Horizon Services Reviews

Updated Feb 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Horizon Services Founder and CEO David Geiger (no image)
David Geiger
50 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The largest complaint from most employees is the work/life balance(in 4 reviews)

  • "The Schedule was very demanding with long hours, and they had customer service issues(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A Place To Call Home"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Coordinator in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Horizon Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been with Horizon for a couple of months now and I love it here. Everyone is very friendly and the atmosphere is very welcoming. I can see myself here for the long run and having free lunch sometimes are a plus!

    Cons

    No cons. Would recommend as a place of employment.

    Horizon Services Response

    February 6, 2020Marketing Communications Manager

    Thank you for your kind words. We love to hear feedback like this about from our team!

  2. "Ok"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HVAC in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Horizon Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of hours and steady work

    Cons

    Benefits are expensive and don’t cover much

    Continue reading
  3. "Great Co. to grow with!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dispatch Supervisor in Windsor Mill, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Horizon Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Alot of room for grown & training if requested. Wonderful team players/co workers.

    Cons

    Cant think of any !

    Continue reading
  4. "Local company with lots of opportunity to grow and expand your career!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HSS Corporate Office in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Horizon Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    In a day and age where people want instant gratification they get frustrated easily when they don't get huge salary increases in their first year. This is a job that will pay off immensely if you put in the time, work, and dedication needed to prove yourself and your worth. I started working for this company nine years ago. Present day - we are STRONGER and better than we've ever been before. KPI's are in place. Strategy, vision and goals are aligned and communicated to all. Everyone is working toward the common goal. The family feel is still in existence today. Dave Geiger, CEO, reports to the HSS office every day and has an open door policy. He's humble and still committed 110% to his employees and the business. Time and growth have not changed him. He's still the plumber that started this business in his basement in 1987. Horizon is locally based and operated but we own 12 other companies from CT to FL. This is a company that invests in their employees and will open up doors and opportunities at other locations and companies.

    Cons

    If you don't have a sense of urgency or prefer slow paced work environments, this is NOT a fit for you. Must be able to multi-task. Bleed orange for the brand. Be enthusiastic and an overall positive person. If you're money motivated and don't mind putting in the time and work, you will be compensated greatly.

    Continue reading

    Horizon Services Response

    February 6, 2020Marketing Communications Manager

    We are grateful for our loyal team members like yourself. Keep up the good work!

  5. "Good place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Horizon Services full-time

    Pros

    Great place to get recognized for hard work

    Cons

    Dispatch makes you wait for a while between calls

    Horizon Services Response

    December 9, 2019Marketing Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback. We'll continue to work on those procedural concerns to make things run more efficiently.

  6. "No longer consumer based company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Horizon Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Internally it was like family

    Cons

    Corporate never coinsides with what going on with the customers.

    Horizon Services Response

    November 12, 2019Marketing Communications Manager

    We are a bit confused by your review. We can confirm that we do only service residential homeowners to resolve their plumbing, heating and cooling issues.

  7. "Pretty on the outside only"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office in Mount Laurel, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Horizon Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, great experience to learn your potential, nice outings, clean office

    Cons

    Really don't need to get into specifics of things, but essentially there is a serious problem with management in the office. No real opportunity to advance, but you are being asked to do extra work all the time. There are too many hands in the pot at once. Newer employees or "problem employees" are put on the night shift. No one really helps them because no one answers the phone when you need help, and then those alone employees get blamed for everything.

    Continue reading

    Horizon Services Response

    October 24, 2019Marketing Communications Manager

    *Update: Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We encourage you to reach out to H.R. with your concerns. We always strive for improvement and would appreciate the opportunity to correct any concerns you may have.

  8. "Great people. Lots of opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Mount Laurel, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Horizon Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of ways to make extra money. Friendly coworkers. HR dept is excellent. Not overworked and underpaid. Room to advance as they grow.

    Cons

    Can have long days in hot or cold snaps. But you do hvac.

    Horizon Services Response

    October 23, 2019Marketing Communications Manager

    We're glad to have you on the team! Thanks for taking a moment to share your experience.

  9. "Very transparent working environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dispatcher in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Horizon Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Managers/Dept heads are very transparent. The overall work support system is unbelievable. You never feel like you're on your own. There's always someone there to help. Literally a phone call or email away.

    Cons

    The system in which I work on is glitchy, which hinders me at times but there is a new system on its way, so it's really not a big deal.

    Continue reading

    Horizon Services Response

    October 23, 2019Marketing Communications Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! We're pleased to hear of your positive experience thus far, and will take your advice in finding more ways to improve! Best of luck moving forward.

  10. "Best Job Ever"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Second Lead Installer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Horizon Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best reason to work for Horizon is that you get to gain the quality HVAC experience.... meaning on-going honesty,constructive criticism,trainers who train me proper procedures,etc...

    Cons

    I Feel As Though This Job As No Cons So Far

    Continue reading

    Horizon Services Response

    August 16, 2019Marketing Communications Manager

    Thank you for your vote of confidence. We are pleased to learn you take advantage of our 150+ hours of yearly technical training. Keep up the excellent work!

Found 71 reviews