Hormel Reviews | Glassdoor

Hormel Reviews

Updated Jan 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Hormel President & CEO James P. Snee
James P. Snee
83 Ratings
  1. "Best in the food industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Systems Analyst in Austin, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hormel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Job security and longevity. Most employees retire after 35 plus years

    Cons

    Midwest weather sometimes can be very challening

    Advice to Management

    The best company to work for in the midwest

    Hormel2019-12-17
  2. "Great upper managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undisclosed 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hormel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The upper management really cares about the company and the people who work for it.

    Cons

    You will most likely be married to your job.

    Hormel2020-01-03
  3. "Good pay and Decent Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Dubuque, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hormel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Education Reimbursement is nice although it doesn't cover many classes. 2 weeks PTO to start isn't bad.

    Cons

    PTO only goes up to 3 weeks after 4 years, not another jump until year 14. Struggling to find Maintenance so some departments are over worked

    Hormel2019-12-24
  4. "long term commit was not returned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Purchasing Manager 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hormel full-time

    Pros

    salary and benefits were on high end

    Cons

    became too much of who you know promotion based system

    Hormel2019-12-10
  5. "Loved it there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Machine Operator 

    I worked at Hormel full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work and environment

    Cons

    None that i can think of

    Hormel2019-11-16
  6. "Great Corporation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - National Sales Director in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hormel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As far as corporations go, Hormel was a great place to work. Fair benefits, promotion availability, pay and work-life balance.

    Cons

    None that are worth mentioning.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Hormel2019-11-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hormel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, Large Brand, Multiple Divisions, Fortune 300

    Cons

    Meat Industry is not environmentally friendly, forced relocation, and ultimately a conservative company

    Advice to Management

    Become more progressive and actually walk-the-walk, I don't see any real innovation occurring at this company.

    Hormel2019-11-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Work Work Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Supervisor in Rochelle, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hormel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pays good and the benefits are decent

    Cons

    All you do is work there is NO work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Good place to get your experience however you will work 6 days a week for most of the year. Dont let them lie to you about only working 15 weekends a year or that you will get to first in 6 months

    Hormel2019-11-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Quality Control"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tucker, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hormel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    competitive salary and benefits are encouraging to be part of Hormel Food

    Cons

    Someone may be forced to work on weekends, even if he/she doesn't want to work

    Hormel2019-10-26
  10. "FS Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Foodservice Sales Representative in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hormel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, innovate company with top products. Good sales training.

    Cons

    Company wants to move in order to be promoted. It can take longer and be more difficult to advance in your career if you are not open to different locations.

    Hormel2019-09-05
Found 286 reviews