Honeywell "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Honeywell Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Honeywell CEO Darius Adamczyk
Darius Adamczyk
1,931 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Slow progress with a Work/Life Balance(in 314 reviews)

  • "There are typically travel bans every year and furloughs even though the company is making profits(in 174 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Honeywell for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team and work environment

    Cons

    Not any pressing negative elements.

    Honeywell2019-12-06
  2. "Good People, Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineering Co-Op 

    I have been working at Honeywell full-time

    Pros

    Good work environment Friendly people Flexible hours

    Cons

    Not super engaging Wish I was given more tasks

    Honeywell2019-11-19
  3. "Network Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Network Engineer in Plano, TX

    I have been working at Honeywell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment to learn

    Cons

    Small working environment for improvement

    Honeywell2019-11-10
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Incompetence Burrito Supreme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Deer Valley, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Honeywell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Big Company Opportunities to work in many areas

    Cons

    Limited capability of Engineers (where I worked) - unimaginative, and in many cases fundamentally incompetant Antiquated systems. Siloing of information by engineers to keep job security Chaotic work environment Expect engineers to work 5-10% extra off the clock and come in some days to work for free (never seen that at any other company) Too much tenure of employees. Many been at company 20+ years. Take actions... in engineering to stay employed that pass the buck and do not solve issues properly Daily Tier meetings that waste an hour of everyone's time - could do 2-3 days a week Avg pay, avg benefits.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your Aerospace division from the inside is a mess where I was. I'm relieved I'm not a part of it anymore although I am still grateful for the initial opportunity.

    Honeywell2019-10-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Contractor to New Hire Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Planner II - Materials in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Honeywell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Honeywell is a good company to help you grow and learn. It forces you out of your comfort zone. Also, the pay makes it worth it.

    Cons

    There’s a lack of formal training and compassion from leadership. People struggle to fit in and find their place. There’s definitely a learning curve. It’s also an extremely aggressive and stressful work environment. Employees are expected to work at least some weekends without overtime. There’s been a decrease in paid holidays in some departments.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more guidance and be more patient, particularly with new hires. It’s a very big job to get into, and management has extremely high expectations from the get go.

    Honeywell2019-10-12
  6. "Honeywell Building Solutions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fire Alarm and Security Design Engineer in Englewood, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Honeywell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Comfortable work environment team atmosphere.

    Cons

    Commuting to work for time being.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Honeywell2019-10-07
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Manager in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Honeywell full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits and Salary as well as a great work environment

    Cons

    None, This company is an outstanding company to work for.

    Honeywell2019-09-26
  8. "Full-time Employee and loving it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Quality Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Honeywell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and mangers that care about there employee's.

    Cons

    Need more of a robust training program

    Honeywell2019-09-23
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Human Resources Generalist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Honeywell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and work environment

    Cons

    Office is still in the process of being set up.

    Honeywell2019-09-17
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Avoid the Software Center at All Costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior DevOps Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Honeywell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I'm really struggling to find any. I would have said my teammates and direct report, but they're mostly gone now.

    Cons

    Horrible inter-office politics. Worst health insurance in the world. Completely disfunctional development environment with no room to innovate or make decisions affecting your work environment. Microsoft shop (heavy Azure). Clueless leadership who don't understand software development. Values social issues and progressivism over working products. HR and hiring are a nightmare. People are promoted and rewarded for... behavior that would be considered fireable elsewhere. Company promotes competition between its own business units in a way that creates a toxic atmosphere instead of healthy competition. Security and Ops stuck in an old school mindset that is counterproductive to actual network security, stifles innovation, and are combative towards development teams. No input or control for developers over tools and software they have to use and support on a daily basis. Bureaucracy everywhere. SAFe agile. Poor work-life balance. Other offices in the company are run-down, sad, and possibly unsafe with mold and asbestos.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Rethink your entire strategy. Your initiative for a '5 star developer experience' is my definition of a no-star experience. Address the problem with inter-office politics. Stop focusing on pandering to millenials with social initiatives and forced, fake, culture and office upgrades that don't work, and instead focus on enabling developers, DevOps, and QA to do their jobs. Allow developers input into technologies and... tools rather than forcing them into a standardized set dictated by people who don't use them. Stop rewarding people for bad behavior. Fix up offices outside of Atlanta because the others I've seen are inhumane.

    Show More
    Honeywell2019-10-13
Found 494 reviews