KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Hootsuite

Engaged Employer

Hootsuite

Add a Review

Hootsuite Employee Reviews about "manager"

Updated Aug 10, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 606 reviews

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Hootsuite CEO Tom Keiser
Tom Keiser
95 Ratings

What people are saying about Hootsuite

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "low pay and nearly impossible lateral/upward movement.(in 30 reviews)
  • "Poor management: Too much focus on the task and not the individuals(in 28 reviews)
  • "Low Salary, Lack of Promotion, Unless you're in Sales(in 22 reviews)
  • "Lack of leadership and accountability in(in 20 reviews)
  • "many managers promoted to positions they are not qualified for and are not removed when their lack of qualifications has negative consequences(in 12 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Hootsuite and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "manager"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Product Marketing position

    Mar 4, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Supportive Management - My manager at the time was very supportive and helped me develop my career. He provided guidance while also encouraging autonomy Great networking opportunity - I established great connections while working at Hootsuite, which led to other career opportunities afterwards In-office perks - Free snacks, cool office design, stand-up desks, and you can even bring your dog to work

    Cons

    Pay/Salary - Was below industry standard. That's my only major complaint.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Underwhelmed

    Oct 19, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great brand. Some really great people who are talented and passionate about what they do. Cool offices & perks at HQ.

    Cons

    1 manager for every 5 people = serious bloat. Hired too many people too quickly without communicating any plan to unify teams. Massive politics and infighting are bringing down the culture. The long-term vision is still unclear. Trying to serve too many markets at once and falling behind as a result.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Vancover has better options

    Nov 12, 2020 - Technical Lead in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Smart engineers that genienly care about each other's success - Strong, progressive culture at the lower ranks (manager and below) - Collaborative work environment in most development and operation teams - New CEO might turn things around?

    Cons

    - Work culture and work-life balance depends a lot on the team you're in - Conservative and homogenous culture at the higher ranks (directors and above) - No diversity at all (directors and above) - Women and people of color make less than white males doing the same job (as assessed by a third party auditor) - Pay is below market (as assessed by a third party auditor) - Stock options (RSUs) and benefits are well below market - No long-term innovation or competitive strategy - High turnover + hiring freeze = overworked teams - Huge employee retention issues

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Temporary Employee

    Admin

    Oct 26, 2021 - Anonymous Temporary Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very gd learning curve. A lot of space to grow

    Cons

    Being constantly spied on by office manager. Double standard. Always coming to office late and leaving early.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee

    If you are not a Junior Developer or Intern, don't apply here.

    Jun 22, 2017 - Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - 9-5 is pretty consistent, minimal overtime required - Good culture around asking questions; most of the folks are pretty humble - Social atmosphere - You can get your work done during the time you are at work

    Cons

    - Non-existent technical leadership. Software development directors/managers have not written code in years. You will hear many buzzwords and acronyms being thrown around by these people. - Technical managers do not have much/any coding experience; you are dealing mostly with people that have 'soft' skills - i.e. creating jira tickets, scheduling meetings. No actual mentorship of any kind takes place here. Poor developers have been promoted to managers - the louder you work, the higher your probability of landing one of these roles. Technical Managers pride themselves in staying away from the code. You will never see a manager raise a pull request in order to solve an issue. If you are looking for technical leadership, you will not find it here as there are no leaders. - There is an over abundance of 'project/agile' advocates in the company. These people have titles of 'software engineer' and 'development coach' , but they don't actually write code. They excel at scheduling meetings, editing google docs and creating jira tickets. - Poor tech stack. Extremely hard to make simple changes due to the lack of a proper dev environment - you cannot run everything on your own machine (due to the unnecessary adoption of a microservice architecture, they have a dev 'cloud' setup). You are dealing with a PHP monolith that lacks significant test coverage. JVM culture and unnecessary usage of design patterns are a common theme. - Outdated laptops - 2011 MBP - Developers lack fundamental CS skills; the bar is set very low. Take a look at the interview questions that are being asked. - Co-ops and Junior Developers often outperform developers that have been at the company for years. It's common to see co-ops mentoring full-timers. - Configuration over convention. As a developer, a significant portion of your time is spent setting up your machine depending on the project you are working on. There is an abundance of tribal knowledge. Deployments are not trivial due to flaky tests and inconsistent environments. - Technical debt is seldom addressed. There is too much to count. - Very poor code reviews. 'Extremely' large pull requests are a common occurrence. - Security and Ops teams are floating around creating unnecessary procedures to stay relevant in the company. Teams are more than capable of managing their own products, however they are not given the autonomy.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Not Great

    Dec 2, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are quite a few pros to working at Hootsuite: - Good Vacation - People are very talented and always ready to help - Comfortable work environment - Good social activities, great for meeting people - Fitness classes on site - Work/life balance

    Cons

    Unfortunately there are a lot of problems in the organization. I get the sense that 4-5 years ago it was an awesome place to work and really grow your career, which is why I was so excited to work at Hootsuite. I wanted to learn and grow with the company. However, there are major issues: - Low Pay. Everyone says it, but these days for Vancouver, it's really, really low. This demonstrates a lack of recognition of what's happening in the market place. - Lack of career growth. There are many people that have grown up with the company and experienced great opportunities. If you came on board in the last couple of years, it's been non existent. There's no standardization or documentation for career goals, promotions, training, etc. You are left treading water, wondering how you are performing and what you can improve on. - Bro culture. If you had said to me that this was an issue at Hootsuite when I first got hired, I wouldn't have believed it. Until I saw it in action. Working there felt like a popularity contest. I was told by my manager that I needed to become friends with certain individuals if I had any hope of progressing - unfortunately the caliber of my work simply wasn't going to be enough. I have never experienced this attitude in the workplace before. - Volatile environment. Key people would just disappear. People would leave and would not be replaced. There was a common complaint from leadership about how difficult it was to find good talent in Vancouver, yet the company allows very talented people to walk out the door everyday. It's very expensive to keep recruiting and replacing employees.

    Continue reading
    21 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company to start your career at

    May 26, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - You can make some really great friends here. - The people here are all so smart and are open to sharing their knowledge with you. - True tech company culture (the retreats are so much fun!) - The leaders are really smart and have great experience. - Dog friendly office. - Great office space. - Gym classes and gym facilities are unreal. - A great place to learn and start your career at. - Great marketing and brand presence. - Has a strong grasp of its target market and place in the industry.

    Cons

    - HR doesn't do a whole lot when you complain about feeling uncomfortable or disrespected by a colleague. This needs to change. When someone complains to you about feeling disrespected by a colleague, do something about it! Don't be another Uber. - Some senior leadership can be unprofessional during retreats. - They say there's a lot of professional growth opportunities but that only happens if you're lucky to have a manager who allows you to grow. Some managers don't foster growth. - Starting to lose some really awesome OG people. - U/X of the product needs a major update.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Demand/ Lead Generation Rep (EDR)

    Jun 14, 2016 - Edr in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, perks like bringing your dog to work, yoga/fitness offered. Opportunity to move up in the company.

    Cons

    Low pay. Not great benefits (don't cover your MSP). Very tedious job. Unfortunately didn't have a great manager that would help me meet my goals, or cared about my career progression.

    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    if you are not a hipster - you are not a part of this company

    Jan 15, 2015 - Media Buyers in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    there're some good people there - unfortunately I was a bit prideful marc bitanca, craig ryomotot, julia freeman, marc chiax, raquek hirsh - all smart buggers if you get to work with them d it

    Cons

    none - i was a media buyers in this company and when I had to do a media buy on linkedin my boss infact asked to consult the linkedin partnerships manager thinking i was skipping over people's heads when I was actually traffickinng self serve ad's? same thing with facebook and google? they are not smart

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Culture is facade, leadership is weak at best

    Aug 24, 2016 - Enterprise Development Representative in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice people, nice office, lots of sales resources to help you sell, fun parties. Learned nothing about sales, only about how to maneuver in a very political corporate office setting...

    Cons

    Everyone is sucking up to CEO Ryan Holmes for social attention etc - its SO fake and everyone does it non-stop, major popularity contest Hootsuite employees are called Owls, but they are really just Sheeple drinking the kool-aid Leadership is a bunch of social-political freaks obsessed with gossip, love office drama, chat behind peoples backs about rumor etc. I was honest about a situation where leadership went overboard, took it up with HR anonymously, somehow by the NEXT MORNING my manager knew and I was being punished for speaking up. Ever heard the term 'boys club' to describe a work environment, this is like a high school girls club... very caddy, very political. Leadership SUCKED overall

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful