Homeside Financial "mortgage industry" Reviews | Glassdoor

Homeside Financial Employee Reviews about "mortgage industry"

Updated Jan 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Homeside Financial CEO Michael Baynes
Michael Baynes
194 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Training in the account Manager position could be improved but wasn't terrible(in 16 reviews)

  • "The benefits package including 401k match could be a lot better(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "mortgage industry"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great opportunity to grow as a mortgage professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work work/life balance is fantastic, you are not micromanaged so you can efficiently take care of your responsibilities during a normal workweek. Competitive pay! There are no gimmicks of a 50hr workweek and tiered commission structure. Lead source is great and pretty much unlimited. There will always opportunities to drive more business. This doesn’t mean you have to be sitting in your chair for 12hrs a day waiting for someone to call you from a 1-800 number. Ability to originate every mortgage product under the sun. You have the flexibility to explore what product is best for the client you are working with, you don’t have to jam them in a cookie cutter program that management brands. Transparency from management on what goals and expectations are from LO’s, branches, and company as a whole.

    Cons

    Current mortgage industry. Margins are shrinking and rates are going up. It'll be the survival of the fittest, on the other hand Homeside does everything they can so their Loan Officers can thrive

    Continue reading
    Homeside Financial2018-08-31
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Homeside Financial full-time

    Pros

    Homeside was a fast-growing company boasting innovative technology and glossy offices. The entire C-Suite is sharp and charismatic, which powered their initial growth. Management is willing to help those who remain assertive. Compared to their more established peers, Homeside is a viable entry-level opportunity for an LO in search of a crash course in the basics. I’d recommend it to anyone looking to learn the rules of the game.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the culture is no different from other upstart lenders hoping to gain sizable market share in the bloated mortgage industry. Surely, this is why they are losing steam and closing many of the offices they opened in their infancy. Commonplace digital tactics are disguised as groundbreaking. They nonsensically justify the use of outdated platforms and processes and impart passive-aggressive sales tactics as game changing. If you're an established LO, Homeside is probably not the best fit. As a whole, Homeside lacks the ambition or follow-through to overtake their peers.

    Homeside Financial2019-01-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Loan Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I never thought I would wind up working in the mortgage industry, but working at Homeside has proven to be a fantastic experience. The work is challenging and engaging, allowing you to constantly improve and perfect the craft without becoming dull or boring. There is always more to learn and management is there to help you in any way they can.

    Cons

    The elevators are very slow.

    Continue reading
    Homeside Financial2017-11-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Loan Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in New Albany, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Young company that has a lot of fun! Has great training and mentoring programs that allow you to grow in the mortgage industry. Ethical company and does the best for its employees

    Cons

    No major cons outstanding currently

    Homeside Financial2017-10-04

    Homeside Financial Response

    October 16, 2017HR Generalist

    Thank you for your review! We're glad you're having fun at Homeside!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to start your career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing company culture. - Great training helps you get up to speed quick in the mortgage industry. - Progressive management team who are always willing to listen to new ideas and implement new practices if they benefit the employees and our clients. - Growing like crazy, the opportunity to grow within the company is great. - Homeside does a great job of providing you with all the tools you need to succeed.

    Cons

    - Long hours. - If you want to be successful you need to be willing to put in time outside of the office.

    Continue reading
    Homeside Financial2017-08-22

    Homeside Financial Response

    August 23, 2017HR Generalist

    Thanks for the review! We are glad you are starting your career at Homeside!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "There's a reason Homeside won best place to work 2 years in a row!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time

    Pros

    Homeside has a culture that I brag about to my friends and family. It is unlike any other - hardworking, young, and exciting. Homeside also has a PATH program that is a great way for employees to create career goals and achieve them at Homeside. It is a place to be proud to work at! The mortgage industry is competitive and face paced, but my coworkers and this company as a whole make coming in to work worth it every single day.

    Cons

    The starting pay for account managers is very low and loan officer's pay is solely commission based which makes the job even more stressful.

    Continue reading
    Homeside Financial2017-02-07

    Homeside Financial Response

    February 8, 2017

    Thank you for your review! We appreciate the detailed response!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Business review of company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Branch Manager in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial

    Pros

    Lot's of support. Friendly people work here. Everyone cares. Great products. Great service. People are on the cutting edge of the mortgage industry.

    Cons

    Not many cons to speak about other than we are so new in the business people do not know us. Sometimes I wish we would spend more money to acquire great sales people.

    Continue reading
    Homeside Financial2016-12-15

    Homeside Financial Response

    February 16, 2017

    Thank you for your review!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Homeside = Happiness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lending Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time

    Pros

    This is my first venture into the mortgage industry, and I could not be happier. Homeside strives to make the mortgage process as smooth as possible for borrowers and employees. There is a culture of excellence that makes you better with every passing day.

    Cons

    The 401(k) leaves much to be desired.

    Homeside Financial2016-10-14

    Homeside Financial Response

    October 27, 2016

    Homeside = Happiness!! We love it!! & improvements will continue to be made to our 401k program!

    Continue reading
  9. "A Family!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Documents Specialist in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Having worked for this company for 2 years, and being in the mortgage industry for 10, I can proudly say that it is one of the most supportive and enjoyable companies I have ever worked for. They strive to better their training to offer new employees needed to help their career thrive. Not only do they provide full training and support, each new hire is supplied with a mentor within the company to always have access to support they are in need of. Being a mother of 2, I have never been questioned when needing to take time to tend to my ill children. In fact, the amount of concern is honestly incredible. I can say with full confidence that I am a lifetime employee to this incredible family that we have here. Whether you work in OH, NC, FL, you will make life long friends and a tremendous support system from states away.

    Cons

    In my honest experience, I cannot say anything negative. If there ever was an area that Homeside needed improvement, they reach out to all employees for suggestions and advice and create a solution.

    Homeside Financial2016-10-14

    Homeside Financial Response

    October 27, 2016

    Thank you so much for the awesome & thorough review of Homeside! We are so glad you're having an amazing experience here! Keep up the great work in Durham!

    Continue reading
  10. "Perfect Effort, The Only Thing Within Our Control"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Manager, Vice President in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homeside Financial

    Pros

    First off, since moving my production as a loan officer has increased over 200% from my old company. If you're looking to grow as a producing loan officer, you can do it here. Also, I'm PROUD of the company I work WITH (I emphasize with and not for), and not everyone in this industry can easily say that. Homeside has far and away, without question, the best attitude and expectation for every loan that comes in the door. This is the mortgage industry, and if you've worked in the industry for more than a week you know that there is no shortage of last minute surprises that lurk around any corner of any deal. No company can change that completely, but what Homeside does so well that few other companies do is maintain an attitude of "how can we make this work and close on time" regardless of circumstances. The only thing that we can control ourselves and at our companies is our actions and our attitudes, and in both of those categories Homeside is absolutely exemplary. Dan Stitch in particular is a world class operations manager and is to credit for much of the success that outside loan officers achieve. I feel more than confident that any loan that I bring in with a qualified borrower is going to close early or on time, every single time. A few stories that illustrate that commitment despite circumstance are below: A) We had a loan set to close on Friday with the CD signed, and found out Wednesday morning that a second appraisal would be required. We had the appraisal ordered, completed, and report turned in within 21 hours, and the loan closed on time. Total time for that loan was 11 business days from application to CTC. B) Had a self employed borrower that couldn't get around reserve requirements for a 30 year fixed product, but we were able to use our Andrews Credit Union products to get him closed. Bottom line, my family, my Realtors, and I, could no be happier that I made the move to Homeside.

    Cons

    Training for new loan officers could be more robust, and specifically I'd like to see that include having a loan officer work through a dozen or so dummy files all the way through Velocify, Encompass, maybe even All Regs to find a work around loan program that the borrower will qualify for. Technology in the field could be of a little higher quality, but given the choice between that and our pricing, flexibility within our budgets for marketing, and other things that are prioritized within our budget I'm satisfied with that aspect.

    Continue reading
    Homeside Financial2016-10-10

    Homeside Financial Response

    October 27, 2016

    Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write us such a thorough review. We really appreciate the details and most importantly the illustrative examples you provided of your experience. Love the advice and blending "technology with a handshake" is certainly our vision & goal!

    Continue reading
Found 25 reviews