relationships with local realtors is great. The operational support staff has been great to! Overall, I couldn't ask for a better experience with a new employer.

    Cons

    Office is a little to packed with people and cubicles. We need more space to grow but I have heard that is in the works. Because its so packed the work environment gets loud. Benefits are just OK. Health insurance is UHC and which I don't really like and its a little pricey if you have a family.

    Continue reading
    Homeside Financial2015-11-12

    Homeside Financial Response

    November 18, 2015SVP, National Director of Talent Acquisition & Strategic Growth

    This is great feedback for management. We absolutely are looking for more ways to give back to our team, so these are great suggestions. I promise you that as the company grows, so will your benefits!

    Continue reading
  7. "Homeside Financial"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time

    Pros

    Homeside is a family and team oriented environment. Great energy and positive attitudes from all employees. Everyone is easily approachable and willing to help others. The process and set up is unbelievable and is built for everyone to succeed. This is refreshing. Having come from past companies in the Mortgage industry that are not as well structured as Homeside, work is Fun again!!!

    Cons

    Every company has some cons- but Homesides cons are so small and minor.

    Continue reading
    Homeside Financial2015-09-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Simply the Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Among all of the mortgage lenders I have worked at, Homeside is hands down positioned the best for both short and long term success. It's no surprise that Homeside is among the top-rated companies to work for in the nation and this is because the company leadership genuinely values each and every employee, which is reflected by the positive attitude and high energy that is seen in the office everyday. Homeside also thrives by offering a wide range of mortgage loan products including cutting-edge options not seen anywhere else which provide a tremendous competitive advantage. The unique blend of intelligent, visionary leadership, focus on both customer and employee satisfaction, and unprecedented product diversity, make Homeside THE place to be in the mortgage industry.

    Cons

    While overall the benefits are excellent for a company of this size (especially the health benefits which cost half of what I had at larger companies), the 401k plan has room for improvement and it would be great to see a 100% employer match option.

    Continue reading
    Homeside Financial2015-08-27

    Homeside Financial Response

    December 1, 2015SVP, National Director of Talent Acquisition & Strategic Growth

    Thank you for the feedback. We continue to listen to the needs of our team members and have some exciting enhancements to our employee benefits coming in 2016!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Homeside review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Loan Officer in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to be associated with and excellent support staff, IT, and management. Marketing system is awesome and always providing new ideas. I enjoy the professionalism of all the employees. Lots of experienced processors who take their job seriously.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons with the exception that underwriters seem to be a little too conservative and over-document in some cases.

    Continue reading
    Homeside Financial2015-08-04
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Company I am proud to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I work in the loan officer position. Leads and compensation are better than other companies I have worked for. I enjoy coming to work every day and I am impressed with the level of professionalism that this company maintains from the top down. It seems that culture and employee satisfaction is something they focus on, we have contests, company outings, and office parties at least once a month. I have also noticed that they value employee input, they have "committees" that the LO's are invited to apply to be on. I recently applied to join the culture committee, and have enjoyed knowing that I am having a direct impact on the future culture of the company. The company also have a good work/life balance, I only work around 40 hours a week with no weekends (which is very good considering the income potential is six figures and most comparable sales jobs are 50+ hours a week) This is a young company which at first I viewed as a possible negative but it turns out being a part of a newer growing company is very fulfilling and fun. Not to sound cliché, but I feel like the sky is really the limit here.

    Cons

    The benefits package is OK, could be better (I'm told this should improve as we grow). The job can be fast paced and even stressful at times, you have to be business minded and mentally tough to do this so its not for everyone (I enjoy the fast pace and stress so its not really a "con" for me). The sales floor is getting really loud as we grow which can be kind of distracting when trying to focus on your job.

    Continue reading
    Homeside Financial2015-02-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 27 reviews