Hoosier Tire Reviews | Glassdoor

Hoosier Tire Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Hoosier Tire CEO Bob Newton (no image)
Bob Newton
5 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Lakeville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hoosier Tire full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Exciting field of work. Family environment competing against corporate giants.Good benefits package including incentive bonus. Repution leader in the racing industry.Very friendly and family work environment. Area is a great place to raise a family. Many jobs offer extensive travel opprtunities.

    Cons

    What makes it great also is a detraction... family business. Production jobs have limited career paths.

    Advice to Management

    Keep family poitics out of workplace.

    Hoosier Tire2013-07-25
  2. "Project Manager/Design Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in South Bend, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hoosier Tire full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This is a great company to work for, they really let you create and explore ways to make better products.

    Cons

    Company is in the middle of restructuring and is going through some growing pains.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Hoosier Tire2018-08-22
  3. "Upper Management doesn’t allow us to speak for the company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Press Operator in Plymouth, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hoosier Tire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, great benefits. Top pay at 1 and a half years, but little room to grow. Also, get 3 sets of tires at 50% off every year.

    Cons

    Press Room is extremely hot, ventilation is bad so you breathe in a lot of harmful toxins even with a respirator. It can be very stressful. Overall, $20 an hour just is not enough for what you have to do.

    Advice to Management

    Take our advice, we are the ones out there busting our butts every day and probably know more about what needs to be done that you do.

    Hoosier Tire2018-05-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Press operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Press Operator in Plymouth, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hoosier Tire full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There is nothing good about this company. I had no choice to work here because I honestly just needed the job and couldn't support a pay cut.

    Cons

    Fear-mongering, upper management will bully production crews or even threaten them., Micromanagement, the list goes on.

    Advice to Management

    I wouldn't help them if I could.

    Hoosier Tire2018-01-29
  5. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Mentone, IN

    I have been working at Hoosier Tire for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stability, Good Benefits, Decent Pay

    Cons

    Not much room for advancement Leadership lacks accountability

    Hoosier Tire2016-05-09
  6. "Machine operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator in Valparaiso, IN
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hoosier Tire full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots of overtime, some advancement opportunity

    Cons

    Lots of overtime, treated like they were doing you a favor by employing you, not treated as an asset

    Hoosier Tire2015-08-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "What you;d expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hoosier Tire full-time

    Pros

    Good Pay, overtime, can get away with saying racial and homophobic slurs at most times.

    Cons

    Run by a family that keeps most of the profits. Racist/homphobic employess are never punished. Typical stuff you'd expect from the always classy racing industry

    Advice to Management

    jump in front of a speeding racecar.

    Hoosier Tire2015-06-22
  8. "Never again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Press Operstor in Plymouth, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hoosier Tire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only good things were the pay, bonus days. Everything else was taken away.

    Cons

    The management would drive you crazy on a daily basis. You would stay stressed out your entire shift. Not worth the headache.

    Advice to Management

    Get new floor supervision.

    Hoosier Tire2015-04-03
  9. "Not the greatest place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Banbuilder in Plymouth, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hoosier Tire full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fairly clean plant. A/C that kind of works. Overtime almost always available. Sometimes forced when you dont want it.

    Cons

    Junk equipment. Hourly employees are treated like children. Company gives you a 45 cent raise and they think they changed your life. Younger ladies are given special treatment. Many stupid rules that only apply to certain people. Many coworkers cannot be trusted. Entire families woking in management positions. Look at them the wrong way your a target for life.

    Advice to Management

    Stop giving special treatment to certain people and everyone else like children. Enviroment does not need to be as stressful as it is. Everyday is a struggle.

    Hoosier Tire2014-10-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Bandbuilder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Band Builder in Plymouth, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hoosier Tire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Factory work, very good pay. Worked in a/c. Overtime was sometimes available, great benefits.

    Cons

    Factory Work, repetive-ness. Little room for growth.

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Hoosier Tire2012-06-05
Found 10 reviews