Horizon Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Horizon Services Reviews

Updated April 12, 2018
33 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
David Geiger
20 Ratings

33 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Horizon Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Horizon Services full-time

    Pros

    Positive Environment, Co-Workers, Flexibility, Employee Appreciation Lunches, Fresh Fruit, Benefit Options

    Cons

    Benefits are a little expensive, PTO could be better

    Advice to Management

    My managers are absolutely phenomenal and my only advice to managers would be to always ask questions, keep learning, and continue to grow! There are amazing examples to follow!

    Horizon Services Response

    Jul 3, 2018 – Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for your honest feedback! We're glad to hear that you feel so positively about your management team!


  2. "Hvac Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HVAC Technician in Mount Laurel, NJ
    Current Employee - HVAC Technician in Mount Laurel, NJ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Horizon Services full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Offers high quality products and services to consumers.

    Tool co-op program.

    Potential to earn $100k+

    Fully stocked warehouse.

    Company vehicle with gas card and ez pass.

    Performance is rewarded greatly.

    On site technical and sales training.

    Cons

    Annual raises do not exist.

    Very busy at peak times when it is very hot or cold and the opposite when the temperature is more mild out.

    Backstabbing office politics.

    Not transparent with their vision anymore due to a merge with a financial partner.

    Slowly losing sight of their local company culture in the office as you are looked at as a warm body to produce for the company instead of a valued employee, but that is the trade off working for a bigger (financially) successful business.

    Advice to Management

    Lower/Mid level management is doing a great job and has always been there if we needed help or training and have no negative reviews for the branch managers in the Mount Laurel, NJ location

    Upper management could show more appreciation or at least come in to various branches and keep us updated on changes in the business and stay involved at smaller levels in the company

    Lastly, Dave Geiger has provided many technicians and plumbers with an opportunity for a lifestyle change and financial success through hard work.

    Horizon Services Response

    Jul 3, 2018 – Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are always striving to improve communication on all fronts with upper management. We appreciate your kind advice and will certainly take... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Plumber"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Plumber in Audubon, PA
    Current Employee - Plumber in Audubon, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Horizon Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Great manager
    - Manager sees my potential
    - Have earned more for my family here than anywhere else
    - Good Benefits

    Cons

    During peak times, hours can be demanding which takes away from family time.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to communicate changes in the company.

    Horizon Services Response

    Jul 3, 2018 – Marketing Coordinator

    We are so grateful to know that you have been with us for over 3 years. It's our technicians that allow us to be who we are in this industry. Thank you for being a part of Horizon Services.


  4. "Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office in Newark, DE
    Current Employee - Office in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Horizon Services full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fantastic company to work for. They take care of their employees.

    Cons

    No Cons that come to mind.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to push for employees and assist them always.

    Horizon Services Response

    Jul 3, 2018 – Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for being a part of the Horizon Services family. We are ecstatic to know that you recommend us.


  5. "HVAC Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - HVAC Technician
    Current Employee - HVAC Technician

    I have been working at Horizon Services full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I've been with the company for just over 4 years and have grown personally, financially and professionally. I had an HVAC background but have been able to continue to learn the trade while working at Horizon. The Technical Trainer on staff is extremely knowledgeable, always willing to help and helped me grow to the technician I am today. The pay is great and I'm able to provide for my wife and kids! This is great company to work!

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Advice to Management

    The Management is the Delaware Office is Excellent. Everybody Cares!

    Horizon Services Response

    Jul 5, 2018 – Marketing Coordinator

    We are so grateful to know that you're part of our team. It's awesome and rewarding to know that you have not only grown financially and professionally but also personally.


  6. "If you're up for a challenge, this is the place."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Horizon Services full-time

    Pros

    In my experience, my peers and supervisors were all encouraging and appreciative of the work I produced. Questions were always welcomed and someone was always able to provide information or point me in the right direction of whom to ask.
    The company asks a lot of its employees, especially the technicians, but it is to be expected when the organization is very driven to be the best. It is certainly not a place to just "coast". And again, the hard work does not go unrecognized, the company finds ways to express its thanks that goes further than a pat on the back. Certainly there's good reason some of the techs have been there for decades AND continue to be top producers!

    Cons

    The demanding nature of some positions may not be to some people's liking.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to provide the level of service advertised and even go beyond. Continue to hire excellent people and motivate them to give you their best.

    Horizon Services Response

    Jul 5, 2018 – Marketing Coordinator

    We strongly believe in recognizing excellent work. Thank you for sharing your kind feedback and concerns and for being a part of our team.


  7. "Hope this place has changed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Horizon Services full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They know how to hire nice people that accidently creates a community amongst the employees.

    Cons

    They didn’t offer the same treatment and pay range and benefits for all employees. This company treated the Call Center employees unethically. Making you fear losing your job if personal issues occur. No real sense of work/home balance. Renting out a floor for a Casino night once a year can’t possibly makeup for everything you have to put up with. The job itself isn’t pleasant with many dissatisfied customers, yelling and screaming at you, owners who would rather spend money on new trucks for the entire tech management team but very low pay for the CSR’s. Top management can afford insurance and low level needed Obama Care. High incentives for installers and techs.. but they made CSRs skip lunch in lieu of them buying you lunch.

    Advice to Management

    Get another job. Hoping the merge has improved these issues.

    Horizon Services Response

    Jul 5, 2018 – Marketing Coordinator

    We're sorry to hear the negative comments made about our organization. We take your concerns and comments seriously and we have shared your feedback with our leadership team, however we do want to... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Rethink your choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Horizon Services full-time

    Pros

    Not many with the company in the last year. Face of company has drastically changed.

    Cons

    Revenue and profit reign supreme. If your role doesn’t impact either of these things you don’t matter. The morale is low and the company was purchased by an equity firm meaning it is no longer the private company written about previously. Major cuts have been made which has led to a profit only approach.

    Advice to Management

    Bring back charitable endeavors, stop ignoring the glaring issues within the company and stop refusing to improve. Quality, Morale, and employee safety have all suffered.

    Horizon Services Response

    Jul 5, 2018 – Marketing Coordinator

    It's troubling to hear how you feel. We uphold our culture and we deeply care about our team. Regarding the comments you have made we will make sure that our leadership team is made well aware.


  9. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Horizon Services full-time

    Pros

    Large well funded company with good compensation

    Cons

    High expectations, perhaps too high

    Advice to Management

    Keep expectations in check to retain good employees. Don't dispense of people always hoping to get someone 2% better while kicking good people to the curb

    Horizon Services Response

    Jul 5, 2018 – Marketing Coordinator

    We're sorry to hear that you wouldn't recommend us. We do take our employees into consideration when it comes to expectations. However, we do want to thank you for taking the time to provide us with... More


  10. "Team Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Mount Laurel, NJ
    Current Employee - Team Member in Mount Laurel, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Horizon Services full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great staff!! Management team cares. Great training.

    Cons

    plenty of hours. Great money. The week flies. You don't see your family as much as you want. Who wants to sit home broke though. Put your big boy pants on and get to it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do. It is appreciated.

    Horizon Services Response

    Jul 5, 2018 – Marketing Coordinator

    Hard work does not go unnoticed, here at Horizon . Thank you for being a part of our team and for sharing your 5-star review on Glassdoor!


Showing 33 of 33 reviews
Reset Filters